We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #57 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We've just spent two nights at Ardmor House, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful and tastefully decorated and spotless. The breakfast room is oh-so-chic and the breakfast options offered the best we've had. Robin was a fantastic host. We had a great time in Ediburgh. Ardmor House also has the added bonus of ample free parking right outside, and is just a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielct156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
120
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Ardmore House for my wife's 30th birthday. We were due to stay in a b&b across the road from Ardmore (I won't mention the name) but were contacted the night before we were due to arrive to say there was a problem with our room and they had prebooked us in at the Armore. When we arrived at Ardmore we were greeted and given a drink along with a nice chat about the area etc.

I must say this is the best b&b we have ever stayed in and much better than the one we were due to stay in before we were transferred!

The facilities are spotless and the breakfast was immense.

Needless to say we will return to Edinburgh one day and we will stay no where else other than the Ardmore.

Thanks for your kind hospitality guys and hope to see you again soon!

Matt and Kerry

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have just spent a glorious three nights at Ardmore House and cannot speak highly enough about our stay. The B&B is well situated with a bus almost at the door to most places and the hosts are an absolute delight. The room was spotless and the breakfast and hospitality first class. If I ever return to this location then I will definitely be staying at this B&B. Many thanks to the hosts for a fantastic stay. David & Ray

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ardmor House is a wonderful b&b just outside Edinburgh. Robin, the host, is charming and everything is first class. Even Vera the dog is friendly to all. Ardmor House is close to good places to eat and the bus is right outside the door, 10 minutes into the centre of the city. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend Ardmor House.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Never been a big fan of B&Bs but Ardmor House is about as far removed from the old fashioned version as you can get. Smart and stylish with an exceptional level of care and attention to detail. Warmly welcomed and made to feel at home without feeling like we were staying in someone's home (which puts me off most B&Bs). Rooms were smart, spacious and really comfortable; had one of my best night's sleep for a long time. Breakfast was really well done; proper fresh coffee, a selection of breads, muffins and croissants, and a choice of cooked dishes including a top quality Scottish breakfast. Located about 15 minutes walk from city centre, and just opposite a bus stop with frequent buses to the quayside and centre. Parking seemed unrestricted and free on the street.

I've stayed in the Balmoral; one of Edinburgh's supposedly best hotels. It was nearly twice the price and not a patch on this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night here, over a weekend and it was fantastic. The hospitality was amazing - very helpful and friendly without being over the top. The info in the room was extensive and very helpful if you do not know the city. Our room was at the back (room 3), very quiet and spacious and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.
The breakfast was the icing on the cake however - freshly prepared and served with class. Coffee is freshly ground, the selection of breads homemade, likewise the oatcakes and muffins and the cooked breakfast locally sourced and cooked to order.
Nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail fantastic, the welcome warm and the decor really smart.
It is only 10mins walk from Princess Street, slightly less to the Playhouse Theater, there are many great restaurants very near by and a bus stop within a few hundred yards if you want to go further afield without a car.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have 1 room downstairs for folk with difficulty doing stairs and the rooms at the back are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Lovely room, made us feel at home and the best B&B cooked breakfast I've had in a long time.

Stayed here about 3 years ago and had a great stay then, just as good this time as a birthday treat and as a staging post for the Edinburgh 10K run. Rooms are really comfy, clean and with nice touches like ground coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Staff really friendly and the scottish breakfast with free range eggs, bacon and top notch suasages to die for. Only possible down side would be a 15 min walk to the main city centre..but a bus goes from outside and we liked the walk (+ far cheaper places to eat nearby...food better, cheaper as was wine list compared to the royal mile).

Really good place..can unreservedly recommend.

Room Tip: all good..preference would be back rooms as quieter..but not on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#123 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#83 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#54 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#99 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Property: Ardmor House
Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing