We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish hospitalisty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joppa Turrets Guest House
Ranked #214 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Illinois Quad Cities
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scottish hospitalisty”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Anne and Phillip were wonderal hosts, made us feel at home, introduced me to Haggis, made my two sisters, wife and me very comfortable and were most helpful in giving us directions and bus information.

Three of us are over 70 and we were very comfortable.

Bill McCabe

  • Liked — Unexpected view of the sea-side.
  • Disliked — No problems at all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMedical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
30
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Though the place is a distance from the centre of Edinburgh it's worth it for the sea views. The rooms are very good and comfertable. The breakfast are nice and freshly cooked to order.
The owners are very welcoming and friendly. If you want somewhere to stay away from the busyness of the city stay here.

  • Liked — The sea view.
  • Disliked — The distance from the centre of Edinburgh.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2007

This was a wonderful find. I never thought I was a B&B person. I still don't think I am but we loved this place. My husband, sister and daughter stayed her great breakfast and loved the beach!!! very comfy beds and very good price.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adryan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Our 5 person party stayed here in April for 3 nights. The site is just out of the town center. It is a quick bus ride into town. The neighborhood the B&B is in is peaceful and quiet. There are several good resturants in the area as well. The view from the B and B into the firth is breathtaking and it was a shear joy to walk back from dinner at night along the beach front. We also enjoyed sitting in the
sea side garden reading and chatting. The weather was very lovely during our time there. Felicity and her husband were personable and wonderful. The made a lovely breakfast each morning and were kind and
friendly and free with local advice. This place is truly wonderful. Do yourself a favor and stay there. You will enjoy the relaxing time at Joppa. The price is resonable too. It really felt like we were staying at a friends home rather than a B and B.

  • Liked — The view of the firth from the bedrooms, and the garden
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

I cannot recommend Joppa Turrets enough. I had the best stay of my entire 1 month trip here! We stayed 5 nights, and my boyfriend told me we had to go because Felicity isn't in fact my aunt and we were paying her! The owner, Felicity is one of the things that makes this B&B so special, she is absolutely wonderful, not to mention the delicous breakfast she made for us each morning.

There is a frequent bus service from city center, about 10 minutes or so. It is a lovely alternative to city center, you leave the bustle behind for the evening, and instead of drunks and honking horns, you have the tide washing up on the shore... the sound of the waves at night was so relaxing. The views from all rooms are of the beach.

The rooms are clean, with new sparkly washrooms.

I will definitely stay here again when I return to Edinburgh, it will be my oasis for all future stays. Thank you Felicity for making our stay so incredibly special.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaminoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 28, 2004

We stayed here during the Winter, which was colder and darker than we expected. The heat was turned off at night in this place and it was cold. I am a pretty hearty person, too, yet I was uncomfortable. The rooms were old and had few amentities, though were clean. The bus ride into Edinburgh was not too long. However this place felt remote. We enjoyed meeting people in the neighborhood though and one pub down the street was a blast, and very friendly.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joppa Turrets Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joppa Turrets Guest House

Property: Joppa Turrets Guest House
Address: 1 Lower Joppa, Edinburgh EH15 2ER, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Joppa Turrets Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Joppa Turrets Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing