We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hostel, dont worry about location because there is a shuttle bus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #132 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
victoria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great hostel, dont worry about location because there is a shuttle bus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stayed in a 4 person room with private bathroom which was very clean, spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hostel as it is great value for money. Although it's not in a central location it doesn't matter much because the shuttle bus runs constantly throughout the day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great hostel, pretty cheap per night, good beds that each have their own little space with a curtain etc in the dorms so can be quite private even in a shared dorm and you have your own lock-up in the room.

Down to the location, well the surroundings are great! Right by the sea, a lot of grass and trees around etc, things to walk to (near by Cramond and along the water front) however when you try to find the city, its no where to be seen! About 15-20 shuttle bus ride away from the city or longer on the public buses, suddenly becomes the massive downfall to this place. They cater for this distance by having their own pub, mini shop and movie room but the can get away with charging ridiculous prices for internet and I would have thought they would offer free shuttle rides into town!

Anyways, if you want a nice clean, peaceful, cheap place to stay its great, their dorms are cozy and even their double rooms are quite nice for a hostel the only thing is its ages away from town :)

We stayed here as a couple in the double rooms and in the dorms over the period of about 2 weeks.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metallicite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

This hostel is huge. I don't know how many people were staying there, but it felt like hundreds. It was very loud - someone walking quietly down the corridor sounded like a herd of elephants. Bathrooms were fine, breakfast was fine, service was good. The biggest problem for me was the location - miles out of town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Globetrotter Inn for three nights in early September. Our flight from Cork was quite early so we arrived before check in time. The staff were very helpful and helped us stow our luggage in a locked room and told us how to get to town to have a look around while we waited for check in time.

Our room was great - we had a private double - it was huge for a hostel room, with a bathroom with a bath, a kettle with tea, coffee, milk etc. and we were given fresh towels each day - much more than what we expected from a hostel! Other facilities were great - large kitchen with everything you need, huge dining room, pretty cheap internet and the staff were all very friendly. Breakfast basic (cereal, white bread, tea and coffee) but fine - you can't complain when its free!

There's a minibus that takes you into town and back - have to book ahead for the busier times (morning) but its very convenient and cheap. Makes getting round very easy.

Nice location on seafront, not right in town, but I liked that about it!

Would definitely stay there next time I'm in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very entertaining hostel. The bar staff were particularly accomodating. I left feeling incredibly satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Minibus is £1.50 and runs to and from central Edinburgh. A taxi costs between £12-£16. A cooked breakfast costs £5. Credit was put on your room fob to buy food at the shop & drinks at the bar. Room was clean, showers were good but toilets had a small supply of loo roll. Great location in the countryside with now coastal walks. Staying on the ground floor meant it was quite loud as the bar opened till 5am.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tao_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We staid only for one night. Hostel is quite big, in old Scottish building situated on the shore. If you are travelling there by public transport from city centre, you have to walk about 800 m. Surrounding is very nice. From the hostel you can walk to nearby Cramond Island which is accessible by footpath during a low tide. The hostel have own parking, bar, TV room, shop, big kitchen and so on. You do not have to clean dishes, staff will make it for you. Each bed in room has own locker. I recommend this hostel for short or longer stay, if you want to spent some time in calm and beautiful countryside just few minutes from city. If you are travelling by car and Edinburgh is one of your stops, this hostel is for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh

Property: Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh
Address: 46 Marine Drive, Edinburgh EH4 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing