We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hostel!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #130 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous hostel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Globetrotter Inn for three nights in early September. Our flight from Cork was quite early so we arrived before check in time. The staff were very helpful and helped us stow our luggage in a locked room and told us how to get to town to have a look around while we waited for check in time.

Our room was great - we had a private double - it was huge for a hostel room, with a bathroom with a bath, a kettle with tea, coffee, milk etc. and we were given fresh towels each day - much more than what we expected from a hostel! Other facilities were great - large kitchen with everything you need, huge dining room, pretty cheap internet and the staff were all very friendly. Breakfast basic (cereal, white bread, tea and coffee) but fine - you can't complain when its free!

There's a minibus that takes you into town and back - have to book ahead for the busier times (morning) but its very convenient and cheap. Makes getting round very easy.

Nice location on seafront, not right in town, but I liked that about it!

Would definitely stay there next time I'm in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very entertaining hostel. The bar staff were particularly accomodating. I left feeling incredibly satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Minibus is £1.50 and runs to and from central Edinburgh. A taxi costs between £12-£16. A cooked breakfast costs £5. Credit was put on your room fob to buy food at the shop & drinks at the bar. Room was clean, showers were good but toilets had a small supply of loo roll. Great location in the countryside with now coastal walks. Staying on the ground floor meant it was quite loud as the bar opened till 5am.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tao_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We staid only for one night. Hostel is quite big, in old Scottish building situated on the shore. If you are travelling there by public transport from city centre, you have to walk about 800 m. Surrounding is very nice. From the hostel you can walk to nearby Cramond Island which is accessible by footpath during a low tide. The hostel have own parking, bar, TV room, shop, big kitchen and so on. You do not have to clean dishes, staff will make it for you. Each bed in room has own locker. I recommend this hostel for short or longer stay, if you want to spent some time in calm and beautiful countryside just few minutes from city. If you are travelling by car and Edinburgh is one of your stops, this hostel is for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Comapred to other hostels I have stayed in, the Globetrotter is a nice place. We stayed in a 6 bed room that had a view of the ocean. The bathrooms were clean and everything worked (hot water and good water pressure). There are lockers in the room and are included in the cost. Many extras are included in the cost including a continental breakfast and parking. The hostel is a little far from town but the friends and family I was traveling with actually preferred this as it allowed us to go to sleep at a decent time without being awaken in the early morning hours to street noise or other loud/drunk guests. Based on the cost (about $14 USD/person) we had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirllinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I booked this hotel for myself and 12 other girls for my friend's hen do. Having never stayed in a hostel before I was a bit dubious, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

We all stayed in 4 bed en-suite rooms, the bunk-beds are comfy, shower is hot and powerful and there was enough mirror space for all. It's definitely no hotel stay...no towels included and you need to make up your own bed within linen provided but considering the price you pay no big issue whatsoever.

The hostel itself is out of town but has fabulous views; shuttle bus is cheap and convenient.

Breakfast was well organised with free tea, toast and cereal. Although it does finish at 9.30 which is a bit early for those out on the town the night before.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, very friendly...definitely top quality service.

It’s definitely a good place to go in a large group as there were a lot of young people there and the bar will be left open as long as you need it to be on a night.

All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights during a trip across Europe. We had a double ensuite, which was absolutely worth the extra money in my opinion. It was a decent size room with a view of the ocean and a television. The shower had minimal pressure, but there was hot water which is enough for me.
The shuttle into town was convenient, although a little pricey as we spent 5 pounds a day on it between the two of us. Unfortunately, the nearest bus stops aren't that close, especially when you're carrying your luggage/huge backpack.
The breakfast was well organized with orange juice, toast and jam. There are also fridges you can use in the main area if you want to buy some food in town. For the budget traveller, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#94 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh

Property: Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh
Address: 46 Marine Drive, Edinburgh EH4 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Globetrotter Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing