We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Family friendly lovely hotel in a location handy for the Castle. Had a lovely pool and games console for the kids yet still had a business hotel feel. The food in the restaurant was oustanding. Friendly staff. Extremely comfy beds and certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    1,126
    425
    118
    44
See reviews for
765
945
118
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rostrevor, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay !! The one thing was the air con wasnt that cool... Bed was comfy .. Very central location.. Didn't stay for breakfast ..... We asked to put our luggage in storage because we arrived before check in time.. When we arrived , the woman saw us without saying a word and got our cases . Would stay here again !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieroo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Edinburgh Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Got a good deal booking in advance (£240 for 4 nights). As it was our honeymoon the receptionist kindly upgraded us which very nice of her. Room had a nice view of the Castle.
We didn't book breakfast in advance £13.95. On arrival there was an offer on for around £8 which is much more reasonable. Breakfast was good and had a good selection. However there are many good cafés around that do all sorts of breakfast so I wouldn't pay full price.

Pool was small but nice and a nice warm jacuzzi was just what was required after a day walking round a hilly city.

A small commet on the room. The room doesn't have enough rails to hang 4 towels on. Also despite hanging towels up as requested if we didn't want them washing they still got changed daily. What a waste of energy.

Overall enjoyed our stay. All the staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of
your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you
back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Here on business and expected the bland corporate robotic service but was pleasantly surprised at the room - nice touches and all the things you look for are there - iron tea coffee nice toiletries and comfy bed with lights that work ! Welcoming reception staff and, big surprise, delicious food in the bistro served by a professional waitperson who genuinely cared about customer service ! Well done ! Add to that a nice pool/ spa area, great location, and a weary businessman could do a lot worse than to rest their head here !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Situated at a great location. Could be quite tricky and far to walk to princes street but there is a bus stop near by the hotel which is great. The staff is really friendly. Room are clean but i found that the chair we got was a bit dusty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Luisa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having Stayed in other Novotels I don't think this one is as good as the rest. The hotel was clean and the bedrooms were good too.,the breakfast and restaurant service was where it went wrong. We got seated after waiting 10 mins when there were plenty of tables. After eating our cereal I had to ask for tea and coffee when it finally arrived the teapot didn't have a lid on, instead they used a saucer. I am yet to find a side plate or teaspoon. My daughter waited 15 mins for the fried eggs to come out and the Danish pastry basket was empty and did not get replenished. I have stayed in other Novotels and have not had any negative comments to feedback but I feel that this needed be said as it is letting the rest of the hotel down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank olly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I used to go to IBIS hotels but wanted a more upmarket hotel this time; but to be honest I was a bit disappointed. I have no issues with the staff as they were very professional, helpful and available.
However, the standard of the room was really not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. It was far too hot in the bedroom, therefore we could not sleep very well, there was no brochure with useful numbers (reception...etc) or how to use the TV. For the price, I would have expected a wider range of channels available.
The room itself needed some refurbishment (some skirtboards were falling off the wall). We did not use the pool or the gym therefore we cannot comment on them but we went to the restaurant for breakfast twice and once for dinner and we can say that the food served was very good. This is the second time I have been disappointed with hotels from this group and I am now considering not staying in their hotels anymore for future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed
your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address
them.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#81 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,160 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing