We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
devon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, ideal location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely time in Edinburgh. The hotel was ideal base for the castle, centre and grass market.

Hotel was clean, staff friendly & helpful. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

The only thing which we didn't like was the heat. The rooms were so hot, we had the heating turned of and windows open and it was for some reason still too hot for us. We were woken on and off every night by the students coming home from nights out which after 4am seemed to go quite. But this was only because the rooms being so warm we had to sleep with window open. Maintenance did look a the but said it was fine!! We would stay here again but ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Away from the road if you like to sleep with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    1,136
    426
    119
    46
See reviews for
781
950
118
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can't fault the Novotel Edinburgh. They couldn't have done more for myself or my family. It was excellent vaue for money, especially for a city centre hotel with leisure facilities. Our room was great, larger than I expected, even when one of the sofa beds was converted into a bed for my daughter. Lovely to have the pool to relax in after a day of being tourists. The reception staff were very helpful with advice on places to visit and discount vouchers. My daughter was even given a cuddly toy on our arrival, which she was delighted with!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalooBear492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went to Novotel for a Half term get away. We have been to many novotels and this was probably be one of the best. The room was spacious. The pool and jacuzzi was good and was perfect for when you had come back from a long day walking.

The breakfast was great as kids go free plus it is eat as much as you want. The hotel is in a really central location and is a 5 minute walk from the castle and a ten minute walk from the city centre.

So to sum it up, the hotel is in a great location with great facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to Novotel to anyone in the city for long weekend! Great location, walking distance to both new and old parts and just round the corner from the castle. Staff were brilliant and our issue with a faulty shower and was seen to within minutes! Pool/jacuzzi was perfect after a long day walking. Very cost effective stay in the city, the hotel provided us with all we wanted! Would recommend to friends and would happily return :)

Helpful?
Thank holidayh93
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
redcar
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just had 2 nights room only here whilst in the city for the 6 nations. Cost roughly £75.00 per night for a double room. Very clean and pleasant, small pool and sauna, underground car park at £15.00 per exit which is fine because once you are in the hotel you wouldn't need to drive anywhere until you leave. Very handy for The Grassmarket and Royal Mile. Didn't bother with the breakfast because there are lots of small cafes nearby which do good breakfasts at reasonable rates. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre again very soon. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,193 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing