We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to Novotel to anyone in the city for long weekend! Great location, walking distance to both new and old parts and just round the corner from the castle. Staff were brilliant and our issue with a faulty shower and was seen to within minutes! Pool/jacuzzi was perfect after a long day walking. Very cost effective stay in the city, the hotel provided us with all we wanted! Would recommend to friends and would happily return :)

Thank holidayh93
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just had 2 nights room only here whilst in the city for the 6 nations. Cost roughly £75.00 per night for a double room. Very clean and pleasant, small pool and sauna, underground car park at £15.00 per exit which is fine because once you are in the hotel you wouldn't need to drive anywhere until you leave. Very handy for The Grassmarket and Royal Mile. Didn't bother with the breakfast because there are lots of small cafes nearby which do good breakfasts at reasonable rates. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre again very soon. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is really well located for the centre of Edinburgh - theatre, cinema , restaurants and shops.
Room basic but very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Parking difficult but it is a city centre hotel.
Will use a agin for our next weekend in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Many great restaurants near this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Came here mid jan for one night. Got the room at a very reasonable rate and was happy with my stay. Did ask for an early check in as my train got in early in the am, which I emailed and phoned about. Was consistently not guaranteed anything and when I got off the train I phoned again, only to be told no. I then walked up to the hotel, about a fifteen min walk, and was given a room right away. Was staying alone so room was ideal, the only odd thing was that the toilet was in an entirely separate room to the bathroom and had no sink - one had to walk from the toilet to the bathroom to wash hands! Overall very good sleep, however only gripes were that the wifi was free and the tv was quite old. Other than that, perfect city centre stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotal - well located for restaurants, theatres, shops and museums.
The hotel is just a short 5 minute walk to the Grassmarket area, and easy for taxis. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Good range of programs were easy to find on the TV. The special deal for 3 nights for the room was excellent. Breakfast is a little expensive. Good swimming pool.

Room Tip: Our room 123 was very quiet with no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iantravelswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very soon. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is clean and well situated for travelling around the city. Wether its business or pleasure you will not be disappointed staying here. Rooms comfortable and clean. I was road side but did not hear any traffic. The view is pleasant. Breakfast was extensive, from full english to cheese and ham, all very good. Restaurant and bar food is very good as well. will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,294 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,684 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $90 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing