We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not live up to expectations, a Novotel (modern hotel) with no wi-fi in rooms!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Does not live up to expectations, a Novotel (modern hotel) with no wi-fi in rooms!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an okay hotel, but not exactly what you would expect a Novotel to be like. The room had a tired look, carpets need to be replaced (at least in the room I stayed in), and the breakfast spread could be better. But then, it is possible that I found it wanting after flying in from London, where I stayed at the far better DoubleTree Hilton.

This is a modern hotel, and the lobby area reflects that, with its layout & design etc, and yet surprisingly does not offer free wi-fi to guests in the room. (Wi fi access was available only in the lobby area.)

One positive was the location. Not too far from the city centre, although not exactly "in" the centre (as the name suggests).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhi0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at Novotel Edinburgh Centre appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue. Please feel free to email me on h3271@accor.com if you wish to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    1,068
    412
    111
    40
See reviews for
724
890
116
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a night while in Edinburgh on a 'girlie' break. I chose the hotel a) for the location b) for the good deal I got on hotels.com

Check in was quick and efficient with a very pleasant member of staff. Our room was clean and comfortable - ideal for a quick one night stay when all we needed was a place to sleep.

We can't comment on the food or drink as we didn't partake - but...I would like to complement the hotel on its' customer service - in my stupidity I left my phone charger in the room.
I emailed to let them know, and to ask them to keep it til next time I was in Edinburgh - however, the housekeeping team had already posted it back to me. I was very impressed with this and possibly this alone would make me go back!

So 10 out of 10 for taking the initiative and keeping customers happy :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for New Year 2012-13. It was me & my partner with my parents, my sister and her friend for 4 nights.

We booked 2 rooms (one of which was supposed to be an executive but was the same as a standard double room only it had a bigger hallway) The price for both rooms giving that one was a normal double room and the other an executive family room (a double bed with a sofa bed next to it) was a little pricey. I just put this down to us staying around new year time.

We had a few hiccups as our room was not ready by 4pm as the previous guests had not checked out until 3:30pm so we had to wait 45 minutes or so. In my parents room that is supposed to accommodate 4 people the staff had only supplied enough condiments for 2 people and upon asking the cleaner if we could have the proper condiments was unpleasant as he did not want to co-operate and couldn't be bothered to help us out.

Reception & Bar staff were great after they heard us talking about the trouble with the room they gave us all a free round of drinks and the receptionist also gave us a free drinks card each.

The breakfast was good, although being in scotland I would have liked to see more of a scottish element to the breakfast (ie - tattie scones, haggis, square sausage ect...)

The pool facilities were a little off putting as the changing rooms were very little and cramped with no were to get undressed or dressed you were left just a room with lockers - no privacy but apart from that the gym look clean, the pool was clean - although a little cold and the sauna and steam room were as you would expect.

The room itself was very clean, fresh towels were left daily, the bed was big and comfortable and for me and my partner it was just the right size for us. Although I do not recommend 4 people sharing one executive room, its just too cramped!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the Novotel and it was a good experience until we were checking out. Upon arrival we were told we would nee to pay £50 this was just to be held not taken and would be back on my card when checked out. This was not on my card and didn't go back on my card for over a week. I was reassured by 3 members of staff it would be back on my card on different dates! None clearly communicated with each other and over formal complaint nothing was done. Absolute joke !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleyhkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to email me on h3271@accor.com.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'm definitely not a fan of chains and prefer to keep little independent places in business, but the Novotel in Edinburgh Centre has really changed my mind - it is a great hotel and I now can't see myself staying anywhere else when I'm in Edinburgh.
Located about a mile from the train and coach stations, it's not really in the best place if you're struggling with luggage, but once you've dumped all that stuff the location is a perfect base for exploring - I've been to Edinburgh a million times, but I seen so many new places on this trip, and it was actually one of my favorite trips - simply because I was in a great location.
The hotel itself is lovely and modern - staff are helpful and friendly, yet unimposing and professional - it was lovely to feel anonymous and not be bothered by anyone during our stay.
The rooms are lovely - very clean, minimal and super comfortable - the beds are great, and the bathroom is really lovely and modern - although I thought the shower could do with a bit of a deeper clean - there were a few mouldy tiles, and the shower base looked a bit yellow. I've stayed at the Novotel on two occassions in the past month - the above comments are applicable to both rooms - one was a double and one a twin. Not much of a view from the rooms - but can't really complain about that as I wasn't there to peer out the window!
The bar was really nice - nice setting, very relaxing and the staff were lovely - drinks were a bit overpriced but there was a good selection of wines and whiskeys.
My only complaint about the Novotel was the wet leisure facilities - this was really the reason we booked the Novotel, so that we could chill in the pool in the evenings. There is a really prominent smell of chlorine that hits you as soon as you walk through the door of the hotel - didn't think much about it until about half an hour after being in the pool when my skin started to turn red, burn and itch and my partners back started to do the same - we had to spend the evening in our room with cool towels on our skin to calm the burning! The pool was again the reason I booked my second stay in January at the Novotel, but I steered well clear of it - which was a pity, but I didn't want to have the same burnt skin experience again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very soon.
Kind regards
Marc Pichot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with our two children. They slept on the sofa bed which was barely sleepable. They are less than 30kgs and felt all the springs through the mattress.
General cleanliness in the bathroom was poor and the room was very small for 2 adults 2 children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aplaceinumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Pichot, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issue. Please feel free to email me at h3271@accor.com if you wish to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing