We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #38 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Secure and comfortable”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights after flying in for a rugby international. The room was clean and had plenty of storage space, which I really appreciate. I do not enjoy tripping over my cases! The bathroom was spotless, the one minor snag being that the toilet was squeezed into an alcove, but with a quirky shaped room, it's always going to be a bit of a jigsaw puzzle fitting everything in. We were impressed with the level of security on match day... it was comforting to know that only residents were allowed into the hotel, and you wouldn't be fighting your way through large crowds to get to your room, which could be intimidating. We found the staff to be friendly, and welcoming... Even though one of our party was unwisely wearing an England rugby cap! The only concern was that we might experience noise after the game... This was not the case,as we were pleasantly surprised to find out. It was easy to locate, and the bus to, and from, the airport stop very near outside the hotel, so not inconvenient for a non-driver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Good evening Caroline L

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We put a lot of time and effort into planning our big event days and its great to hear that people appreciate it.

Part of our unique building is, as you described, fitting in facitilies wherever we can and this at times allows us to get creative.

I hope to see you again soon.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    569
    195
    82
    41
See reviews for
282
1,012
65
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here overnight end of October for a family celebration in Edinburgh - never again! Firstly couldn't find way in to place, then disinterest of staff. Reception booked us a taxi & we were charged £5 more than the 2am taxi back to the hotel! Doors locked & we had to knock on the bar door for someone to open up & let us in! Total disinterest from staff the following morning on check out! Had reason to try the bar again yesterday on a rugby trip to Murrayfield - absolutely disgusted at attitude of hotel - bar supposedly full & doormen wouldn't allow us in despite obvious room at the bar- sent to marquee for poor selection of overpriced drinks & not allowed to use toilets - sent to portaloos around the back!!! Needless to say we will never be back despite having used this hotel ovr many years on rugby match days! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AT THIS HOTEL - CHOOSE SOMEWHERE MORE CUSTOMER FRIENDLY INSTEAD!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAZZB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Good mornig CAZZB2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, firstly may I apologise for the inconvinience caused during our refurbishment works.

May I also add that all taxis booked via the hotel are done so with reputable companies and in o way do we add any surchage for this.

As for your rugby day experience, we have recently refurbished our bothy and as such have different capacities and unfortuately once we are full we can bot allow anyone else in to the premises due to fire regualtions which I am sure you can appreciate.

I do hope you come back as we put a lot of time and effort into putting on a variety of offers to look after as many of our guests as we can.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

this hotel is not what is on the tin! if you know what I mean. arrived from Edinburgh airport 15 min drive ? not just up the road. 2weeks ago. Oct 13, being refurbished, room terrible , plaster over tv switch, window falling out of frame. wardrobe door knob missing, bathroom meldew around bath,toilet stained, curtains falling of hooks, it was so annoying, we were tired, and had no choice but to take rooms, immediately complained. ,offered 15% discount + free breakfast. no explanation , just we are refurbishing!! all rooms filled. it was different story downstairs in dining room , was very nice, should of warned customers!! never again.

Room Tip: on arrival ask to see your room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancake_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Good morning pancake_13

thank you for your feedback, as you mentioned we did offer to discount your room and offer breakfast with our compliments.

Also we are going through phased refurbishment.

I am sorry we did not meet your, or our own, standards and do hope you give us another try soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! The decor was so beautiful, you can see the effort they put into it. The people who worked there were very welcoming and helpful and The Bothy was a stylish and sophisticated place to have breakinfast, lunch or dinner. Overall i loved it

Helpful?
Thank ohsab
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Morning ohsab

thanks so much for your review, we love our hotel and bothy almost as much as you do!!

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Best Wishes


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here on 28th October on business and arrived at a building site. I appreciate that hotels need updating and refurbishing from time to time but it really needs to close to just get the work done without inconvenience to the guests. There was dust everywhere and you had to be careful not to brush against the walls in case of wet paint. I wouldn’t have minded this so much if I wasn’t awoken at 7am to the sounds of workmen shouting loudly out my window and their radio blaring music.

The room itself was shabby and in need of an upgrade. The rooms on the website look significantly better and it may be that I got given a shabby room as the others are currently being upgraded. The window sill in the bathroom was filthy and the sink chipped and grubby round the sink hole. However the icing on the cake was the presence of five or six woodlice (at least I hope thats all they were) crawling all over the bathroom floor in the morning! It didn’t exactly instil confidence in what might have been crawling around in the middle of the night! Yuck!

Having said all of that, the staff were very friendly and attentive and I am sure are having to work hard in the hotel’s current state of disarray.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good Morning Erin G

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As mentioned we have been refurbishing our hotel and we have tried to keep any inconvinince to a minimum.

I am glad the team did their utmost to make you feel at home, if you would like to contact me personally to arange to come back to enjoy the finished product I owuld be delighted to do so.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are so lucky to have this hotel on our doorstep! The restaurant / bar has recently been refurbished. Visited on the opening day and had a lovely meal. Staff very friendly and loving the new cocktails on the menu. The beer garden has also been upgraded and is a great spot on summer days!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kerry62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Kerry62_13

Thank you so much for your review, we all love our new bothy and with our amazing function room and private dining room due to open on Saturday we really will be able to look after all our locals no matter the occasion.

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Popped in on the off chance on Saturday evening for an early tea with our daughter to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upgraded bar and eating area looks terrific. My daughter ordered a burger from the childrens menu, I ordered a steak and onion burger and my husband had steak pie. I tend to rate a place on the effort they put into their childrens menu and presentation of childrens food, I was not disappointed. Delicious meaty homemade burgers, salad with lovely dressing. My husband's steak pie had lovely big chunks of meat, very little fat. One of the best he has had in a longtime. The waitress who served us was polite, engaging and friendly. Through discussion we mentioned our reason for being there was our wedding anniversary - as we sat down, we were given two complimentary glasses of fizz. A really lovely touch and totally unexpected. We will be back and have recommened the Bothy to several people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 799Jennifer_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi 799Jennifer_S2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted we could look after you for your anniversary and cant wait to see you again soon, we have recently refurbished our Murrayfield House which consisits of 9 unique bedrooms and would love to show you those next time you pop in.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,897 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing