We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,296)
Filter reviews
2,296 results
Traveler rating
1,252
659
232
100
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
659
232
100
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbothy restaurantcity centretv in the mirrorthe main hotellovely hoteledinburgh zoobus stopbeautiful roomlittle touchesbooked this hotelno lifttea and coffeefull scottish breakfastbreakfast was deliciousprinces streetrugbybuses
Filter
Updating list...
1,878 - 1,883 of 2,296 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in March to celebrate my 25th birthday with my girlfriend. We paid for an upgraded deluxe room and over all paid a VERY good price! Had a snack in the bar and found the food pricing and quality great. The staff were friendly.
Look forward to rebooking in November if we can!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Handsome1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi muzzhfc,

Thanks for the review and hope you had a great Birthday! Our Luxe rooms in our new Murrayfield House really are perfect for a Birthday treat, great to hear you had a good stay. Hope to see you again next month, best wishes…

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel bearing in mind we had researched before booking. The website pictures do not show the hovel which you may end up in. We booked a double standard room. The room was shabby. The paintwork was badly chipped and wallpaper was peeling. The door was not that secure and the lock stay was packed out with cardboard. The net curtains were ripped and filthy, the main curtains had not been hung correctly, however they did block the draft from the hole in the window frame. There were brown marks on the ceiling from a previous leak no doubt.
The furniture had seen better days. The freeview box is on the table which is obscured from the remote when the curtains are closed. Even a small shelf under the TV would of rectified that. There is no information pack in the room, only menus for the restaurant.
The bed was ok as was the shower.
Noise from creaky floorboards in the room above woke us up most nights. We would be embarrassed to market this room.
When we ate in the restaurant we waited 25 minutes before our order was taken and 45 minutes before the food arrived. Saying that the food was very good. Breakfast good.
Customer service skills were lacking by some staff, barely a smile on occasions. When unable to accommodate us in the restaurant no advice or recommendation of where to eat was forthcoming.
We are not normally a fussy couple but this experience was not good and worthy of our poor review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPW3526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Good morning JPW3526,

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch, big changes are taking place at our Murrayfield Hotel with a full refurbishment of our public spaces with our new bar and restaurant launching very soon.

Your honest feedback regarding your time with us is genuinely appreciated and I would be grateful if you could get in touch personally to discuss at murrayfield@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk

Thank you for your time, I look forward to hopefully hearing from you soon. Best wishes,

Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is undergoing renovations in the bar. We did know about this prior, but had not realized the rooms would be above the construction work.

When we arrived our room was freezing and, despite our asking reception twice about the radiator, nothing happened until the next day when we asked house keeping and they got us a little oil heater.

The noise from the renovations (drilling, banging etc) made it impossible to spend time in our room. This noise at times was constant and gave us headaches as it sounded like it was inside our room. At one point the drilling was making my water bottle shake...And we could even hear the radio blaring from people working on the floor below.
When we stayed at the hotel, works started at 8am and didn't finish until around 7pm.

There was hardly any shower gel when we arrived (a large refillable bottle with only 1 cm in it) and our room only had one towel. The windows in the bathroom were rusty. The main window looked out to another room and this wasn't great for privacy.

The good thing about the place is the restaurant. The food & wine were very good and reasonably priced. We especially enjoyed the Mexican part of the menu! The restaurant was cozy and warm and they played sports on the telly. Breakfast was excellent. We tried the Eggs Benedict (as many people on here had raved about them) and they were great.
Staff were very friendly and you could tell they are trying hard to make guests feel at home, despite all the work that is going on at the hotel.

Overall this wasn't a good experience. I can understand working being done, but this doesn't really make up for a freezing and poorly finished room. . Our mattress was uneven and uncomfortable. You could feel the springs below you and when you turned, it sounded like it was full of coins!
No wifi in the rooms even though it was advertised as having it

Would go back to Murrayfield only for a meal!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the House part of the hotel, but ensure you don't end up above the Bar area (Left side of hotel).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Good Morning el_ser83

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you have touched upon we are carrying out some renovations here at the hotel and we do inform all of our guest in advance of arrival. I appreciate that these works caused you some inconvienience, I am sure you can appreciate that in a property of our size there is never the perfect time to carry out such work.

Once this phase of work is complete the hotel will be unrecognisable with surroundings to match the excellent food on which you commented on.

I am glad the team played their part and made you feel at home.

Should you be in the area again please contact myself directly at the hotel and I would be delighted to arrnage your booking personally and arrange for you to stay in our superbly finished hotel.

Kind regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Murrayfield for our wedding anniversary.
Got to say this hotel is absolutely fantastic! We were in room 2 of 'The House' and it can only be described as amazing! HUGE comfy bed, huge shower that I didnt want to get out of! Everything about the room was great, I loved the TV behind the mirror and the room had everything you could want, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, GHD hair straighteners, tea coffee mini bar free tunnocks teacakes etc etc! Decoration was gorgeous and furniture top notch!
The only small niggle I had was that the door needed a bit of a tug to shut when going out so I was worried about disturbing other guests.
Breakfast was lovely, everything you could want and more! I was pleasantly suprised to see eggs benedict on the menu which was lush! We also had an enjoyable afternoon in the bar with a couple of drinks then food which was again lovely!
There is currently some work being done in the hotel so the bar proper wasnt open but this was fine, the bar in the restaurant did the job!
All in all I cant recommend this hotel high enough, staff all lovely, rooms lovely, food lovely! We will certainly return!
Or and the little cubby with free whisky and chocolates was a lovely touch but I was gutted that I forgot to pick ours up when we were leaving!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are gorgeous!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, Front Office Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Kelly L

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our house and love to hear peoples response to it.

Just like the House we are putting the same care and attention into our pub; which we hope to welcome you to once we reopen it soon. Our lovely breakfast team were so pleased to be mentioned.

Kind Regards
Eithne Gallagher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

arrived on a saturday afternoon and received a warm wecome .checkin was quick and we went to our room.like most busy hotels after a while things look worn but this room was all that we needed tea coffee kettle iron safe.our stay was for four days and the breakfast served was a great start to rhe day we had a couple of meals in the evening and they were fantastic that left you feeling ill order that again the staff can only be discribed as wonderful nothing was to big or to small in a way the stay at the murryfeild just added to the great memories we have of our visit to edinbourgh and we will stay there again

Room Tip: try to get a room at rear of hotel as traffic starts early
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Good afternoon

thank you for tasking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. The chef and his brigade are delighted that you enjoyed their fresh cooking and the front of house team are so happy that you felt so well looked after.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews