We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Amazing Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the luxury house category and could not have been happier. They were newly refurbished, service was excellent and it was a quaint getaway. Just what we were looking for. Will definitely come back and I recommend this to anyone looking for impeccable service, food and rooms!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank info i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good morning info i

many thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review, the whole team here at the hotel were delighted you had such a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    549
    182
    76
    41
See reviews for
259
971
58
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a late flight to Edinburgh airport I arrived shortly before midnight at this hotel and was given room 25 on the second floor. I had been looking forward very much to these amazing accommodation I saw on the website and expected something special, feeling very tired and exhausted.

Lets start with the positive things:

- very nice and helpful receptionist
- clean room and bathroom
- comfortable bed

I entered my room and immediately felt speechless, I guess I have never been so disappointed about a hotel room ever, despite I am travelling a lot and I am not really spoilt anyway.

A double bed in something like a very tiny, old style room with high ceilings. There was absolutely no way to put my luggage anywhere, no table, desk or floorspace.
If you would have squeezed the bag between the wall and the bed, you would have fallen over it, there was approx. 80 cm distance between wall and bed on one side and about 60 cm on the other side. The other alternative would have been to put the bag in front of the entrance door, where there was not enough light to see anything inside the luggage and would be a tripping hazard in case of an emergency.
I ended up keeping my luggage on the bed all the times, even while sleeping! This just isn't good enough for a hotel in a major city, which charges 300 Pournds for one night, if you are unlucky enough to book on the same day! I have been in much better rooms for less than 30 Pounds!

Two windows in the room and one single ceiling light high up, which was so dark, you would be unable to read a book, if you wanted to. None of the bed side lights worked, but I thought it was pointless to tell reception at midnight anyway.
If you closed the curtains, you had to be very careful not to throw everything on the floor which was placed on a narrow drawer, situated in front of the window.

Every time a lorry passed by, the whole room vibrated and shaked.

When I checked in, I was told it was not possible to pay in advance and get an invoice, I was told I can only do so in the morning.
I had to leave early for my connecting flight at 5 am. On the website it was stated that there was a 24 hour reception desk available. The truth is, in the morning there is only a night porter present, who lets you out, but he has no access rights to the computer and can't check you out.
I left my address and got the invoice per e-mail on the same evening. Despite I had planned to pay cash, I got deducted through my pre-authorized visa card.

Next to my room the leftovers of a room dinner were put outside in the evening when I arrived and it was still there in the morning when I left, very dangerous if you have to leave your room in the dark or in a hurry in an emergency.

Avoid to accept room no. 25 at all costs! You have been warned.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good afternoon hunter999

firstly thank you very much for taking the review, I can only apologise for the short falls you experienced.

We are currently going through a phased refurbishment of the property and hope that yu choose to stay with us again, and if you do so please contact us at the hotel directly.

Also I would like the chance to discuss the room rate you have quoted in your review as £300 for an evening stay is not a rate we charge.

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends and had a great stay, easy check in an everything was spotless. Great pub downstairs which was handy because it ea the only place that the wifi worked for us. Delicious food. Only problem was it was a bit out of the way. This wasn't a problem though as there is a bus stop across the road and its £1.50 to get into town or £8 by a cab. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good morning Lukehump

Thank you so muc hfor such an amazing review. Our chef and his team were delighted that enjoyed your meals so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again very soon.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Met a girlfriend for a quick lunch at the Murrayfield Hotel which is located just opposite the Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and Ice Rink. A great place to meet as the Hotel offers free on site car parking which is a great benefit. The staff are very welcoming and cannot do enough to make sure you have everything that you need, for lunch there is a choice of two menus a snack menu and a full varied menu which offers something for everyone. Food is of a very high standard and is served with a big smile. What should have been a quick lunch turned in to a very relaxing 3 hour lunch which was mainly due to the excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janjanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi janjanEdinburgh

thank you so much for such an amazing review, the chef and his team were delighted you enjoyed your meal and the staff really enjoyed looking after you. They even remember that you moved from outside once it got a little chilly!!

We do hope to see you again very soon


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Following my most recent visit to the Murrayfield Hotel I stayed in room 4 in the refurbished house. The room was amazing, fabulous decor -mirror, TV and has the comfiest bed. Fully kitted out for any girls needs! Also has an fab rain shower.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and breakfast was fresh and delicious.

Best hotel in a long while, I shall certainly return when next in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Roalynne T

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate it.

We are so happy you continue to have fantastic experiences with us and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had an overnight stay in the House part of the Hotel our room was Fantastic from the large Kingsize Bed to the large walk in shower could not fault it.Also the staff on reception were very helpful but especially Eithre.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Good morning Zesty28

thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review, Eithne wasw delighted you rememebered her.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our comfy beds and amazing showers so much, I do hope we can look after you in the near future again


Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for my birthday and loved every minute, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The room was huge and had everything we needed. Walking distance to the zoo and short bus ride to the centre. We will defiantly be returning. Thank you Murrayfield hotel for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zesty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Good afternoon Zesty28

thank you so much for such an amzing review, the team here at the hotel are delighted that you had such a memroable birthday and we all hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards


Colin Brand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing