We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge rooms. Not too good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Ranked #37 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lodge rooms. Not too good”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for the rugby. 3 of us in a lodge room. Room was very cold and in need of a full make over. Curtains hanging off, poor decor etc... at just short of £400 for 2 nights not cheap. Main plus point is that all staff and breakfast very nice.

Room Tip: Not room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    582
    200
    83
    42
See reviews for
289
1,032
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Cumbrae, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife and I said for one night in the Murrayfield hotel. We stayed in what must be a new part of the hotel it was very clean and looked great. All the staff were friendly especially the girl on reception and the lady doing the breakfast. They also have a great bar with great bar staff there was a quiz night on the night we were there. It is about 3 mins walk from Murrayfield stadium witch is very handy. If we are through in Edinburgh for the rugby again this will be the place we go!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have stayed here now a few times, always pay the extra for the upgrade! the rooms are very large! It is one of the better value hotels in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getmeabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I recently booked the Murrayfield conference facility and restaurant for myself and 31 colleagues. From the moment I started negotiations, right through to the account being settled I received nothing other than a prompt, efficient and friendly service. The conference facilities were comfortable and well serviced. The three course set menu offered enough variation to meet everyone's liking and seemed very well priced at just a little over 20 quid. What came out of the kitchen was simply "exceptional cuisine" and worthy of a special journey for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Any business that's absolutely devoted to service will never be short of custom. The Murrayfield Hotel has mine!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lodgecaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friend and I came for a last minute stay on the 2nd of January for a night out. The hotel is beautiful our room was fantastic for the money we paid especially this time of year. All of the staff were really lovely people very helpful and considerate. The food in the restaurant was nice too... You can jump on the bus right outside the hotel into city centre for less than £2. Definately not any point getting a taxi during the day! We ended up staying for a second night, and will be back to visit soon :-D

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mersho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Nice hotel,booked last minute for very good price-excellent value,bedroom (standard double) may benefit from some modernisation but can't complain at the price we paid and rest of hotel maintained to high standard.Plenty of free parking in private car park and good location.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kb270310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from 28-30/12/11 for a city visit. The location of the hotel was great. It was a 10min drive from the airport and a short bus trip to the centre. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and provide a fantastic service. There was a small mix up with our room but we were more than compensated with a complementary meal and drinks. We would consider staying in this hotel when we return to Edinburgh.

The standard room we were given was quite small with a large bathroom but this is not a complaint just information.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the lodge, stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,528 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayfield Hotel and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Property: Murrayfield Hotel and House
Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing