We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, fantastic location!”
Review of Castle Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Apartments
Ranked #141 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Group of five women stayed in the two bed apartment you see in the pictures with all the stone walls (3 James Court, Apartment 1). While it was not the most modern of apartments I have ever seen, it was clean and very comfortable. Idealy located a stones throw from the castle and many other tourist attractions and also Grassmarket, recommended to us as a good night spot. If you want luxury, its not for you, however I was very impressed with the historic charm of this apartment and the area it's in. Would definitly recommend this apartment to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We read all the negative reviews AFTER we had booked and were worried about staying here. So we rang up asking for a quiet ground floor apartment. We were allocated a flat at 9 Grindlay Street. This flat was spotlessly clean and obviously recently fully refurbished. The kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and finished to a high standard. The apartment has a large lounge, is on a very quiet street and really well located. We would come here again. Only thing I think does need changing is the size of the bed in the double room. The room is not a bad size but the bed was a 3/4 width and not a double. Definitely need to change this for a double bed for future guests in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

First off a fantastic location right in the centre (top half ) of the royal mile but thats as far as it goes!

The office location is about a half hour walk from the apartment to pick up your keys. When we collected our keys I asked if there were any/many stairs to the apartment as i needed to get to it on my own with a toddler and a buggy, the guy said ' a few' he must have been taking the mick!! When i arrived at the apartments i was confronted with about 200 + spiral stairs (the castle turret). The stairs were not mentioned when we booked so thank goodness my grandparents didnt come as they would not have been able to stay there.

The apartment is large it has a long hallway, large lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom, we asked for 4 adults and a child to stay in our apartment, no worries i was told. My husband and i slept in the bedroom with our toddler in a tiny/dirty double bed and my parents had 1 single camp bed, my dad had to sleep on the sofa, no etc bedding or anything. The sofa was covered in stains and dirty cushions and whenever anyone sat on it they were itchy and felt bitten. The sheets in the main bedroom were stained too.

The bathroom smelt of damp and the ceiling was covered in mold, really unpleasant and unhealthy.

The kitchen was ok had the mod cons and a few dirty cups.

Radiators were burnt out, mold and damp patches on the ceilings, no storage/wardrobe space, tv crap, generally filthy.

Such a shame these apartments could be cleaned and modernised and double in rental price as the location is fab instead they will go bust as no one in their right mind would return to them in this state!

Room Tip: Never book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Terrible! No service, theres no kitchen, we got a microwave with a toaster on top of it and sitting on a windowcill.. That was our kitchen! 95% of what is described on arrival and in the apartment is completely false. Apartments should be investigated for fraud! Disaster! Edinburgh is cool tho!

Room Tip: Dont even think about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynE785, Front Office Manager at Castle Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your room. Please note that you had booked an en-suite room which only has kitchenette facilities. Had you booked an apartment then you would have had a separate kitchen. We feel that this review is unfair as you were allocated what you booked. However, we do treat our reviews very seriously and I will pass on your feedback to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I didn't book this apartment with Tartan Apartments, luckily, so I can't take the blame! It was horrible. We were right in the party area of town and could not use 3 out of 4 bedrooms in the unit due to the late night noise. We had to take 1 mattress and put it on the nasty and disgusting rug in the living room to attempt to sleep. The noise was so unbelievable!!! The oven didn't work without a special trick(that they didn't tell us) and one of the burners didn't turn on. When you flushed the toilet it sounded like a missile taking off---so loud you couldn't flush during the evening when people tried to sleep!! Dirty and nasty sums it up. We tried to get moved but of course they said they couldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you are thinking of booking a break here, don't bother. We also purchased a Groupon deal for a two night stay. The first place we were allocated was up a close off The Royal MIle. It was a tiny one bedroomed apartment, door to the close and the flat were not very secure, there was evidence of water damage or damp and a hole in the bedroom door. The cooker hob was filthy and the oven didn't work. The television did not work either but the icing on the cake were the two vermin control boxes we found in the living area. We were moved to a four bedroomed top floor flat in Broughton Street and it was not much better. The bathroom was a disgrace, there wasn't one wine glass in the kitchen, the carpets were covered in stains and cigarette burns, blinds on the windows were filthy and in some of the bedrooms, the clothes hanging space consisted of a wooden palette like construction.
We were also advised of a problem with the bubbly, chocolates and burger bar voucher when we collected the keys and were assured an E-Mail offering compensation was on it's way to us at home - that was at the end of April and needless to say we are still waiting for it to arrive!
We doubt very much if the apartment shown on the website actually exists. Our advice - don't bother and save yourself a lot of disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Bought a Groupon deal for my fiancee for Christmas for us to go for a short break. We went in May 2012 and to say it was awful was an understatement. We were given one of the very top floor apartments. It was disgusting. Dirty carpets, knobs/buttons broken on the heaters/washing machine, inadequate curtains at the bedroom window, stained work surfaces in the kitchen, hardly any natural daylight in the living room, shower when put on flooded the bathroom floor and there was a very badly stained mattress in the bedroom. We complained to Tartan Apartment and are still awaiting a response. However, we did complain to Groupon and were given a FULL REFUND. There is no way I would ever stay in this disgusting building again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline301969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,715 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Apartments

Address: Royal Mile 7A Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing