We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ok good points first. So the location is brilliant and the bathrooms are always cleaned regularly. Bad points - we stayed in a mixed dorm of 6 people (supposedly).

When we arrived, four of the beds were occupied. The room was disgusting! There were dirty towels and clothing over the beds that we were supposed to be sleeping on, dirty plates, cups, bottles and clothing everywhere.

We literally had to clear a pathway to get to our beds. The room also smelt disgusting. The other "guests" to the room arrived back in the early hours and we were then greeted to the sound of two of them having sex!

The next day, we found that the people in the room had doubled up. We had at least 9 people sleeping in a 6 bed dorm. We raised this with reception who said they would do a "random room search" but nothing changed. If it wasn't for this, the stay would have been ok. The staff should make a conscious effort to ensure that when new guests arrive, the rooms are clean and do more random room checks to ensure that people aren't doubling up.

Room Tip: If there are only two people or less travelling - don't stay in a dorm with more people. Unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdamANDLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudgetB, General Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hi Adam and Lauren, Thank you very much for your review. We are looking into why there where additional people in the six bed dorm you booked. We can only assume that the other guests staying in your room have allowed other people in who should not be there. Would you please be kind enough and email us with your booking Id so that we can identify your booked room to enable us to fully investigate. Please accept our apologies for the mess the other guests in the room created prior to your arrival and their obviously unacceptable behaviour and lack of respect for other guests staying in the room, had we known we would have immediately asked them to leave. On a lighter note we are pleased that the other elements of your stay where good. Thank you again for your review as we are always striving to improve our customer experience and all reviews are important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed with a friend in a four bedroom room next to the guests kitchen on 31st July and 1st August. Noise from outside loud & late - but only to be expected leading up to the Fringe and the location. No problem with noise (ie no noise) from the kitchen though which was good news. My friend and I are both in our early 50s so were a little concerned about being in a youth hostel but, as the Open Mic guy James said, if you're into that lifestyle and happy with the atmosphere it doesn't matter what age you are. I loved it. Obviously, at my age, prefer more privacy. Some toilets/showers were mixed, some weren't. Again, no problem. Food was good. Staff and decor perfect (think students or festival). We stayed there again on our way back - 8th August - and didn't get an ounce of sleep - but I imagine the same could be said for anywhere in Edinburgh during the festival. Also it was hot so we had windows open. Also the prices went up dramatically - as would all the other places. I would definitely recommend this place to any-one who likes student bars etc, but also plenty of opportunities for quite time. The staff wold always go out of their way to help and there was some-one on the desk 24/7. Just be careful with the £1 baggage lockers - it takes a £1 every time you open it.

Room Tip: No lifts, lots of stairs - a killer when you're suffering from frozen shoulder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini_mum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at BB as part of a large group performing at the Fringe festival. The staff on reception were always friendly and helpful, more often than not striking up some conversation whenever you walk past.

I stayed in a room that slept 10 people - it was quite spacious and the beds were not the best but exactly what you'd expect from a hostel. There was a ladies bathroom on my floor with two showers and two toilets; I never had to queue to use the facilities, and they had been cleaned to a good standard.

A few of the people I stayed in the room with felt that it was noisy and the windows did not do much to prevent the noise. However, this hostel is in the centre of everything - a fantastic location - so noise has to be expected. Personally I did not feel this was a problem and slept well for the 6 nights I was there.

The kitchen is clean and well - equipped, perfect if you are looking to save a few pennies and not eat out all the time. There is a small tesco only about ten minutes away from the hostel. I never had to wait to use any of the cooking facilities and there was always space in the fridge and freezer.

The bar downstairs is often lively - not surprising as the drinks and food are cheap. There was a free pub crawl every night I was there, and though I did not go on one, they seemed popular and the staff leading them were always friendly and seemed like they wanted everyone to get involved.

The only down side (and it's very minor) is that the food, though good quality and cheap, was often unpredictable. For breakfast on the first morning my friend ordered some yogurt and museli and a coffee, which all came out at a decent size. The following morning, she ordered the same thing, and everything seemed to have halved in size, including the mug in which the coffee was served in, and she was charged the same price. As i say, this is only a minor thing, but perhaps something the hostel could improve on.

All in all my stay was very enjoyable. This hostel does what it says on the tin, plus a bit extra, which is great as it really is a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sev1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This review is based on a twin room booking, I don't have any experience of the dorms here but I'd imagine they are great!

I booked Budget Backpackers fairly late on after deciding to head up to the Fringe to catch shows with a friend. Although the prices were elevated, they were still very competitive.

On arrival, the check in process was incredibly smooth, and we were in our room within no time. The girl on reception jokingly referred to the twin bed rooms as the 'honeymoon suites', and although there were no rose petals on the bed, there was a large bag of milkybar buttons, and complimentary towels, so a nice surprise to start our stay.

The beds were very comfy, and the bedding was already on, another bonus. We found ourselves in a room that overlooked Cowgate. For those in the know, this is right in the heart of the old town and adjacent to various pubs and bars. As this was Festival time, there was a lot of noise right the way through until 6am, but there are shutters on the windows which do help block out a large amount of this noise. I'd imagine throughout the rest of the year, you'd have no problem with late night revellers.

As in most hostels, the showers and toilets are shared. In BB, there is an option to use male/female only facilities or make use of unisex ones. All showers and toilets we used were very clean and pleasant.

Make sure you take advantage of the free walking tour and great value food available in the cafe downstairs. There were also various drinking activities in the evening, but we were always out watching shows.

Overall we had a fab stay. I recommend Budget Backpackers to anyone who wants great value accommodation and a chance to meet fabulous people from all around the world. This place has character and a soul you don't find in most hotels.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and opt for a twin room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hostel is well-located in the heart of Edinburgh, and nearby to many venues which are used during the Fringe. I stayed for 3 nights and paid about £70 in total to stay in a 6 person room. Sure the beds are a bit squeaky and the street can sometimes be noisy but staying in a youth hostel in the centre of a city, noise has to be expected! I took earplugs with me and slept like a baby. The kitchens and bathrooms are clean and newly decorated, and there are always free toilets and showers available. Head to the 'treehouse' if you want to chill out and watch TV, or go to the cool bar/cafe downstairs. It's perfect for anyone who is going to the fringe and just needs somewhere to sleep at night, and you're bound to meet loads of cool people whilst you're there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Most of the staff is really nice, the 100% free walking tour (they are paid & don't have to rely on tips) was excellent Kat did a great job. It's got a nice hang out area and the rooms were pretty clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here twice now, the rooms are clean and everywhere else is nice and presentable. Best advise is go as a group and book the relevant number of beds. The location is brilliant as well and fairly central. the bar downstairs also have got very affordable drinks on offer
The only negative for me was that although the toilets looked clean, they needed a little more attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adaajoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,558 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $23 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing