We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$306
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$415
$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$505
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$240
$214
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$633
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
281
346
116
48
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
346
116
48
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree walking tourgreat locationpubs and clubscommon roomcommon areasluggage storageroyal milegrass marketbeds were comfortableedinburgh castlecity centrehostelunisexnoisekickasslock
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 826 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

8 bed dorm was quite cramped. Had to pay for luggage storage but at least they are lockers which might be more secure. Wifi was BAD; always not working. Had to ask reception all the time to reset the router. Only worked when one is physically close to reception. Free walking tour conducted by the staff was bad; waste of time.
Showers were hot and sufficient hooks n rails inside stall. Onsite bar with loud music n drinks

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I love Budget Backpackers and already recommend it to everyone I know who is coming to Edinburgh through friends or the Britbound London Office. I stayed here for a week before moving into long stay for two weeks and was quite sad when it was time to move into my own flat. Everyone here is welcoming, friendly, and just the perfect amount of crazy. The pub crawls are great and the bar and cafe serve great cheap booze and food. The chill out room and kitchen facilities make it comfortable and liveable, as does the cheap laundry. I would say the only down side is it can be extremely noisy, but what fun backpackers isn't?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyB_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It wasn't without flaws but i'd have to say after 5.5 months backpacking in Europe this was the best hostel my girlfriend and I stayed in. FREE Pub Crawl!


Location - walking distance (albeit up the hill) to the castle, plenty of pubs and restaurants around.
Staff - Friendly, helpful, inviting - couldn't fault them.
Dorm - we stayed in the 30 person dorm room, which is actually a 20 person with a 10 person mezzanine level above it. We were in the upper level. Beds were comfortable, lockers provided, plenty of room between the bunks. We were never woken up by other guests (very lucky!!).
Bathrooms - Unisex toilets (good i think) in places and single sex in others. The showers however did not have proper doors, they had shower curtains and they left no real room to put your clothes, this was the biggest downside.
Internet - wifi in the rooms, computers not free, a lil pricy too (we had to use one to print airline tickets)
Price - Considering it's in Pounds (the worst currency for Aussies to convert into) it wasn't too bad.

They have a bar in house, well separate from the rooms so you won't get any noise. They also provide decent priced meals.

One of the main variables about life in dorm rooms is your fellow guests, they can make or break a stay, we were very lucky in this regard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building, clean and practical rooms, friendly helpful staff, fantastic location. As far as hostels go, this is a very good one. Ask about the Irish bar around the corner, they do amazing breakfast!! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pommieaussie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is the best cheap hostel I ever stayed. Staff is very friendly, rooms clean and spacious. We stayed there for 3 times. Location is perfect, in city centre with the view to the Edinburgh castle. All main destinations are just around. Design is modern, colourful and attractive. From the outside looks like small castle. Free Wifi is all around this hostel. It is a huge advantage as this is not so common in the UK (unfortunately!). If you are going to visit Edinburgh - definitely will recommend this hostel! (one exception, food is not so nice, better to have your dinner in other place).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaBaskevits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews