We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Budget Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a GREAT hostel for anyone in their teens or twenties! The bar is awesome with fairly cheap drinks, and the food at the cafe is delicious! They had really cool themed nights, and I really enjoyed the tree-house. I stayed in the 30 person room, which I thought I would dislike, but I had no problems at all. The location is AMAZING, and the staff is extremely helpful and nice! Definitely stay here if you're in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hec6g3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 790 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fairly clean. My biggest complaint was the cold showers. The best part was the walking tour they offer. Its very worthwhile and the guide was pretty funny. We did a bit of the pub crawl but it was Wednesday night so not too much was going on. This hostel also had heaters that didn't work very well in the room and bathroom. So it was worth the money for sure but the cold showers were a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent three nights with some friends, and enjoy the stay at this hostel. The staff is really nice and helpful, the rooms are big and the bar is cheap (and there is a place to eat the food from outside).
The bad thing is that the bathrooms are mix and really freezing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank meriguajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hostel is amazing! Such friendly (and australian) staff who were always willing to help and show you good places to go, its located in prime spot for the view and walk up to the castle, right near some great restaurants and pubs and cowgate, if you were looking to go out (edinburghs not that big anyway) its got a lovely cheap cafe and bar, a kickass treehouse relax spot with films and comfy sofas ect plus a kitchen where long term guests can make and store food. Overall i loved my time here, the beds were comfy and clean, linen is free, lockers provided (but bring your own lock!) I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are looking for the proper hostel experience Budget Backpackers is the place! I stayed in a four bed room and was just what you would expect but it worked for a short stay! The room has lockers for your stuff, if you need a lock it is an extra charge. Bring a towel cause there is a charge for that as well. Very clean hostel and friendly staff. The lounging area is perfect pub crawls almost every night which I would highly recommend you get to meet a ton of people from all over the world! The lounge is a chill area with cheap drinks, really cheap food, a pool table, games and what not!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevans3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

They had freshly painted our room so it reeked of lead paint and we couldn't open the window. However, the hostel was in an incredible location, the showers were hot and the drinks and food in the cafe very, very reasonably priced. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I tryed to checked-in at 7:00am after finish my shift at work. After staying in other hostel last weeks I decided to come here because was nearer to my work.
They has told me that the check-in is at 13:00 and then I decided to cancell my booking for the 4 nights (with the correct payment of cancellation) and they didn't understand it that in the case of waiting till 13:00 I prefer to stay in the same hostel as before.
"Now you pay the cancellation and leave the hostel" that was the answer to a customer that prefer another hostel. Just rude.
Sorry to say this but I would not recommend this hostel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Dani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are so sorry we where not able to check you in at 7.00am, unfortunately we where fully booked and we had wait until the previous guests checked out at 10.00am The cleaners then need to get in to the room to clean it. Customers arriving early can drop their luggage in our safe and secure luggage storage area prior to check in. We are saddened you decided to cancel your booking due to 1.00pm check in time. We value all our customers comments and reviews and take very seriously our customer service and Hostel guest experience..

Budget Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 217 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#106 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#31 of 217 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $18 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing