We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$305
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$399
$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$239
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$530
$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$627
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveler rating
281
346
116
49
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
346
116
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree walking tourgreat locationpubs and clubscommon roomcommon areasluggage storageroyal milegrass marketbeds were comfortableedinburgh castlecity centrehostelunisexnoisekickasslock
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 827 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Beds, linen and rooms were good and clean. I would avoid this place in the winter as it did not seem very warm, although the blankets were.

Distance to railway/bus stations was reasonable and the location is very near Royal Mile and most attractions. The Cowgate street is below the "street level", so pay attention when looking for it for the first time.

Showers were a disappointment. It was very difficult to get the water temperature right. It was always too hot or too cold. Also noise travelled a little too well and most of the inhabitants are young, so don't expect it to be quiet to sleep before midnight. We did not opt for the breakfast because it did not seem worth even the 2£.

As a positive surprise the hostel offered a daily free walking tour around the city. There are also regular pub crawls. The staff was really nice but also quite slow.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierupoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here last weekend for one night.
The staff are really nice and helpful, good location but be prepared for steep walks, comfortable beds, exceptionally clean, good facilities, secure.
I only had a couple of quarms, the lounge was under refurb so if you wanna hang out there, you need to go to the kitchen. You need to pay a £2 deposit for the room key, which you do get back but it is a bit of a pain. If you need the luggage lockers before 1pm check in they give you the £1 but after that it will cost you £1 but the lockers in the rooms are pretty big. And they dont have free Wifi.
All in all this was a pretty good place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hostel was well worth the money that was paid. Decided to cook our own food and the kitchen was well equipped and very very clean! Staff were helpful and the location is perfect for the city centre!

Room Tip: I would book directly through the hostel website
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great location, clean rooms and bathrooms. Security is on a pretty high level with all those cards you had to show when entering the hostel at night. If you're travelling with friends and don't mind bunk beds or common bathrooms, this is the place to stay. There wasn't any noise, but we were on the first floor.
Edinburgh itself offers so much, and this hostel in perfect for budget backpacking. You get what you pay for, or even more!

Room Tip: the higher, the better
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmissys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I've stayed at this hostel four times. Usually in the 1st/2nd week of the Edinburgh festival. As others have mentioned the location of this hostel is great. My friends and I have always found it to be clean with a friendly atmosphere.

Just a general overview of the place: Large lockers for your luggage are available if you arrive early or if your leaving later than check out. Just ask at reception. On the top floor they have a lovely chill out area with massive sofas with a TV and books. There are lots of bathroom dotted around on each floor which is good, they've always been very clean in my experience. I've popped in to look at the kitchens but never personally used them. At reception there's a couple of computers with Internet access and wifi available, although i found it to be a bit slow so i usually went to Biddys (pub) at the Grassmarket which is free.

We always stayed in an 8 bed dorm usually overlooking Cowgate so you could get a lot of noise, but hey its the festival its bound to be noisy so we always brought ear plugs and i would recommend if your a light sleeper to bring some. There are lockers in your room, they don't come with locks so bring one if your sharing a room.

If your looking for a budget, clean and friendly hostel that's central, this is the place to be and i would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iced_Jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews