We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning. Awful stench” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Ranked #151 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
“Warning. Awful stench”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The room reeks of some horrible air "freshener" (?). It's vile. I tried to make it go away by opening the window and the door but it clung on like wall paper. Simply awful. Awful. Can't be healthy. Really uncosy place, all in all. Filthy. Dirt on the floor. Pubic hair in the bed. Clogged drains. I'd say: do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    73
    68
    44
    100
See reviews for
15
49
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hostel is located in the heart of old town so it is very comfortable to reach everything in walking distance. This is the only really big plus for this hostel. In general atmosphere is not very nice, the corridor to reach our room was a little bit creepy. The window of the room was facing open air pub so on weekends it must be noisy.Having WiFi only at the reception is also not very comfortable. This is not the cozy place that you would love to return but just for sleeping it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birute M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Cowgate Tourist Hostel is right across from an extremely rowdy night club that literally has something happening every night, and from your room it's like you're inside of it... So if you want to get a good nights sleep this is not the place for you.
Not clean at all, very very old and scary looking walking up to the rooms. Showers and windows are gross so make sure you wear shoes and try not to stay in there for very long. Literally very loud women come and empty your garbage and spray Lysol on everything every day and that's it.

Reception was helpful if you have questions but closed at 11 and that's the only place to use wifi so that kind of sucked.

The bedrooms are only opened with your key so that's good but no storage inside at all, so if you're sharing with a bunch of people it's kinda sketchy.

The only good thing about this hostel was the location, literally close to everything by walking. Bars, restaurants, grocery stores and all the touristy stuff. I'd recommend walking up the hill by the Starbucks and going on one of the ghost tours, that was cool and ended right by the Cowgate hostels street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktskinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Before we left we read some bad reviews about this place and were quite nervous of what we would find when we arrived - but we were pleasantly surprised, clean sheets, freshly ironed, clean room, comfy mattresses, lovely shower room that seemed new, though the lock took a bit of jimmying! The freezer was frozen shut, but the kitchen was otherwise nice with a comfy seating area and a nice big table! The staff were very helpful and friendly and though our booking hadn't gone through from hostelbookers.com, the lad at the reception sorted it out for us in about 3 minutes flat! Would stay there again in a jiffy, extremely basic but clean and comfy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staying at this hostel was not an all around terrible experience, but I would definitely say it left something to be desired. I stayed in a room with five other people and shared a bathroom with more people than I ever have at any other hostel. This would not have been too bad if there was more than one shower for all those people. It was almost always occupied and I did not get to shower during my three day stay at this hostel. It was even occupied at 3 AM!

I really was not expecting the rooms to be in pristine condition, but they were just downright dirty. There was a big hole in the wall next to my bed which the hostel staff conveniently covered with clear tape. The floor was covered in dirt and hair. I actually had to throw away a pair of socks after walking through the hostel room with no shoes on; the socks were COVERED in hair just from walking across the room! The sheets had countless stains and the window in my room would not close. To fix this problem, the hostel staff shoved some paper in the gap, so it still got very cold at night.
Another warning: there is a bar right by the hostel and if you get a room with a broken window, it gets very loud at night. This did not bother me though, because I brought earplugs.
One plus was the breakfast, which I did not expect. It was actually one of the biggest breakfasts I have had at a hostel with sandwiches, cereals, juices, and yogurts for an extra charge.
This hostel was also in a fabulous location. It took only a few minutes to get to the biggest areas of interest for tourists in Edinburgh, which was obviously very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very bare bones. There is one shower per apartment, about five rooms per apartment. The sheets are not always changed between visitors, so be sure to bring your own sleep sack. Receptionist was friendly. Hostel is only one block south of the Royal Mile and a Starbucks, so great location. Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, there were drunk kids in the halls every night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hostel is unacceptable, the only good things are the recepcionist Alberto and George, Longtermers of this hostel are people really funny and friendly as well

Good, im goin to start to speak about the other things, ALL is Dirty, the cleaners dont clean NOTHING, and if the Kitchen are dirty, THEY CRY because they have to clean ( yes, do his work).

THe internet is really bad, they only have in the recepcion and it is always crowded of people. The showers are usually broken and they dont have hot water in the kitchen, a DISASTER.

...and one last thing, the manager is really annoying.

Room Tip: Not come here, RUN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romeo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#20 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#46 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#21 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowgate Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Property: Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Address: 96-112 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cowgate Tourist Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel with a difference! Our 168 bed hostel contains 12 individually lockable apartments all fully fitted with their own toilet, shower rooms and kitchen/lounge including an oven, microwave, fridge freezer, toaster, plates, dishes, cutlery and cooking pots. An apartment sleeps between 8 and 22 people in a combination of 4 and 6 bed dorms and twin or double rooms. That's 12 fully fitted kitchens and 17 shower rooms with toilets plus 12 separate private toilets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cowgate Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowgate Tourist Hotel Edinburgh
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing