We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is so nice!”
Review of Belford Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belford Hostel
Ranked #152 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Padang, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The location is so nice!”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed in Belford Hostel on 3-5 September 2010, in female dorm
The hostel is good, the facilities is really ok but the staff is not as friendly as I hope
I did a mistake not in purpose, rang the bell three times just because I didnt read the notes beside the bell and one of staff got angry at me. They supposed to advise the guest how to use the important facility because not everybody familiar with the technology.
Thank you anyway...!
I love Edinburgh city....
Please be friendly next time

-Patra
from indonesia

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank patrarinadewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    58
    30
    41
See reviews for
8
35
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

ok so the good point about this hostel are..the locations in fine, about 15 mins walk from the city centre. The staff are very friendly although their english can be pretty bad.There were no bed bugs which is always a massive relief. The downsides of this hostel...its freezing 24/7, possibly because some of the windows are taped up with plastic and duct tape?! If you have to go to the toilet in the middle of the night its a freezing walk. Also the showers are nowhere near the dorms which is just annoying and there is absolutely no privacy in there because you have to strip off before you can get in the shower, which is fie is you dont mind people seeing you totally naked. Also, Wifi and breakfast are not provided which is pretty slack as most hostels do these days, its not like this place is any cheaper than others but it does lack these services. Wifi is not available even if you are happy to pay for it. The main issue with this hostel and I assure you is that its a HUGE issue, is that none of the dorm rooms have a roof. Which means you can hear everything from every single room. This includes hearing people having really loud sex as well as drunken antics ALL NIGHT LONG. The place is staffed 24/7 but they never do a walk thru the dorms to check on the noise levels. You will literally get no sleep. We even had stupid girls looking over their "wall" in to our room and just laughing etc for no reason. It was just pretty annoying. There is also no locker provided. We only took this place as a last resort because the Tattoo was on at the time. We would not return but at least there is no bed bugs...literally the noise was pretty unbearable I have no idea why they dont just cap the dorm rooms with a roof or get strict on quiet policies!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I know hostels are about fun, and I had been warned about the lack of ceilings and locks in the dorms, so maybe I value my sleep and security more than I thought. The converted church is full of character, but the charm can soon be overlooked. When a bunch of guests rolled in at 4am and then continued to make noise for the next 2 hours, the place quickly lost its appeal. I never did find out who the culprits were, and the staff seemed pretty unconcerned the next morning, so maybe it really is just me.
I did see a couple follow another guest through the front door, with no staff on the front desk. Oh, and don't even attempt to check-in before 1pm, apparently it's on the website, as you will be told in no uncertain terms.
No problem with hot water though, as other reviewers have stated, and the walk from the city centre is pleasant enough if you go via Queensferry Street and along Belford Road.
For a single bloke, as a place to get a kip and a shower, this place would just about have sufficed; I'm pretty easy. When I then invited a friend (an "ex", as it happens) I was a bit embarrassed when we turned up at the Belford. On that basis, I shan't be recommending this place. Having said that, Edinburgh is just a superb place, which does make up for my disappointment at the hostel; the end of the Fringe and the weather (plus lozzing around in Princes St gardens, and the ballet, get me!!) were a superb way to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig12189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Do not stay here!!

Arrived here on a Saturday after a long bus trip from Liverpool to find I wasn't booked in - although I had a confirmation number to prove it.
I was finally put in an "extra" mixed dorm room even though I had requested a female dorm, and it was grimy!

Didn't get a wink of sleep that night as the dorm walls are only partitions so you can hear EVERYTHING in the church. People were drinking, snoring, talking, smoking ALL night.
Police even showed up and were doing interviews with suspects re. a bar fight - and I heard every detail.

I checked out the next day to another hostel and will never ever be back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChchGirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Staff were lovely, friendly, helpfull with advice made us feel welcome.
The rooms were very small, this wasnt an issue but the noise was I think the staff could have been more strict on groups that made alot of noise at 2 - 3 in the morning.
The living room, bar and kitchen facilities were spot on.
The showers and toilets could do with modernising tho for a short stay this place is ideal. Its in the west end of Edinburgh a little bit away from centre but was good to see this part of Edinburgh. Overall good experience just a few bits need improving and this place will be ideal xx

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnomeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Easy to find and access. Great welcoming from the staff and gave us plenty of information we requested. Rooms were clean but very small and dark. I only spent one night there, but in the morning, all I could hear was other people as the rooms are only devided by a partition wall that is only about 10ft high. The common area and bar was great with plenty to look at on the ceiling. The paintings on the wall are great and all the guests were also very friendly. I would recommend this for a friend as a few nights stay but not a long term.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Rooms were decently large & clean. Staff was nice but there was only one. Love the old church gothic style look. Bathroom was decently clean and the stay was also a fare price. The only thing that bothered me is that the kettle did not work, after boiling it once to get rid of germs as it was dirty it didn't work, changed the kettle with my mother hers was brand new and that did not work either so then we tried a different plug but to our surprise the heating and the plugs stopped working suddenly in our room so it was a cold night. Also did not like sharing a bathroom with people you do not know as our rooms did not have an en suite. Lastly one room we booked had an en suite but i m afraid it was not clean as it should be. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff_foe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#18 of 211 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#16 of 211 in Edinburgh
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 211 in Edinburgh
1,539 reviews
Containers Hostel
#81 of 211 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#36 of 211 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belford Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belford Hostel

Property: Belford Hostel
Address: 6-8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 3DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Belford Hotel Edinburgh
Belford Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing