We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Argyle Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyle Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

the place has nice staff, 2 kitchens, many many bathrooms and toilets, it's close to the center, but not in an area overrun by tourists, and it's close to the park. nothing to complain about here. there are cheap places to get food nearby as well. would def. come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 228 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms are clean, but a bit small. We had a triple-room with shared bathroom in the second building and it was hard to fit all three suitcases and still have room to walk through the room. The kitchen was wonderful and we made our dinners there. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were good. Beds were comfortable and I slept very well. The internet worked very well and was surprisingly fast as well. Wi-fi throughout the whole building.

Easy to find and only about 10-15 minutes from Waverly Bridge. Just walk across the meadows and you find a Sainsbury's on your way in to town. Perfect to pick up some breakfast there while going in to town and then buy dinner on the way back in the evening and prepare it in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niklas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hostel twice on our trip to Scotland. Very good price, kitchen facilities are good, private room is comfortable, dorm rooms are also pretty good.

We ran over a nail in our rental car and when we got up in the morning we had a flat . The staff/owner (I never got his name, sadly) went out back and grabbed a foot pump for us. Saved us hiring a tow truck!

As most anything in Edinburgh (or Scotland for that matter) finding this place wasn't easy the first time. Once you know the way, though it isn't so bad. On foot it's about a 10-15 min walk to downtime through The Meadows park.

Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very quiet street, and still not too far away from the city centre, just a 5-10 Min walk. Nice staff. Rooms were big enough, not overcrowded and clean, my room had free lockers, too. Had no problems queing up with the bathrooms or so, bathrooms were big and clean as well. Nice kitchen, very inviting and warm.
Really nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveInItself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel located in a quiet area, not too far walking from city centre and well connected by bus.

Wi-fi works perfectly, and the only downside, apart from the bed did not change the sheets any of the seven days I was there, wais that we had some people who almost lived in the bathroom and it was difficult to have a shower in the morning or at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Internazionale2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and had the best time. It is a backpackers so you have to expect it to be a bit busy, at times noisy and not too luxurious but it was neat, clean and full of character. The bathrooms were kept clean and there were no queues for showers or toilet. I loved the stairs and the shared lounges and kitchen. Edinburgh city was a short walk through the park so super convenient. The staff were a range of nationalities and very happy and helpful. Loved this place and will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Quiet, comfortable, good location, helpful staff. Perhaps a minor annoyance was the bed which was very creaky so I imagine people enjoyed knowing my every movement. The shower was fine in my view.

The best aspect of the hostel is that there is a good degree of freedom, I didn't feel like it was over-regulated like some other hostels can be. This made it feel like a home away from home :-)

Room Tip: The second building at number 4 Argyle place is quieter than the already quiet main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGS772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#25 of 218 in Edinburgh
178 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 218 in Edinburgh
483 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#17 of 218 in Edinburgh
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle Backpackers

Address: 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh EH9 1JL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $38 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet, friendly, clean, 4 star hostel offers a wide range of facilities and services including free wi-fi with additional access to our sunny garden. We are located beside Edinburgh's Meadows Park where most attractions are only a short distances walk. We offer several rooms that can accommodate 4 to 6 people as well as various private rooms that include: doubles, twins and triples beds. We are student friendly! For students it is only a short distance to travel to Edinburgh University Campus and Napier University's central campus. Additionally you will find by staying with us that everything you need is close by. The area offers various organic food stores, locally owned shops, supermarkets, cafes and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Argyle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Argyle Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing