We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“NEVER GO THERE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brodie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brodie's Hostel
Ranked #178 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER GO THERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

OK, the rooms were ok in size but it smelled horribly of wet, chlorine and toilets. Of the four available showers on our level one had hardly any water coming out, another one had an overflowing drain and the other two had broken lightbulbs. Apart from the smell and the bathrooms the windows could only be opened a tiny little bit, so there was also no chance of a breath of fresh air. By the way, I couldn't sleep at all for my skin wouldn't stop itching - something that never happened before. Also the kitchen and especially the fridge are places you better don't look at - and if you have to, try to not smell anything...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    47
    40
    121
See reviews for
12
63
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed at Brodies as my firdt experience went generally well. However, the second time arpund I was terribly disappointed because the place has just gone below standards of a comfortable accomodation. The double deck beds appeared unsafe (my friend has an accident when one of the steel frames of the ladder fell off), the toilet and shower facilities were not well-maintained (in fact they have run out of toilet paper for residents to use) and the general feel of the place is no longer inviting. The advantages of this place are it prime location and price, but it is not suitable and ideal if you are looking for a pleasant, comfortable and home away from home type of accommodation. I would bot recommend it and I would stay elsewhere in Edinburgh next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Do not recommend! Corridor smelled like urine, toilets were disgusting with no FLUSH. WiFi costs 3 pounds per device! Couldn't believe it as the cheapest hostels in China have free WiFi. The staff at the reception not friendly at all, didn't offer any help with exploring the city. The worst hostel I have ever been to! They should start with cleaning the place. Absolutely filthy place. Will be reporting this place to the health and safety authorities!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have mixed feelings on this place. On one hand it was cheap. On the other hand it could've been kept up a lot better. For example the light in my room didn't work as well as some of the showers. But again when you stay in a hostel, looking for cheap cost and a place to stay in, this delivers on both. You will just have to put up with some other things that usually do not outweigh the cost and inconvenience.

But with a great location, they just have to put a little more effort into it and it can be a great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Edinburgh in a wonderful city but I will not recommend this place. We espended some very good time in the Whiski bar right beside de hostel.
- They need to put more power sockets on the room;
- The toilets were really dirty when we arrived late night;
- To much noise from the street if front of it;
- Service was ok but they could be nicer;
- It is really cheap, but anyway we are paying;
- Location is perfect.
Do not recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Erwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a good location and all amenities which should come with a hostel. The downfall is that nothing is free. Prices are set by date, not availability (Fridays and Saturdays cost more). The wifi costs 3£ per day, lockers cost more, and towels must be bought (not rented for a deposit). The kitchen and common area is nice, but in the end the lack of free WIFI is what kills this place in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I loved this hostel, it has everything a hostel is supposed to have and the location is amazing. The staff is super friendly! Big kitchen, nice common room, nice facilities. Made some really good friends there and I'm definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofienotsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#48 of 206 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#19 of 206 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
Old Town
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
#142 of 206 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brodie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brodie's Hostel

Property: Brodie's Hostel
Address: 93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brodie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Brodie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brodie`s Hotel Edinburgh
Brodie's Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing