We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hostel in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brodie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brodie's Hostel
Ranked #175 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I loved this hostel, it has everything a hostel is supposed to have and the location is amazing. The staff is super friendly! Big kitchen, nice common room, nice facilities. Made some really good friends there and I'm definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofienotsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    46
    38
    106
See reviews for
9
59
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hostel smells like feet and other smelly parts, a room that should accomodate 4, accomodates 8, there is barely any room to walk in the room let alone store your luggage, the staff barely speaks english. They should pay peaple to stay in that dump.
Sleep in your car but not there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We searched for quite a while for something affordable near the centre of Edinburgh. Brodie's is very affordable, especially for being on the Royal Mile.
We stayed in the private double room with en-suite. The room was quite spacious and clean. The bed was fine and the bathroom was also clean and roomy enough. The shower was a bit on the small side, but manageable nonetheless. There was even adequate water pressure, it would have been quite perfect had the water temperature been more stable.
The doors slamming in the hallway were a bit loud, but not very bothersome. Since the room was at the back of the hostel the noise from outside was not bad at all.
We did not have much to do with the staff, but they were friendly enough and had us checked in quickly.
Location- and price-wise we had no complaints. Nothing too fancy, but quite adequate.

Room Tip: Back of the hostel did not have much noise from outside. Double en-suite spacious enough for 2 pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are really small and smell very very bad! We couldn't open a window because the roof under our window smelled like urine. So we had to chose between a smell of homeless people or urine..The mattress was so bad I had bruises all over my body.

The toilets won't flush anymore at the end of the day, so you can imagine what that looks like. The showers, I don't even want to talk about them. Can't describe how dirty they are.

Our room was far away from the entrance, but in case of emergency we had to go out that way, there are no emergency exits!!

Also there is a lot of noise, the washing machine is on the whole night and there are some other weird loud noises that will keep you awake. I really don't understand how people could give this hostel a good review. Please don't stay here!!


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarLouiseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The worst hostel ever! Dirty showers, broken beds, very rude staff.... it was a nightmare.

The frontdoor wasn't locked, so everyone could walk inside. There was a bad smell in the whole hostel, especially in our room. If wasn't possible to open the windows, because the window sills were covered in urine!!!

The room was very stuffy and very small, you couldn't store your luggage somewhere. Our beds were completely broken! The room was also very noisy, every night people screamed across the corridor.

We have complained to the front desk, but they could do nothing for us.

I

Room Tip: Please protect yourself en do NOT book any beds in this horrible hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Perhaps I would have stronger feelings on Brodie's had I stayed longer than a night but after moving out of my uni accommodation for the year I had a night to kill before my flight and spent it in Brodie's. Staff at reception were friendly and helped with my unusual arrangements (early flight), bed was clean and decently comfortable, showers/toilets were a bit dingy admittedly, there's no self-contained Wifi - something called Global Gossip instead - and I had the free entertainment of drunken tourists singing in many tongues wafting through the window later in the night (not the company's fault certainly, rather the location).

The price is an absolute bargain considering you are right in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, five minutes walk from Waverley train station, about ten to twelve from the bus station.
Don't stay here if you're a light sleeper, but I would recommend purely for the price and location. Bring flip-flops for the showers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dacr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Now I know there are a lot of bad reviews of this place, but I disagree with 90% of them! The Hostel was pretty well kept and the reception staff amazing!! Engi and Kata are wonderful, while Zoe and Babs were awesome to hang out with..... They made a lot of effort to make introductions and that presented a good night out along the Cowgate!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#17 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Old Town
Budget Backpackers
Budget Backpackers
#18 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#54 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Old Town
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
#156 of 203 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brodie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brodie's Hostel

Property: Brodie's Hostel
Address: 93 High St | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brodie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Brodie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brodie`s Hotel Edinburgh
Brodie's Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing