We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really comfortable B&B run by lovely people!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
4 Morningside Place
Ranked #200 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really comfortable B&B run by lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I recently stayed at 4 Morningside Place with my partner for the third time and this is the only B&B I will now stay in Edinburgh - it really is a find. It has just three large rooms in a lovely spacious house in Morningside and Jill and Bob, the owners, couldn't have made us feel any more welcome. It's nice little touches like full-size toiletries in the room and a very good choice at breakfast that make this place special. If you're looking for home-from-home comfort in an attractive part of town, try this place out. I promise you you'll want to return!

Room Tip: Go for one of the upstairs rooms - they have a beautiful view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NursePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Myself and my wife recently travelled to Edinburgh for the Half Marathon, so we stayed with Jill, Bob, and Solo the dog in Morningside. We only stayed for two days and one night, but they could not have been more helpful. Jill made our breakfast very early on the morning of the run for us, and when our taxi didn't show up, Jill dropped us down to the start line (at 7am!). They even let us have a late check out so we had enough time to back in the afternoon to shower and collect our things before we left. The bedroom we had, Yew Tree, was well maintained and facing onto the front garden, and a very quiet street. Our private bathroom was 2 seconds walk down the hall and we didn't even hear the other guests. How anyone can give this place a bad review is beyond me. It's a B&B, not a hotel chain. As far as my experience of B&B's go, this is well up there. We would definitely stay here again. Cheers, Tom and Mags from Ireland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a really enjoyable 4 night stay at 4 Morningside while in Edinburgh to visit our son.
Jill's breakfasts are fantastic! Who needs a tourist guide when you have Jill & Bob to give suggestions & directions. So easy to get to centre of Edinburgh from Morningside.
Next time we stay it will be in spring or summer when the weather is bright & chirrpy & we can enjoy the beautiful garden at #4, not December when it is grey & dismal.

Room Tip: We were in the Cedar room. Spacious with a beautiful view over the garden. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vionnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights staying at Morningside Place for New Year. Jill & Bob are wonderful and helpful hosts in this delightful townhouse B&B. The house provided peace and quiet, a couple of miles outside the city centre, and the room was elegant and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and we highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Memorable 4 night stay in Bob and Jill's gorgeous Morningside town house with beautiful garden.
With just the right balance between being there to help but never intruding. And not feeling that you are intruding on them either whilst sharing their loved family home. Luxury touches mixed with family treasures giving feeling of being cared for and part of it all but not feeling a bit on edge. Total opposite of anonymous. It is a lovely oasis of calm which suited us well (stressed out from work 'fifty something' travelling with '80 something' mother in law visiting Scottish heritage and son/grandson for 1st visit to city).Gently cosseted with lovely Scottish breakfasts, fluffy towels, luxury sheets and years of knowledge of Edinburgh to impart. Had double at front with garden view and four poster and lovely twin at back with homely touches. On hand when needed info or guidance. Class act where years of experience show and deliver all. Fabulous guest sitting room too. No question of any second best for guests. Felt relaxed, warm and comfortable. Light but magic touch throughout. Generosity of spirit with a freedom to enjoy. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B at least four times and look forward to our next return. Jill, Bob and Solo (a very friendly and well-behaved Lab) do everything possible to make you feel at home The ~1880's house is quiet with a large lovely garden to enjoy. It is located in the Morningside District of Edinburgh, a quaint area filled with shops and two theatres. It is conveniently located on a major bus line so you seldom have to wait more than a few minutes for the 15 minute bus ride to Princes Street. But why take the bus? It takes about 30 minutes to walk there through Bruntsfield Links and The Meadows. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ideally situated on the main bus route into the city (10 min journey).
Jill & Bob make you very welcome and ensure you are comfortable, they also give good advice about Edinburgh.
It was our first time to this lovely city and will not be our last!

Room Tip: excellent position for the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rchambers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#112 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cluaran Guest House
#129 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Merchiston Residence
#19 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Martin's Guest House
#97 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Morningside Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Morningside Place

Property: 4 Morningside Place
Address: 4 Morningside Place, Edinburgh EH10 5ER, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
4 Morningside Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing