We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Ranked #83 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to spend Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to spend a family Christmas. We rented two rooms for 4 nights. Our stay was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and very nice. The breakfast had many options, especially considering this is really not a large operation. There are great walking trails along the river nearby, as well as some nice restaurants and a bakery. It's about a half mile walk to the castle, which we did several times. Overall, a great place to stay and we'd stay there again.

Be aware that it's a multi-level place with no elevator. But it's a beautiful property, with a very friendly proprietor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vito B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    27
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I can't find fault with this place. The room we stayed in was amazing and full character. We stayed on the top floor and the view over the city was fab! There was loads of choice at breakfast and plenty of teas to choose from in the room. The landlady and the lady at breakfast were both wonderful too. I'd much rather stay here than in one of the faceless chain hotels any-day and it is better value for money!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie_mc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

what a joy it is to stay at this georgian property. The lovely florence the owner is on hand to give you as much help as you require. Myself and my workmate were on a short break with a lady we support. florence gave us a fantastic two rooms which suited our needs.
The rooms have little touches like lovely teas and shortbread, and the lovely shower gels and soaps which were much appreciated.
The breakfast in such fantastic surroundings make you feel like you have gone back to another time.no lunch was needed by all three of us.
Thank you so much florence, we wiill see you again, keep up the fantastic work.
You can walk into edinburgh in under ten minutes, so the location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen's Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Enjoyed great hospitality in lovely surroundings. The Residence is in a good location, being close to the centre of Edinburgh, which makes sightseeing and shopping very easy. The freshly-cooked breakfasts were wonderful, especially the haggis. Overall, good value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This gorgeous Georgian property was a perfect stay for our short honeymoon in Edinburgh. Florence is the perfect host and makes you feel like a member of the household/family. The property is maintained in a near as possible Georgian style and is situated in a Georgian Terrace just 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Perfect for exploring Edinburgh. The accommodation is comfortable, clean and well presented whilst Breakfast caters for all tastes and is excellent!!
We will definately revisit Florences hospitality in the future. Thank you Florence for a perfect stay. Kind regards Andy & Allison x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

From the start , Florence's welcome,the room(even though it was 75 stairs up),its charm,breakfast and the Georgians Residence location in relation to Edinburgh's sites made this three days to remember. We will go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeglass7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Florence was a wonderful host and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the grand entrance door. A Georgian Residence sitting in a peaceful crescent of the new town of Edinburgh you can certainly let your imagination run wild thinking of what it was like in the 1800's, very grand. It is in a great location just a short 10 minutes or less walk to the bustle of Edinburghs Princes Street and main attraction. Breakfast was lovely served in the very elegant dinning room surrounded by antique furniture, and it was wonderful to start your day off with a chat with other guests staying at the house. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here, however there are no lifts in the house and this could be a problem to some. My only disappointment was we were up in the attic which unfortunatley had no views from the windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Inchgrove House
Inchgrove House
#169 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Abercorn Guest House
#35 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place

Property: A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Address: 11 Moray Place, Edinburgh EH3 6DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Moray Placeforms part of a Georgian terrace in the centre of Edinburgh's splendid New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Hotel Edinburgh
A Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing