We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, central, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Ranked #106 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, central, quiet”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A lovely Georgian house used as a B&B. Huge breakfast with several choices (full Scottish, kippers, eggs...). The room we've stayed in is very large, overlooking the street. The single room we've popped our head into is much smaller and less luxurious, so can't comment on it. The big room cost us £100 a night. Bed very comfortable, TV and tea-making facilities are good quality. Parking round the corner is free on Saturday and Sunday and about £2 an hour other days (max 4hours) which is not too bad for Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Large one overlooking the front street. (I haven't been in the others, though).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiandiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florenceshanks, Owner at A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Don't worry about the single room, it's a private room so we don't rent it out.

Thanks for your review.

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
75
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and our stay in Florence's beautiful home was a delightful experience and she was most welcoming and helpful. The accomodation was lovely and the attention to detail was very welcome. The beautiful surroundings of the house and its contents give you a glimpse of how grand the houses of yesteryear must have been. The breakfast was generous with plenty of choice and freshly cooked to order, which is a rare treat for this busy working Mum. The house is within a short walk to Princes Street and all the main attractions and very easy to reach from the main airport bus route. We would definitely stay here again, thank you Florence. 11th/12th August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at A Georgian Residence on the 12th September 2012 and were greet by the wonderful Florence on arrival.

The B&B has been an amazing Grande home in its day, which has been turned into a B&B. Walking into the hotel it is filled with character and a "homey" feel. The rooms are a little dated in decor but it just adds the appeal. Lots of little extras, which just make it worth while i.e., Scottish shortbread along with refreshments (tea and coffee) as well as chocolates in your bedrooms. In the bathroom were toiletries including clean fresh razors should you need them. Fresh bedding and fluffy towels. We were based on the third floor with a magnificent view over the city.

Location - a short 10 minute walk, if that, from the end of Princes Street.

Breakfast included fresh juice, fresh fruit, cereals, toast with condiments, porridge, full Scottish breakfast, omelettes, Scottish salmon, smoked mackerel. Wonderful!!

Only negative, parking outside was quite expensive but this is something throughout Edinburgh.

No complaints and would use again. Thanks for a wonderful stay Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralou_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my second stay at Florence's lovely home, and this time I brought my 17 and 14 year old grandchildren to explore Edinburgh. Florence was welcoming, gracious, and very helpful with suggestions and advice about the sights of Edinburgh. Our room was beaufiful and ample for the three of us, and Florence was a delightful hostess. Our view was lovely, and each breakfast was so delicious and filling that we were not hungry again until late afternoon. Florence gave us her key to the private park so that we could walk amongst its beauty and along the Water of Leith to the Museum of Modern Art. My grandchildren were as pleased with our accommodations as I was. We highly recommend Florence's home.
Jean B

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed with Florence Shanks at 11 Moray Place for a full week in August, having come to Edinburgh to do research on adaptations of Shakespeare plays at the main Festival and the Fringe. If it hadn't been for Florence's advice about navigating the city, I never would have accomplished so much. (Her house is conveniently located at walking distance from the city centre.) At the ends of long days, it was wonderful to return to my immaculate and comfortable room, and to prepare for the next part of the schedule. I should add that breakfast was always a pleasure, not only because of its quality and range of choice, but also because of the delightful people I met who were also Florence's guests.

Room Tip: Anyone who has difficulty climbing stairs should request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Staying in this marvellous Georgian house for the Fringe Festival was a real treat.
The comfortable 2 bedroomed suite at the top of the house served us well (as relatives - one couple and one single person) and the view from these bedrooms - and from the en suite bathroom's shower - to the Firth of Forth each morning was terrific.
Breakfasts were splendid and generous, which meant we didn't need to eat again until dinner time. Florence is a terrifically knowledgable and helpful 'landlady' who recommended the new Picasso exhibition - which otherwise we would not have seen. The house is quiet, clean and very convenient for all of Edinburgh's sights and shopping and we all slept very well each night. Have only good thing to say about this place! Do try it... Alison

Room Tip: The house is a tall town house, in a quiet setting, but no elevator, If you don't want to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TADNAMA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed with Florence for the first weekend of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. It is difficult to encapsulate the warmth, comfort and atmopshere of this beautiful dwelling in a review; it kind of needs to be experienced to appreciate the wonderfulness of this home. I say home because
it felt like home but with the charm of the 1800's. The bed was like a cloud! The furniture like a visit to an antiques treasure trove. Breakfast was incredible; sitting on this fabulous table being served the most lovely food whilst using the most beautiful china and silver really was something else. We were sad to leave Florence as she made us feel so at home. If you want accomodation that is chain like and clinical this is not the place. If however you want to visit Edinburgh as the city it is; quaint and steeped in history then A Georgian Residence is for you. Thank you Florence and some wonderful guests for making our trip memorable. It would not feel right to visit again and stay anywhere
else.

See you soon Amanda & Heath

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TADNAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#36 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#78 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#38 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
New Town
Young Street Boutique Apartments
Young Street Boutique Apartments
#132 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place

Property: A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Address: 11 Moray Place, Edinburgh EH3 6DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Moray Placeforms part of a Georgian terrace in the centre of Edinburgh's splendid New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Hotel Edinburgh
A Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing