We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, style and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Ranked #112 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in May: an excellent location for access to both New and old Edinburgh, with lower cost car parking around the corner (and even all day parking was reasonable close), and the surrounding ambience of gardens, walks and buildings was very satisfactory. The room was comfortable, with a separate sitting room, and the breakfast provided was first class. There was space for me to do some work, and the view onto the Firth was a bonus, as also the access to the square garden. The general decor and understated charm of the house was appreciated. If I had one quibble, it was that the room was on the third floor, which was not a problem for the active, but may be for those with limited flexibility or limited luggage lifting capacity. That was outweighed, however, by the overall experience, quality and value for the location. Marten S

Room Tip: Upper rooms have view, but extra exertion of an extra floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 148 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

A beautiful house on a beautiful square and within easy reach of the Castle and Princes St. Our large room looked out on the private gardens. When we arrived there was scaffolding up on the front of the house and the lovely lady owner immediately offered us 10% discount because of the scaffolding. Our room was so nice and the scaffolding intruded so little that we didnt avail of that discount - as other reviewers have said the cooking can be a bit hit and miss but the overall ambience and the feeling of living back in time more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

That's how I would describe the location and the actual property. We had a very big room - there were three of us - and we felt like we could have had a party with 5 more of our closest friends in our room. The staff was lovely and friendly and the breakfast was very good. My favourite was the smoked haddock! I loved the elegant charm of the dining room too (see attached photo). The property is located in a quiet, residential part of Edinburgh with a lot of lovely gardens around. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Edinburgh and I would love to come back myself.

Thanks, Florence!

Room Tip: There is no lift at the place so travel light. But even going up and down the stairs was not a negat...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Loved hearing the historical connections to the building (photography pioneer Fox-Talbot lived here once!). Added bonus was borrowing the key to the private gardens nearby. Convenient location for New Town and Old Town too. Our room was clean, comfortable, and roomy and breakfasts offered a wide choice of cold and hot food. One consideration: all rooms are up at least 2 flights of stairs (ours was top floor, old servants quarters), so if mobility is an issue this may not be the place for you. Also, wireless is available, but signal strength varies: we were not able to pick it up in our room, but this was not much of a problem as we just went and sat in the breakfast room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Last minute booking was the perfect choice, excellent location for Edinburgh attractions, shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Elegant breakfast room with beautiful china. Spacious room with large comfortable bed, we felt like lord and lady of the manor. The only down point was the two flights of stairs to carry our cases, but the views over the gardens were worth it. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.
Andy & Tracey Coventry

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This B&B is located in a peaceful and elegant residential crescent, within walking distance of Princes Street. What stood out for us was how spacious the room was, as well as the tasteful old-fashioned decoration. The room and bathroom were clean and hot water was plentiful. The proprietor was helpful and accommodated our late arrival time (notified in advance). The breakfasts were generally good, though some of the cooking was hit and miss. Nice variety of fruit salads, muesli, etc. and good coffee. We recommend the cheese omelette. You may get a bit of noise from the breakfast room in the morning if your room is above it, but this was not excessive. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseandBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Number 11 Moray Place has catered for me on multiple occasions, and each time it has been a truly memorable experience. I would not suggest any other place in Edinburgh as this is the best accomodation you will find. The house is very traditional and is full of its own History, which Mrs Shanks is always keen to share. The rooms that I have stayed in have gorgeous views as the guest house is in the heart of Edinburgh. This really is a treat!

Room Tip: All rooms are guaranteed to be perfect in every way. I have stayed here multiple times and have neve...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naimmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,062 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#23 of 393 in Edinburgh
489 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#74 of 393 in Edinburgh
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
839 reviews
New Town
Inchgrove House
Inchgrove House
#139 of 393 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place

Address: 11 Moray Place, Edinburgh EH3 6DT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $105 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Moray Placeforms part of a Georgian terrace in the centre of Edinburgh's splendid New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Hotel Edinburgh
A Georgian Residence At No. 11 Moray Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing