We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, Comfortable”
Review of Sandeman House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandeman House
Ranked #189 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, Comfortable”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Booked this hotel on positive reviews on Trip Advisor; stayed for 4 nights during our grand tour of the UK.

Like more traditional b&bs, breakfasts are served family style, so you're in pretty close contact with the other guests during the meal. Not a bad arrangement unless, like me, you're not a morning person and aren't feeling social until the third cup of coffee ;)

The hot meals were generously portioned and supplemented with more traditional continental fare (cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt).

There are only three guest rooms, and we managed to stay in two of them during our stay. The Terrace Room is great, if a little one the small side for two people with two week's worth of luggage (it also had a weak/nonexistent wireless connection, thanks to those thick plaster walls). I was much happier in the Garden Room, especially since it came with a huge private bathroom.

Both beds were comfortable and the rooms were immaculate.

Neil and Joyce were great hosts - accommodating and helpful, especially with regards to public transport.

The B&B itself was situated in Edinburgh's Bruntsfield neighborhood, about 1.5 mile away (£7 taxi ride) from the main train station. It's a leisurely 30 min. walk to Edinburgh College of Art (where we were attending a conference)/beginning of the Royal Mile, though a bus takes less than 10 minutes. Conveniently, a bus station is less than a block away from the front door.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This lovely Bed & Breakfast is a 15 minute walk away from the Royal Mile of Edinburgh old town. With a Starbucks just across the street, and a Tesco Market beside it, the location is even better. The owner was very nice and showed us a back road where we could park our car. He even drove us down to get the car when we were driving out of town.
The room was huge with a proportionally large bathroom just beside it, which we had all to ourselves. The very warm comforter was so nice, my husband wants me to try and find one just the same!!
The breakfasts were lovely, full breakfast with porridge, homemade fruit cocktail, juice, tea or coffee, and cereals. Followed by eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding and toast. We are very happy with our stay here, recommended for sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Having tried a number of Guest Houses in Edinburgh, this has to be the best. Joyce and Neil gave us a warm welcome, and breakfast was superb. The house is lovely with nice antiques and warm colours, not the usual Ikea/beige look that many of these old houses have adopted. It's a bus ride into town, but plenty of good eating places nearby. Tried to keep it secret, but failed!
Suze and Steve, Sheffield

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suzeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I have stayed at Sandeman House twice, both times travelling to Edinburgh on business. It really made my time in Edinburgh a little special. The house is in a beautiful period terrace in Bruntsflied/Morningside, just off Holy Corner where the bus to the city centre stops every few minutes. It's very convenient for visitors to Napier University, being literally across the road from Merchiston Campus.
The rooms are nicely decorated to keep up with the period atmosphere. the breakfast is excellent and Neil and Joyce are wonderful hosts.
Very reasonably priced too, compared to B&Bs in the centre of the city which are not even close to this one in comfort and charm.
It will go back there on my next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChocFrog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#129 of 149 in Edinburgh
319 reviews
Merchiston Residence
#22 of 204 in Edinburgh
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#102 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandeman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandeman House

Property: Sandeman House
Address: 33 Colinton Road, Edinburgh EH10 5DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandeman House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing