We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #38 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
İstanbul, Türkiye
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

good location. very close to wherever you would like to go. friendly staff. very keen on helping you with a lot of information about the city but i must add that our room was left uncleaned one night. coffee facilities were not filled until we asked. room was ok but the shower was to small. nevertheless i would stay there again on my next visit. cosy and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FishKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    156
    52
    14
    10
See reviews for
63
136
65
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

hostel had a great location, within 10 minutes walk to the castle/train station and just few steps to princess street. the lady in the reception wellcomed us and explained the whole city on a map when she had learned that it was our first visit. rooms were also clean and comfortable. our room even had a castle view from the side. but they offer the luggage room only untill 14:30 after check out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aslı O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Was in Edinburgh for an awards ceremony at the Assembly Rooms . Location was perfect, staff were helpful. Room was clean and the shower was amazing. Would stay again and recommend to others, ideal for a night out as you are in central Edinburgh and there is plenty of pubs and bars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ggjxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Right in the center of Edinburgh, just a stone's throw from anything. Was much cheaper than its comparables. Small but tidy room with everything you need. A tad noisy but what would you expect right in the centre of town?!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Fantastic value and could not get a more central location. Room was spotless and cleaned everyday. Staff were friendly and happy to help with anything and gave us lots of tips and recommendations of things to do in the town. Exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottesidney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I don't like staying in generic hotel chains they lack individuality, that intangible thing which makes the stay special rather than routine. Valerie was most welcoming and my room was lovely, a single en-suite with space to move around, hardwood floors, warm and with a comfortably firm mattress. It is up three floors which may be of concern to slightly older guests and even I lack the energy and inclination to run up them! My only real bug-bear, and this is a personal thing not a fault of the hotel, was the sound of the heating / boiler? that ran through the night, really it was my own fault for not bringing ear-plugs, it however was a constant steady noise and those who like ticking clocks etc won't be bothered by it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CamGher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Nauheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Edinburgh Townhouse last weekend and were pretty disappointed after having read all the good reviews about how friendly the owners were supposed to be. The guesthouse is on the third floor and there is no elevator. Contrary to the experience of other people, there was no one helping us to get our bags upstairs. The room was pretty small but clean and faced North Castle Street which meant that depending on how good the party was at the bar next door, it did get quite noisy at night. The breakfast at Rick's was good value for money (6 pounds for a breakfast of your choice and drinks).
The heating was turned off during the day and at night which meant that we were freezing getting up in the morning and coming back in the afternoon from walking around in the cold all day.
The owners kept on telling my daughter (who came by to pick us up twice within 4 days) to not ring the door, which made it seem as if they were too lazy to even press a buzzer. On the last day we wanted to leave our luggage with them until our flight left in the evening. Whereas the lady had initially said that there was no problem, the next time we stepped into the guesthouse she told us that we had to pick up all our bags by 2.30pm which meant that we had to carry around 3 big suitcases for the last hours of our visit to the city. We really would not recommend the place, there are many other bed & breakfasts around the corner! We will definitely not come back here as we did not feel very welcome at all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghtown10, Manager at The Edinburgh Townhouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns. We at Edinburgh Townhouse always pride ourselves with the fact that we are a friendly, cozy Family run guesthouse. We offer up our genuine concerns when any guest has felt that their experience has been less than satisfactory. However your experience does not mirror that of others who have also stayed here over the last months and please can I put this down to expectations. Edinburgh Townhouse is set on the 3rd floor of a Georgian Townhouse and is a listed building. This is the reason why we have no elevator. As i remember you did check in very early in the morning whilst my only staff member was departing and cleaning rooms. This would not put her in a position to at the same time offer assistance with your luggage. She is always very friendly and nothing is ever too much.....please refer to other recent reviews to confirm this. The buzzer system is in operation for the arrival of guests and once rooms are allocated and guests are settled my housekeeper has her own time.....it was at this time that I only made a suggestion to your daughter to text you when she is downstairs so that you can then join her...most people use this technology to communicate. The second occasion the buzzer was used was in fact 8 am on Sunday morning whilst in fact the house was full of sleeping guests. Our departing time being a Sunday is 11am. We where told by your daughter that using your mobile costs money in the UK and her reason to disturb another 18 people. My housekeeper assured me that at no point was she rude. She in fact met your daughter on the stairway to explain that guests where asleep so could she go quietly to your room. We offer an extra service of keeping luggage for guests so that at 11 am they do not have to navigate the city with bags. We do this as a courtesy gesture, but we state a 2 30pm collection. Otherwise there is a system in operation at Waverly station offering a 24hr luggage store for £7 per item. Our heating system is always on a timer and has caused no concern until now. once the heat of the house falls below 21 degrees, the heating automatically comes back on, unless you turned down the controls in your bedroom i honestly can't understand your lack of heat. "Warm", "Charming", "exceeded expectations" "excellent stay" are just some of the phrases that we are used to...so to end I am sorry that no matter how much we offer..it sometimes is never enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#23 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#78 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing