We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #38 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just checked out after a one night stay at The Town House Edinburgh, north castle street.
The reception was up a couple of flights of stairs but that didn't bother us as it added the guest house with more character, Valerie was very welcoming and gave us some tips on places to visit our. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and warm, in fact the bed was so comfy that we slept in but we were allowed to stay a little extra.
A most definite place to stay whilst visiting the city and would recommend to book direct.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, didn't hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    156
    52
    14
    10
See reviews for
63
136
65
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Wonderful hospitality and the room was lovely. I would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family. The room was cosy and clean and I had everything I needed. The location was within easy walking distance to Edinburgh central sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HelsBels9752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Satyed in a nice, quiet, cosy wee room on a very wet and cold January night. Adam the manager was extremely friendly and helpful - nothing too much bother. The location is excellent in town centre. Quite a few stairs to climb to get to reception but overall really good value for money. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank watsonlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Friendly staff were welcoming and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed to have a great trip to Edinburgh.
Adam explained that if we needed anything out of hours we could contact him on his mobile.
Bedroom, although small and with a low ceiling in the attic was nice and warm and clean with comfortable bed and the shared bathroom was also kept nice and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank louisetbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was mine and my partners first trip to Edinburgh! We had a very small budget as we're both students, so I scoured through affordable B&B's online until I found this little place :)
I booked it because there was an offer, and it looked comfortable enough in the pictures.
First impressions; we arrived really early because of an early morning flight but Adam the manager took pity on our weary expressions and let us check in early, moving things about to accommodate us straight away! Nothing was too much trouble for Adam, he was above and beyond helpful and although we we'rent too needy, I feel as though had we been he would have met all of them spectacularly.
We were staying on a room only basis, so I can't comment on the food but the decor is pleasant enough, very clean bedroom and bathroom! no grotty tiles or scary moldy surprises whatsoever :)
The bed was extremely comfy! they provide the basic tea and coffee and towels, (sadly no hair dryer) and the location is on the New Town side, close to the main busy streets, extremely accessible and lots of restaurants and coffee shops nearby if you need them!
If you're expecting a posh boutique B&B and a lift, then this isn't for you. It's cute and quaint, but there's alot of stairs (Which we didn't mind at all) but stairs aren't everyone's best friends.
The Walls are a little thin, so you can hear other peoples conversations but I didn't hear anything from outside (Road's or people in the street)
What you have to remember, its budget accommodation so there's really nothing fancy about it, but if you're like us, and funds were restricted then for the money you pay its very reasonable!
We were extremely happy with the things that were most important to us: Location, Comfy Bed, Hot Water and Customer Service. All those things were fantastic, I think Adam was the factor that impressed us most of all :)
Would I recommend them? Sure! Would I stay here again? I would, but I never like to do the same thing twice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahPorteus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and myself stayed here last weekend (4th &5th January) first time ever in Edinburgh, we had an early flight and when we arrived at the townhouse we were met by the manager Adam who warmly invited us and checked us in even though we were quite early!! Room was beautiful nice big fluffy pillows and duvet. Room was warm which we loved as after our sight seeing in the cold it was most welcome. Adam was really helpful on places to visit and nice restaurants nearby. Deffinatly recommend to anyone and will be staying again on our next trip to Edinburgh. Thank you Adam for everything xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles19822504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Edinburgh town house is definitely worth a visit if your staying city centre. Staff are very attentive. Rooms live up to your needs in the most fabulous centre location. Couldnt ask for better value in Edinburgh! Will be sure to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megatron1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#23 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#78 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing