We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, convenient guest house in the heart of Edinburgh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edinburgh Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #40 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient guest house in the heart of Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just returned from a romantic weekend break in Edinburgh and we were well looked after at the Edinburgh Townhouse. The proprietor is very friendly, showing us to our room and explaining breakfast and other facilities concisely and politely.

The room was spacious enough for a couple of nights, with a dressing table and wardrobe, but not much space for luggage so might not be great for an extended stay (although some of the rooms may be bigger). We had clean and perfectly functioning en suite - towels were provided but toiletries weren't.

The continental breakfast was more the sufficient (the biggest croissants I've ever seen!), although was only served until 9:30am so not much chance for a long lie-in.

However, it wouldn't matter too much if you missed breakfast as the guest house is so perfectly located that you've got hundreds of eating options on your doorstep. Two minutes walk from Princes Street, about 15 minutes from Waverley Station and about 15 minutes from the castle and the Royal Mile.

With the perfect location and such friendly customer service I can definitely recommend the Townhouse for a weekend visit to Edinburgh (unless you have mobility problems, as there are several flights of stairs and no lift).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen_kruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    147
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
60
133
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel visiting Edinburgh for a long weekend and i found it great. The location is ideal and the room very clean and comfortable. It also has great value for money and it definetely exceeded my expectations! The only drawback was the very early breakfast. Apart from serving a Continental breakfast (would definetely fancy an English Breakfast!), it was served between 8 and 9 in the morning(which as we found out is typical for Scotland).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, ny
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Found this to be perfectly located. Was able to walk from the rail station or to the Royal Mile with the map the owner provided me upon arrival. Clean and cozy. Not sure I could ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great location and we haggled the price down so it was good.

However the ceilings were about 6ft max, the room had slopping ceilings so it was very hard to stand up, the breakfasts were only served 8-9am, oh and the bathroom was tiny too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarkThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limoges
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This guesthouse is iedally located for a city break with an easy access to all major attractions.
Despite the cleanliness and the comfortable room, I must admit that I did not sleep that well as the neighbourhood was noisy (works just down the street) and I couldn't close the window properly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencelges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This B&B is within easy walking distance of all the essential sights in downtown Edinburgh. The staff is top notch with a strong service orientation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kroepoek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a training course for work. I found the Guesthouse very easily by foot from Waverley Station. It seems to be in a really nice neighbourhood and is only 10 minutes walk from the Castle and all the other tourist attractions.

I stayed in a single room which was an adequate size. The bed was comfy and the shower was perfect. The sink in the bathroom was really small though - awkwardly small! I experienced no problems with noise during my stay and generally had a comfortable nights sleep on both nights.

The lady who checked me in was also the same person to serve me breakfast. The continental breakfast was reasonably good and the lady tried very hard to make all the guests feel welcome and ensure that they had everything the needed.

I would stay here again if I was able to find a decent price for the room. Its certainly not more than a 2 or 3 star property but its location really is excellent and I would consider using it as a base for my wife and I to explore Edinburgh from in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#21 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing