We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Ranked #39 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
memphis, ny
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Found this to be perfectly located. Was able to walk from the rail station or to the Royal Mile with the map the owner provided me upon arrival. Clean and cozy. Not sure I could ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    167
    55
    15
    10
See reviews for
72
144
67
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great location and we haggled the price down so it was good.

However the ceilings were about 6ft max, the room had slopping ceilings so it was very hard to stand up, the breakfasts were only served 8-9am, oh and the bathroom was tiny too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarkThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limoges
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This guesthouse is iedally located for a city break with an easy access to all major attractions.
Despite the cleanliness and the comfortable room, I must admit that I did not sleep that well as the neighbourhood was noisy (works just down the street) and I couldn't close the window properly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencelges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This B&B is within easy walking distance of all the essential sights in downtown Edinburgh. The staff is top notch with a strong service orientation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kroepoek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a training course for work. I found the Guesthouse very easily by foot from Waverley Station. It seems to be in a really nice neighbourhood and is only 10 minutes walk from the Castle and all the other tourist attractions.

I stayed in a single room which was an adequate size. The bed was comfy and the shower was perfect. The sink in the bathroom was really small though - awkwardly small! I experienced no problems with noise during my stay and generally had a comfortable nights sleep on both nights.

The lady who checked me in was also the same person to serve me breakfast. The continental breakfast was reasonably good and the lady tried very hard to make all the guests feel welcome and ensure that they had everything the needed.

I would stay here again if I was able to find a decent price for the room. Its certainly not more than a 2 or 3 star property but its location really is excellent and I would consider using it as a base for my wife and I to explore Edinburgh from in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had booked a room for 2 nights for hogmany and my wife's birthday. Positives: Great location and nil else. Negatives: Initial problems with booking as owner Tod cancelled a confirmed booking via lateroom by altering price and booking terms after confirmation by lateroom. Later he argued on the phone blaming laterooms had not updated the website, Laterooms callcentre sorted the problem after I complained. It was revealed that the owner was being dishonest and it was not lateroom's fault. Tod accepted to honour the booking as initially confirmed after laterooms threatened that he would never be allowed to advertise with them (I was told this by callcentre employee). Then on arrival, we were met by a deligent lady in her late 60s (I think). Although she was keen to please guests, she was running a one person show doing everything from greeting to cleaning to serving breakfast. The townhouse had 4 flights of stairs before reception and another 2 to our room. Room was very basic and small (for GBP110 per night) and all furniture (room and downstairs) was cheap. The bathroom had no shower, only a bath tub with no pressure in taps, and the owners had placed Asda smartprice toilet paper and shower gel there!!!!! In the morning, there was only cold breakfast with only 3 basic (and cheap) cereals, asda smartprice orange juice and some toast (cheap bread). Ultimately, we were so let down the we cut our stay and left before the 2nd night. Never go there please.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonalNigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

This B&B was a 2 star, at best. I was booked into a single room (one twin bed). Room was so small I could not even open my suitcase. Bed was miserable and pillow was the disposable type used in hospitals. My room was next just off of the lobby and breakfast room, making it very noisy, so forget sleeping in. Room was also not clean and not ready until after 2pm. If you have heavy bags or issues with stairs, beware this is on on the 3rd floor.

Would not recommend this B&B and will stay elsewhere on next trip.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#22 of 392 in Edinburgh
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#70 of 392 in Edinburgh
422 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 211 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Property: The Edinburgh Townhouse
Address: 38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edinburgh Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House,We do not have an elavator , if you have any issues with stairs the guesthouse will not be suitable. just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourself you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from Edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing