We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect leisure at the end of the day.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgarth Guest House
Ranked #128 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
erzgebirge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect leisure at the end of the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Located ideally out of the city centre and yet so close to it with the bus stop just around the corner, this is great if you need to go to the centre now and then. Situated in a quiet residential area, and close to the sea, it is perfect for a quiet evening at home or a walk on the beach. Ursula Wright is most obliging and makes you feel most welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
34
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comber
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

I can recommend this B&B 100%. The bedrooms were comfortable and clean, great choice of food for breakfast, convenient to bus route and city centre and right next to a lovely beach, ideal for a morning walk after a hearty breakfast.. Ursula and her staff were so helpful and friendly and went the extra mile when my daughter left important travel documents behind in our room. Ursula's husband kindly brought them to the airport so we didn't need to miss our flight.
Would definitely stay at the Ardgarth again the next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Really amazing value this hotel - we had between two of us a bedroom with 5 beds (one double) for £36 in total. If there were 6 of you that would be £6 per person per night - for a great hotel rather than hostel!

Its on the outskirts of town, which is a bit annoying as if you want to pop back to refresh after being out and about it's not very possible, but it more than makes up for it in the price. There is also a bus that runs to town just outside, which in reality takes between 15-20 minutes with traffic.

Very clean room, quite regal, which I liked and has nice touches like a small medium and large towel, tea and hot chocolate with kettle in the room and a lil chocolate eclair for each person. The break fast is really nice, just annoying that you only have a 1 hour time frame in which to get it between 8:15 and 9:15 I think it was.

The owner was very nice, friendly and helpful and polite and they have lots of guides that you can borrow. Some of the staff aren't really with it: forgetting orders at breakfast and spilling drinks and opening doors without knocking (I won't go into the detail of the outcome of the latter, let's just say I was in a neked and rather compromising position with my boyfriend *embarrassing).

Overall thoroughly recommend, for the price and what you get I couldn't recommend it enough!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

My partner and I decided to go to the fringe festival on very short notice and amazingly the Ardgarth had a room available for us. We ended up in a 4 bed room with a shared bathroom. Would have preferred a double with ensuite but we were in no position to be picky.
There was a regular bus service during the day which was great but the night bus only ran every hour and cost 3 pounds so when there's two of you it makes more sense to pay 10 pounds for a taxi.
The only thing we could fault was the time breakfast was served which was between a 1 hour window. A longer window would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Ardgarth is a great base for the festival. It is only fifteen minutes on the very regular 26 bus to Princes St. and there is even a night bus than stops 25m from the Ardgarth. Parking is not a problem and the area felt incredibly safe.

The Ardgarth was clean, roomy, friendy and the breakfast was fantastic. Ursula & her team could not do enough for you. As a vegetarian, I was delighted with the Scottish Breakfast complete with vegetarian haggis, burgers, fingers & bubble & squeak. Every minor detail was catered for including a guest lounge with PC, Guide Books galore, Maps, Choccies on the Bed, Rooms cleaned daily etc.

We paid £72 a night for what turned out to be a five bed room which was about as low a price as I could find on a months notice. Well Done.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weahking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were able to park easily outside the guesthouse and travelled on local buses which stop near to the guesthouse. We loved being so near the seaside.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friesland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Excellent situation, close to beach in Portobello, but at the same time within easy reach of the town centre by bus. Rooms comfortable, breakfast good, use of elderly internet computer, price very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
4.0 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#37 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Bunks
Mackenzie Bunks
#2 of 3 in Musselburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#113 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edinburgh Lodges
Edinburgh Lodges
#5 of 6 in Musselburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgarth Guest House

Property: Ardgarth Guest House
Address: 1 St. Marys Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly Guest House in a quiet location with free on-street parking and good bus service to city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgarth Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing