We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardgarth Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
102
11
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
11
4
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 117 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Ardgarth is a great base for the festival. It is only fifteen minutes on the very regular 26 bus to Princes St. and there is even a night bus than stops 25m from the Ardgarth. Parking is not a problem and the area felt incredibly safe.

The Ardgarth was clean, roomy, friendy and the breakfast was fantastic. Ursula & her team could not do enough for you. As a vegetarian, I was delighted with the Scottish Breakfast complete with vegetarian haggis, burgers, fingers & bubble & squeak. Every minor detail was catered for including a guest lounge with PC, Guide Books galore, Maps, Choccies on the Bed, Rooms cleaned daily etc.

We paid £72 a night for what turned out to be a five bed room which was about as low a price as I could find on a months notice. Well Done.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weahking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were able to park easily outside the guesthouse and travelled on local buses which stop near to the guesthouse. We loved being so near the seaside.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Excellent situation, close to beach in Portobello, but at the same time within easy reach of the town centre by bus. Rooms comfortable, breakfast good, use of elderly internet computer, price very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

After 6 hours on the plane, and a subsequent mix-up and 1 hr delay at the car rental, my husband, 3 children and I were exhausted and ready to settle into a restful, relaxing B&B. Unfortunately, there was another mix-up to be had at the B&B we had reserved. The owner, however, referred us to her friend Ursula at the Ardgarth. We are so happy that she did!!! We were given 2 adjoining ensuite rooms (we had the top floor to ourselves), and were tremendously pleased with our accomodations. Clean, comfortable beds, and the rooms airy and light. The full Scottish breakfasts were delicious (though the children preferred the chocolate croissants!), and Ursula was so friendly and helpful with her suggestions for our stay in Edinburgh. She had a vast knowledge of family-friendly travel tips, and (understanding how challenging it can be to feed young children on holiday) allowed us to eat our take-away food for dinner in the breakfast room. We loved the location - minutes walk to the water and bus stop, and with convenience shops and reasonably priced food nearby. A wonderful experience all around, and I would recommend the Ardgarth wholeheartedly - especially those with children. An EXCELLENT way to enjoy Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RisaNVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Ursula Wright was a perfect hostess who was always ready with suggestions for sightseeing and making sure all the guests' needs were
accommodated. The rooms were beautifully decorated and kept immaculately clean. Her breakfasts were well prepared and we loved the
fresh blue berries and strawberries.

The location was excellent. It was a block from the promenade on the beach yet only a 15 minute bus ride to the center of Edinburgh. It was the
best of all worlds.

We will happily stay there when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishtraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews