We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Edinburgh stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a great choice for our stay in Edinburgh. Had a view of the castle from our balcony. Grassmarket neighborhood was a good choice. Connections to pubic transportation was excellent. Can't recommend their food service....overpriced when better venues are to be found outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book early with a view of the castle if at all possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 3,588 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently returned from the Apex International, and been blown away by the high standard of customer service from all members of staff. Upgraded to a deluxe room with views over Grassmarket as it had been noted by reservations that this break was to celebrate a birthday. We're given complimentary alcoholic drinks in the bar whilst waiting for the room to be ready..even though it was us that was early.
Hotel spotlessly clean throughout. Beds extremely comfortable with lots of pillows and cushions.
Restaurant service at breakfast, very friendly but professional and courteous. Full Scottish breakfast on both mornings delicious and well presented. Reception staff extremely knowledgable and helpful, especially when organising medical assistance for myself required at 4 am.
Hotel pool gets quite busy and is only small, and the sauna wasn't working when we were there.
The only criticisms are, the bathroom was very small. Not even enough room to hang up two sets of towels. I am 5 feet 8 inches tall and I couldn't lay out in the bath.
Grassmmarket is a lively part of Edinburgh at night with quite a number of bars and restaurants ( do visit The Beehive - very friendly olde world up) and can be quite noisy at weekends. May affect lighter sleepers with rooms overlooking the castle/square.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may be bothered by noise from Grassmarket, which on a Saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusssybritches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Edinburgh and we enjoyed every minute of it. There are lots of plus points with this hotel and only a few little bad points (little niggles really).
Firstly fantastic location for the old town and some great bars, restaurants & cafes on the doorstep of the hotel. Also a stones throw from the castle , the Greyfriars area & the museum.
We had a nice clean room, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant during our stay due to so many great places around the town but we did stop in the bar for a couple of drinks before heading out. The bar lounge is very nice and a good spot to chill out after doing lots of walking and sightseeing.

The toilet seat in our room was broken but we mentioned it and that we didn't have enough towels to the staff on reception as we went out and it was fixed for when we got back and extra fresh towels waiting.

The Grassmarket is quite lively at night and you can hear this quite easily in the rooms facing the square in fact it seemed like we had left a window open but it was fully closed. They did provide ear plugs so I guess they are aware of the noise levels but considering we got this hotel on a decent rate and its great location we were still happy with our stay.
There was no A/C in this room which was a surprise but not the end of the world.
The things we always look for is that its clean, comfortable, in a good location and good value for money so it pretty much ticked all our boxes.

Room Tip: You may have to sacrifice with some noise from grassmarket square at night for the fantastic view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallows79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked this hotel directly on their website and got a good rate we were content with. Had stayed before a few years ago on business so was aware of the location and facilities. The room on the 4th floor with a balcony and view of the castle. One thing to note is that these rooms also face the pubs and restaurants across the road and on a weekend the noise does reach up to this level. The bed was comfortable and the pillows just as we liked them, soft and fluffy. Bathrobes and slippers provided along with excellent towels and face flannels. Coffee and tea making facilities as standard, a large tv and ironing facilities and an in room safe. Now some niggles, why no drawers? Shelves are not enough for smalls, no light above or next to the dressing table mirror, how is one to see to apply make up? The towels on the bed every day tries to disguise the fact that there is not enough towel hanging space in the bathroom. In the separate shower cubicle there is no shelf or space to put soap, shampoo or shower gel all kindly supplied by the hotel. Not good having to bend down to pick up from the floor!!. The breakfast is excellent and is on the 5th floor with views of the castle. Good choice of cooked or continental style plus fruit etc. Service was good and attentive. Another niggle, where are the stairs? The two lifts are very busy at breakfast times and a long wait can be the norm. As we were only one floor down it seemed silly to use the lift for this trip. We also tried the bistro and the bar on the ground floor. Again the staff were attentive and the food choice was very good and not overly priced. All in all a very good stay but short of excellent.

Room Tip: Beware choosing rooms with a view of the castle due to potential for late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandKNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had opted for a deluxe room on the 4th floor - and the views of the castle were stunning. It was lovely to pull back the curtains in the morning and see the castle in all its splendour - weather was also beautiful which helped.
We had chosen this hotel for its location. Perfect during the day but a bit of a price to pay at night as there is a fair amount of noise from late night idiots.
The room was fine , not large but everything we needed was provided. Chairs were a bit grubby but the room and bathroom were clean enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for a night away with a couple of friends. The hotel itself is lovely - great location, easy walking distance from the train station and to all of the nearby sights. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the beds very comfortable indeed.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is down to the fact that when I asked a staff member at breakfast if there were any gluten free options, or if they could tell me which foods from the menu would be safe for me to eat, they didn't know what I was talking about and didn't attempt to find out for me. This did not leave me reassured in eating what I ordered (I am a Coeliac so anything with abit of gluten in can trigger a reaction).

I would definitely stay here again, however, I think the hotel needs to address this and offer more options and information for guests with special dietary requirements - even a bit of staff training in this area would help.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Edinburgh's Apex City and International hotels are both located in Grassmarket, which is a short walk away from the city centre. Grassmarket is home to a number of independent businesses, and it's also close to Greyfriar's Bobby and the National Museum. This makes it a great choice for any visitors who are interested in the city's history. If you'd like to take a bus tour around the city, you're also able to 'hop on' from a stop across the street.

The hotel itself is clean and spacious, with friendly staff. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, and the staff were happy to help with any queries. Room service is also available. However, I can't comment on this service as neither of us used it.

Toiletries are provided in the bathrooms. However, my partner and I both agreed that these were of poor quality. Despite providing a premium brand, we had to replace our bar of soap as the hotel's soap made my hands dry out. This has only previously happened with cheap liquid soaps.

The bedrooms are decorated tastefully, with large ensuites and good quality bedroom furniture. The beds are particularly excellent. The hotel also has many excellent disabled facilities. This includes stairlifts in the lobby, and numerous access rails in the bathrooms. However, the bathrooms are slightly disappointing. The shower in Room 4051 has small amounts of mould in the corners; though as this is an area that's almost always going to be damp, I'm willing to forgive this. On the other hand, this isn't helped by the complete lack of ventilation in the bathrooms. The plug in the shower is also poorly located. Most of the water flows out in the opposite direction, soaking the area of floor in front of it (and any nearby towels).

Both the bedrooms and bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis. We noticed that our bedsheet was stained on the second day. However, the staff dealt with this quickly after we complained. There's also a lack of recycling facilities. As a result, our plastic bottles and excess paper were left piled on a table even after a cleaning session. These were cleared away the next day, when we left a note for the cleaner. Compared to the Travelodge we stayed in on our previous visit, however, these are very minor issues.

Overall, this was a lovely, conveniently located place to stay. As we booked through an external website, it was also excellent value for money. Despite a couple of minor problems, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,543 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,225 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $109 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing