We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here in January and paid extra for a castle view as it was a birthday treat for my other half. Rooms are comfortable and large but have stayed in better four star rooms. The views were lovely but the only downside was the noise as it gets very noisy late at night. Breakfast was lovely and was too a high standard staff very helpful. We also used the spa facilities there is not much too it but was nice after a day sightseeing to come back and have a nice swim and sauna. I would recommend this hotel and we were very glad we stayed in the old town compared to the new.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,227
    463
    165
    74
See reviews for
769
1,316
89
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked 1 night at the Apex for a basic room. Received an upgrade to 5th floor superior room with view of castle. Downside it was next to Heights and lifts, so noisy first thing in the morning. Noisy on Grassmarket until 3am too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank woblynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was lucky enough to spend my 30th birthday in Edinburgh on Hogmanay and this hotel was largely part of what was an amazing experience. The service, amenities and general atmosphere was... just excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurarowe_carnival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I chose this hotel from a recommendation of a friend (always a good start).Lovely location with a view of Edinburgh Castle if you get a front facing room (can pay extra for this). For the tourist all the sights are within easy reach that a normal fit a healthy person can cope with (remember Edinburgh is rather hilly). As for the hotel, room good size, very clean, good bathroom with a shower that was a dream to operate. There is a restaurant call 'The Heights' giving excellent views of the castle (outdoor eating during summer months) unfortunately this was close for refurbishment during my stay but a 241 offer on evening meals was available in the Bistro. The meals that were on offer were of excellent quality with the service being very attentive. Breakfast was also of a very high standard however there was an occasion to suggest that further training of the waiting staff should be giving so that continuity be maintain i.e. two people eating their course at the same time and correct cutlery offered (this was not a real problem but was an observation that was inform to management for future service improvement). Stayed 4 nights, made very welcome with all staff including reception being very helpful, would recommend. Very quite location but remember it was January and I believe the Grassmarket (lots of 'Al Fresco' eating places) gets very busy during the summer months.

Room Tip: If you require a room overlooking the castle then one has to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned home from a 50th Birthday celebration in Edinburgh. Booking online you're never quite sure what you will end up but what can I say?..... Amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived at reception (3 hours early for check in) we were given one of our parties rooms early to leave bags whilst we went out exploring the city.
Lovely surprise bottle of bubbly for the birthday girl - a very nice touch.
Staff were so helpful - an absolute credit to the management. Very unlike previous hotel stays with other 'chains'.
Beautiful rooms - worth going for an upgrade to get the fantastic views of the Castle, huge comfy beds, spotless facilities. Lovely spa cosmetics in the bathroom and fluffy whiote towels.
We tested our room service for continental breakfast (huge) and also full scottish in the heights restaurant - well worth it for the view alone, and the food was superb. Had a meal as a group in the downstairs metro restaurant which was also great - well presented food, attentive staff and lovely setting.
Great hotel at a great price

Room Tip: Bit noisy if you have a room overlooking Grassmarket - particulary when the street sweeper went past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StockportLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Edinburgh with four friends for a special occasion. We had the basic City rooms which were comfortable,clean and at an excellent price including breakfast which was well worth the extra. Service was efficient and friendly. I had booked on line and the hotel gave each room a £10 token to spend in the hotel on anything. The main plus for this hotel is being in the Grassmarket which is a lovely and lively part of the city. Full of great bars,restaurants and shops and near to all the tourist attractions on the High Street. We would all definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Haggis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Our initial impressions of this hotel were quite positive, the spacious check in area and nice bar are welcoming on first arrival. The hotel is also fairly well situated about a 5 minute walk from the royal mile (albeit with a hill/few steps to contend with).
Our positive impressions were short lived when we noticed that the rooms that we had paid a premium for, overlooking the castle, meant that we were subject to the pikey window installation that this hotel has chosen. The front of the hotel overlooks a busy street with lots of pubs and restaurants, a positive you may think. Not so when, at midnight and beyond, all you can hear is something akin to Ibiza on your doorstep. They obviously chose the cheap option when fitting the windows as they seem to amplify the noise as opposed to reducing it.
The supposedly relaxing weekend sounded more like a chav weekend in benidorm than a decent hotel that we had paid to upgrade the room. I hate Travelodge, but I couldn't discern a difference in the room itself. Utterly disappointing, particularly as this was booked as a special occasion for my mother in law.
The hotel also dealt with our complaint inadequately only to compound the ineptitude.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_chelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing