We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to end a holiday in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great place to end a holiday in Scotland”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had our last night in Scotland at this hotel on 6 October 2013 after visiting the Highlands and Islands. The view from the top floor diningroom overlooking the castle was spectacular! The staff were really helpful and friendly despite the fact that they had a large conference going on at the time. A very limited view from our bedroom but quiet enough and we didn't spend much time there. I liked the touch of the Apex rubber duck to take with us even if my photo didn't win the competition!

Room Tip: Our room was very convenient for the restaurant as it was on the 5th floor but if you want a view yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,314
    491
    179
    87
See reviews for
826
1,401
100
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed there couple of time, first one being in 2011 and second just 3 months ago in Aug 2013. My first experience there was great, in terms of room and service although I changed room on the second day as 2nd floor was really annoying as it faces the Grassmarket which tends to be full during weekends until late hours. However, my most recent stay in August 2013 was less appealing as the room was bit small and had no necessities such as slippers, shower cap, soap etc..Luckily I stayed there one night only so it was not a big deal. However, the staff there were really nice and when I informed of this upon check out, they apologised. I got a 20 percent discount voucher which came in handy as I used to to cover cost of room service in another Apex hotel (Waterloo). Breakfast is really good and the view from top floor restaurant is amazing.

Room Tip: The higher floor you can get, the better sleeping experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaa_QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here on the evenings of September the 14th and 15th, as we were competing in a fitness event just outside the city on the 15th.

I had requested at time of booking a castle facing room, however we were given a room at the back, which looked straight at basically a brick wall and was quite dark. This is not so much a problem, as I understand it comes down to availability, however that was where another problem lay. We were told the hotel was full, and that was why we were stuck in that room. However, during our stay, the hotel seemed empty... There was the odd room inhabited but by no means full. The words 'fobbed off' come to mind.

One of the reasons we booked the hotel was because we wanted to use the pool and sauna following our event to relax. When we went to use the 'tropicarium', we were allowed to sign in as normal, we were dealt with by the staff in the normal fashion, and even led down to the pool and sauna. However the pool was devoid of water - completely empty, and the sauna switched off. With the pool and sauna being the hotel's only facilities, that means that there was no point in being in there at all. What was going on? why were they off? Why didn't the staff tell us? Did the staff even know? Do the staff get briefed? All these questions, but no answers, and like the other marvellous mysteries of the world i doubt we'll ever find out why were were gleefully admitted to a closed and abandoned tropicarium.

Then there was the bathroom falling to bits, rubbish in and outside the room when we checked in, the room too hot at night, the hotel (I presume) having its industrial bins emptied in the most violent and noisy fashion for about 20 minutes at about 5am.

Just as we were thinking we'd seen the last of the mishaps in this hotel, it seems like the hotel managed to dig deep like a true warrior and throw something else up. Even the lift took about 3 working days to arrive.

We are usually big fans of the Apex, and have stayed in quite a few, so this is by no means just a spot of brand-bashing. This is by far the worst Apex hotel we have stayed in, and it's a million miles behind the serene class of the Dundee Apex and Waterloo Place Apex.

I wasn't even going to write this publicly, and instead opted to send a quiet nudge to the manager out of the desire to give them the benefit of the doubt, and let them explain themselves with having to do it in the public eye of Trip Adviser, but lo and behold - no response whatsoever from anyone at the hotel.

Note to people, Apex is usually a good group, but give this hotel some thought before you go ahead and book. We were left sorely wishing we had booked the Carlton instead.

Room Tip: Try for front facing rooms. Rooms at the back are dark, dingy, no view and loud with bins crashing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossCairney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is in good location for the castle and a 10 min walk for the shopping district. What we liked about it was its location, slightly off the beaten track, quiet but still central. The rooms are spacious with two very generous beds. The breakfasts were what you would expect with good service, excellent food and a great view of the castle. There is a gym and a pool which makes it popular for children. However, I would recommend it for both family and business stop overs.
My only criticism would be lack of drawer space in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location & excellent reception by all staff throughout the weekend, very comfortable , spacious and clean rooms. Fantastic veiw of the castle which we requested if at all possible on booking and we're upgraded on arrival, we chose to ignore the warnings on previous reviews with reference to the noice from the street which was exceptionally bad until early hours of the morning, the buildings accoustic value must be zero, hence the supply of ear plugs, however this did not spoil a fantastic weekend.Breakfast @ £10 was a bargain and excellent, lots of choice. Will difinately return although not request the street facing rooms.

Room Tip: Book a south facing room, not the grassmarket street elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

we stayed at the Apex International in Edinburgh for half term and I have to say every request we put in was granted with a smile, and it was never any trouble. Any of the staff from the front of house to the room maids, waiters, and absolutely any staff members we came across would greet you with a smile and share a few words with you.
The beds were incredibly comfortable as were the pillows and duvets.,the tea,coffee hot chocolate and milks were given out generously and the cookies were replenished generously too.
Everywhere was really clean,the swimming pool was lovely and there was an abundance of towels available to help yourself to.
The view from the restaurant on the top floor was amazing and the staff were very accommodating with the choice of table and any variations on the breakfast menu.
The bar by the reception was welcoming and had a really nice atmosphere for all family members.
All in all, the hotel surpassed any expectations and it is very central to restaurants and sight seeing and the railway station. I would fully recommend this hotel for a great city break and if you have any special requests do not hesitate to ask they will very happily oblige if they can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view. Just a quick note though, we sadly had to move rooms as the drain o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent value,ideal location for sightseeing,large selection of welcoming pubs with good food.Reception staff very welcoming,professional and knowledgeable of local area.Breakfast was excellent with good choice and dining room had stunning views.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony on higher floor superb views of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6SueA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,102 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,573 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing