We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights (Fri\Sat) and first impression was very impressed. Clean hotel with friendly staff in a great location. Breakfast over looking the castle was great.
The bottle of wine delivered to room as a gift for our anniversary was a nice touch. But the room really let this hotel down. It was nicely decorated recently. So recently the smell of paint gave me a headache both nights. The masking tape was still left on the smoke detector and parts of the wooden flooring were left unfinished. It also had paint all over the curtains.
The bathroom was a bit dingy with a dirty floor and the corners of the shower and bottom of the shower curtain in need of a really good clean. Also it would've been nice if they had thought to put the heating on before we arrived so it wasn't freezing. In my opinion the room was also far too small it's not the cheapest of hotels so definitely expected more. Think I'll try somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Not sure how this hotel earned the TripAdvisor excellence award that convinced me to book it.

Any hotel that greets you with earplugs is surely a warning sign. The hotel itself is friendly and caters to all the major amenities including free wifi and gym/pool, but location is a bit suboptimal and potentially very noisy at weekends from pubs and bars just opposite.

Hotel decoration is a bit dated and clearly hasn't had an update in a few years - not exactly out of fashion, but a lot of marked walls and chipped paint to anyone taking anything more than the quickest of looks. Reasonable value for money, but worth staying a bit more central if you can afford it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pockytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay. The staff are excellent, and a special mention to all reception staff, but especially Karen who advised of good places to eat, and was very friendly with nothing too much trouble. We were on the 5th floor, with amazing views from the room overlooking the Castle. The room was a touch small, and lacked in storage space, and no room for chairs or a table. so you are forced to sit on the bed as there is nowhere else. That said the view is incredible. Another niggle was the wierd positioning of the TV, not at the end of the bed, but on the wall to the side....this does tend to give you a cricked neck! The lack of room affected my partner more than me, in terms of getting ready at night!!
Only on the Friday night did we realise why ear plugs were in the room.....! Incredible noise, shouting (football style) til 4amfrom the Grassmarket pubs below!
The good things though far outweigh the bad! Great location, and probably the best breakfast I have ever had anywhere!
The walls in some corridors could do with a lick of paint in places, but i'm sure this is something the hotel is aware of .
On our last morning we had an early start and needed to get to the airport. As we had paid for a full breakfast we were offered by Reception staff (and accepted) a free service to our room before the restaurent opened. this was delivered bang on 7am, and was really appreciated and enabled us to get something to eat before we left! Delicious again too!!
Thanks for an overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: We have heard that bigger rooms are on floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAYLA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Clean and tidy room with large TV and kettle. Bathroom small but adequate.
Breakfast on the 5th floor looking out on the castle is a delight.

I ate in he bar - service and food were good.

I was concerned that ear plugs were provided in my room but I didn't need them.
Perhaps Friday / Saturday there may be a noise issue!

Room Tip: Ask for room on an upper floor facing away from Grassmarket square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPS_From_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I wanted to review the restaurant of this hotel which I highly recommend. The kitchen is excellent and the service is of the highest quality. On top of that you can sit by the window, overlooking the royal castle of Edinburgh. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank juditalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Apex is in a great location just below Edinburgh castle but be warned that the Grassmarket is vey very noisy at night with drinkers and revellers. So much so that the hotel actually provide earplugs! Avoid having a room at the from if at all possible

I only had breakfast in the top floor restaurant and that was excellent.

The rest of the hotel is quite basic and functional rather than comfortable. For location and value it is very good, but don't come looking fro luxury

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto Grassmarket at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really impressed with this Hotel.

We only had one night here for our Wedding Anniversary, I wish we had stayed longer...

The complimentary goodies in the room were a lovely touch, which included a bottle of champagne for us. We couldn't believe all of the sweeties and chocolates were complimentary too. Really nice, comfortable, clean room with everything you may need.

We had a fantastic view of the Castle, which was lit up at night and looked spectacular.

The Hotel Staff were plentiful and really helpful. Breakfast was quickly served, hot and tasty.

I wish we had time to use the pool and bar, both looked really nice.

One small thing... our room seemed to be very hot and there was no control/no air-con. We mentioned this to the Reception when we checked-out and they acknowledged there is a problem with heat in the Hotel and that there were fans in the rooms. We did see the fan in our wardrobe but didn't use it as we weren't too bad. However, I can imagine that in the summer months, the heat may become intolerable!

Couldn't really fault this Hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Castle View, balcony room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catweazleatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,746 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $92 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing