We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star restaurant with stunning view of castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I wanted to review the restaurant of this hotel which I highly recommend. The kitchen is excellent and the service is of the highest quality. On top of that you can sit by the window, overlooking the royal castle of Edinburgh. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank juditalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 3,690 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Apex is in a great location just below Edinburgh castle but be warned that the Grassmarket is vey very noisy at night with drinkers and revellers. So much so that the hotel actually provide earplugs! Avoid having a room at the from if at all possible

I only had breakfast in the top floor restaurant and that was excellent.

The rest of the hotel is quite basic and functional rather than comfortable. For location and value it is very good, but don't come looking fro luxury

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto Grassmarket at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really impressed with this Hotel.

We only had one night here for our Wedding Anniversary, I wish we had stayed longer...

The complimentary goodies in the room were a lovely touch, which included a bottle of champagne for us. We couldn't believe all of the sweeties and chocolates were complimentary too. Really nice, comfortable, clean room with everything you may need.

We had a fantastic view of the Castle, which was lit up at night and looked spectacular.

The Hotel Staff were plentiful and really helpful. Breakfast was quickly served, hot and tasty.

I wish we had time to use the pool and bar, both looked really nice.

One small thing... our room seemed to be very hot and there was no control/no air-con. We mentioned this to the Reception when we checked-out and they acknowledged there is a problem with heat in the Hotel and that there were fans in the rooms. We did see the fan in our wardrobe but didn't use it as we weren't too bad. However, I can imagine that in the summer months, the heat may become intolerable!

Couldn't really fault this Hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Castle View, balcony room well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catweazleatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Apex is located right in the thick of it all, with great views of Edinburgh castle.

This was my first trip to Edinburgh and couldn't have chosen a better hotel to feel very centralize in the city. Most tourist like places are within walking distance if you are young and don't mind walking up and down stairs, because there is a lot of them throughout the city.

The hotel itself is nice, with a modern feel. The rooms are a good size and most have huge windows to view the city. The restaurant, located on the top floor, gives patrons a great view of the castle, which is located right across the street. As for the food, I only did the buffet, which was just ok, not great, but not bad. Again, one of the great features of the Apex is its location, which is great, as there are plenty of bars and restaurants right across the street and around the corner.

All in all, the Apex is worth a stay for its location and view of the castle.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view towards Edinburgh Castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smplysublime213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Business trip, hotel clean, facilities excellent, staff friendly & extremely helpful. Food fantastic . Spectacular views of the Castle from the restaurant & from room. Lovely room, big comfy bed, fab toiletries and courtesy robes & slippers, really excellent hotel.

Room Tip: First class service, first class hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located right on their Haymarket Area in the shadow of Edinburgh Castle, why would you stay anywhere else.

Perfect service, a large and spacious room, a flat screen TV with dozens of great channels, and everything I needed or asked for.

So happy we had this place to go back too after touring this incredible city. OMG what a place. Clearly more history here than you can see in a day.

We stayed just two nights but a few more might have been best. Edinburgh seems so isolated and far away but it was so worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgrade to a Castle view. Our view was not the best but that did not change the rooms or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed here on business a number of times and the views from the front facing rooms are quite impressive. Breakfast is very good with an amazing view of the castle from the top floor dining room.

Be warned, the rooms on the front can be a bit noisy at night but they do provide ear-plugs just in case!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are much quieter but without the views of the castle. The view comes at a price o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,644 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $97 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing