We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Visit to Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st Visit to Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Central location, decent rooms, quiet, (request a room not on the street).
The Hotel had very friendly and accommodating staff........including desk clerks, housekeeping, bellman and lounge staff, Good Wi-Fi, no problems. Stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albany6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    1,267
    474
    167
    77
See reviews for
794
1,340
90
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked for silver wedding anniversary. Perfect service, cheery, friendly staff. Complimentary champaigne was a lovely touch. Superior room had perfect view of the castle. Middle of the grassmarket so perfect location To access all areas of Edinburgh. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here before the Tattoo and luckily got a room with a view of the castle. Room was nice and had all the amenities we expected. We were a bit disappointed by the rooftop restaurant due to limited menu items, but we instead ate at the downstairs restaurant and ended up with a delicious steak and a burger. The steak was good enough to come for a second time a few weeks later!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A pleasant hotel in the heart of Edinburgh, we primarily chose this hotel for its location and also because there is a large private car park -charge is 12£ a day- so you can forget you car and do all Edinburgh by foot which is very nice. Everything is very close and no transportation is needed for tourism. The hotel is nice, especially the breakfast on the top floor with great views of the castle. The rooms are OK, quite large but not very modern, and our bathroom was not spotless and clearly need a little bit or refreshing but still was acceptable by all means. Bed comfort very good. We were a bit scared because our room was on the first floor facing the main street but the double glazing windows did their jobs and we managed to sleep very well. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful as all the scots are anyway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikoubun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked this hotel as it is very near Haymarket station and I needed to be at meetings early morning. It has a dour exterior but on entering I was pleasantly received and made to feel welcome. The room I was allocated was a little small but it was well appointed with a good bed. the bathroom was modern and clean with a shower/bath unit. Breakfast was promply served and was very ood value at £7.00 for Continental and £10 for Scottish. Altogether well worth the money.

Room Tip: It is two minutes walk to Haymarket station which has links into central Edinburgh (one stop) and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockstarNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We books this several months ago, and booked a meal in the two AA Rosette restaurant, and were told we could have 5.30pm or 8.30pm. Assuming it must be very popular, we accepted the 8.30pm booking. We we one of two tables occupied, and they started clearing away for breakfast at around 9.00pm and we felt very unwelcome and pressurised into finishing and getting out, they even cleared the tables around us, and asked for our unused glasses and empty ones whilst we were still eating. Nice hotel, but we certainly would never eat here again, as we were clearly a complete nuisance wanting to eat and buy wine in their restaurant. The food was good, but I find being embarrassed out of a restaurant at 9.45pm totally unacceptable....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I opted for the upgrade to the top floor with balcony and the Edinburgh Castle view. It was fantastic! You also get a bird's eye view of the Grassmarket which is great for people watching whilst you're enjoying a evening scotch. The room had two fresh pairs of earplugs on the nightstand but we never used them. The noise was never intrusive while I was there. The bathroom was fresh, white tile with a larger walk in shower big enough for two as well as a tub. The room was in good shape and big enough for two to move about comfortably. I'd also recommend opting for the breakfast. The view from the restaurant of the castle is wonderful, the staff is super friendly and polite and there is a lot of food and excellent omelets!

Room Tip: get the castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lark536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing