We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a breakfast view of Edinburgh Castle it's pretty good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“For a breakfast view of Edinburgh Castle it's pretty good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

For location it's excellent.

Everything else is pretty much one step up from a Premier Inn but if you get one of the many offers available it's worth it.

Good staff who helped with a very noisy neighbour at 2am and were very attentive to my 7 year old.

It is the grass market area so not ideal if you don't like it on the livelier side of don't like a walk or tackle some steps towards granny green and the castle.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    1,224
    462
    164
    74
See reviews for
763
1,315
89
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed in two of Apex hotels in London so I was expecting something a bit better than this very average stay.

We got a room facing onto the car park (which is fine as I didn't pay for a castle view). It was the noisiest room I've ever stayed in. There was a rubbish collection every morning (evn on a Sunday) at around 6 or 6.30 am, even though I was on the 4th floor, it woke me up without fail. To be fair, I didn't bring this up at reception so I didn't give them the chance to move me.

The room itself was tiny and the bed wasn't very comfortable.

In my experience, all Apex staff are extremely courteous and helpful. This was no exception. Although I would avoid asking the Porter for a resteraunt recommendation as the one he gave us was terrible!

On check out we found out that the bar staff had got our bill wrong, it was rectified immediately but things like this leave a bit of a sour taste when I leave.

The location of the hotel is superb - very central.

Before coming to Edinburgh again, I'd look at other hotel options - I'm sure there are better out there.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms that overlook the car park at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very well placed hotel for immediate access to the city and its sights. The Grassmarket is a great location for French,Italian or trad Scots cuisine. It feels like a "happening" place. You are as near to the eponymous castle as it's legally possible to get. Room was super, Queen bed, fridge etc. TV HD signal was iffy in the evening and the channel selections were cheapo freeview ones. Sky (other providers available etc) would have been brilliant. The reception staff are very approachable -we were offered an umbrella for the one day it was drizzling. Breakfasts are nicely presented, with all the options you'd expect from a 4*. The Haggis as part of the full Scots breakfast was a bit soggy, but otherwise all good. We dined on our last evening. Food presented in a slightly pretentious haute cuisine fashion, looked like small portions, but actually it was enough. It was tasty and novel for a change. The largely foreign body of staff were smiley and cheerful and eager to please, which helps make a stay more enjoyable. The leisure pool was small but warm. Busy and noisy, and the only female shower was broken. Nice little sauna, didn't use the technogym, so can't comment there. Lastly, we drove up from the southwest, and found a parking bay in the hotel's dedicated ground floor covered parking area. Parking spaces are hotly contested, so be prepared for first-come first-served approach if you come for a weekend, when it can get very busy. The city council have stitched up all the external parking well and truly, so top tip: fly or rail...... you can see all you want on foot or by bus.

Room Tip: room on the castle side (third floor upwards) have a spectacular view, with the caveat that street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichC190753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invernes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here over new years eve with 2 young children. We asked for a room with a view of the castle and we got it! I would not recommend eating breakfast at this hotel as its very poor and not worth the extra money. There are plenty of local cafes next to the hotel that serve quality breakfasts. The staff were helpful with carrying our suitcases in and out of the hotel. This hotel is in a very good location, you can walk to princess street or the old town ,even with children.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borelsaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Even though the location was great and SOME of the staff were nice, I can only give this hotel an average rating as there were too many bad points to give anything higher.

We checked in last Thursday the 24th and we were delighted to be upgraded to a castle view room at no extra charge, the girl at the desk was very nice and very helpful. Our room was also nice and the view was amazing. The hotel is in a great location with easy walking distance to The Royal Mile, Princes St and the Castle and there are some nice restaurants nearby. I would highly recommend The Thai Orchid.

We booked for breakfast on our first morning, for a four star hotel I expected much better. The sausage and bacon were practically raw and the egg wasn't nice either we were very disappointed with this and we didn't return for breakfast again. Another bad point was the cold in our room at night, however the caridoors were roasting which didn't make sense at all.

Now for the biggest disappointment.. We ordered room service on the Saturday night which we paid £20 for, you would expect for this price that it would be at least edible but it was not, the pizza was freezing cold and didn't taste nice at all, we complained and asked to be refunded which the staff said was no problem however when a member of the night staff returned with our refund he was quite rude and did not even apoligise he just said "Where's the pizza" and beckoned with a hand gesture for me to bring it, this I felt was most inappropriate and for this reason alone I will not return. This was not our only encounter with ignorant staff, we also found some of the staff in the caridoors to be quite rude and especially who ever wheels around the laundry which was almost rolled over my toes and god forbid they should say "Hello" or "Good Morning" or even "Excuse me"

Not impressed...Hotel let down by staff!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleM1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel was beautiful and spotless. We were lucky to get rooms with balconies and this really made it for us - we have stayed in a lot of hotels but have only ever had balconies abroad. Great location on grassmarket for dinner and drinks and then travel to the castle for the tattoo. We did not eat in the hotel but we did have drinks and the bar had a good atmosphere and friendly staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012, stayed in a deluxe room with a huge balcony overlooking the grassmarket and the castle - beautiful!
Excellent location - close to center, Arthur's seat and train station - took the train to Glasgow for £8, brilliant day out, only 40 minutes.
Big rooms, king size bed, huge tv, clean bathroom.
Polite staff, on arrival our room wasn't ready but called us as soon as it was!
Can not fault this hotel in any way.
10/10.

Room Tip: Get a room with castle view- so so worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsundoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing