We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #85 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012. What a fantastic location, right by the castle. Beautiful view of the castle from the restaurant. The rooms were spotless with huge double beds. After 8 hours of walking around beautiful Edinburgh, I had the best 3 nights sleep ever at this hotel with plasma tv,s in the rooms. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way. Great value for money and I would definitely return to this hotel. The breakfast was stunning, all you can eat with English cooked, cereal, yogurts , fruit, everything. I love Scotland....Edinburgh was a beautiful city..

Room Tip: Try get a room with a view of the castle, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    1,319
    503
    179
    87
See reviews for
839
1,408
100
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel was in a excelent location with Edinburgh Castle view just out the front door and Grassmarket just across the street. Down side of this Hotel was the numerious stairs to get to the lifts. The lounge was good with both friendly and informative staff but lacks the charactor of many of the pubs just across the street. Rooms were comfortable with everything one would need or expect. At the end of the day though yes i would stay again and is on my short list of hotels to check for rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in Edinburgh a couple of weekends ago. Blessed with great weather while we there, this hotel topped off a great weekend. I had to be in town for meetings on Thursday and Friday, so decided to make a weekend of it with my girlfriend. The rooms are clean, functional, and the beds very comfy indeed. The view from the breakfast area has to be seen to be believed - a stunning vista of the Castle. just a shame they do not let you out onto the balcony to take photos - understandable given the height of the building, but nothing some higher rails might solve? Onto the breakfast - well, the three mornings I ate here, the service was absolutely exceptional, and the food excellent each time. the staff where always on hand to make sure we where never left wanting, and the eggs benedict was sublime. Excellent value for a weekend stay.

if you like your art, make sure you pay a visit to Little Ox on candlemaker row, just a stone's throw away. Interesting art prints, and the guys running it have a great passion for film and gig posters. made my weekend in the city even more worthwhile.

a massive thank you to all the staff at This hotel - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jampar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were seduced by the great photos of the rooms with a view of the castle and it was that and more. Stayed for 5 nights last week. Fronts onto Grassmarket and a large open plaza and lots of pubs on the other side. This is THE 5 star location in Edinburgh. Short walks to Royal Mile and Castle and out of the crowds when you choose.
Pros: Hands down, the best hotel staff we have experienced. Always pleasent, helpful and professional... thanks Vicky! We had some change of plans and Vicky went out of her way to get us back in to the same room after one night away. Great View from the room (4th floor), Very quiet with the balcony door shut. No noise from adjoining rooms. Relatively spacious room with two stuffed chairs and a large desk. Awesome view from the 5th floor restaurant.

Cons: The room (4031) needs to be renovated for the many small dings and nicks on walls, baseboards. The bathroom is nice enough, but the shower floor is full of caulk and very amatuerishly done. Hire some real contractors and clean that mess that up. Very hot whole house HVAC. Usually slept with the balcony door open to get some fresh air but then it was loud from the pubs on Grassmarket. The breakfast restaurant is chaos. Not enough staff to clear tables so it's a waiting game even though the place is only half full. Staff clearly stressed out and literally running from the kitchen to the tables.

Room Tip: Floor to floor and wall to wall glass on the 4th floor balcony rooms. Absolutely amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezpzSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on May the 11th, with two of my girlfriends for a "girly" weekend!

Location of the hotel was excellent, looking on to the castle - amazing view whilst having your breakfast.

Check in was smooth and we were soon on our way to our room, which other than a view facing a brick wall hand everything we needed to make our room comfortable and relaxing. The beds had clean fresh bedding, and the bed themselves were very comfortable. Nice spacious bathroom with lareg fluffy towels and bathrobes.

Large television, hairdryer, ironing board and iron - all in working order. Coffee fascilities with nice additions of Scottish biscuits and hot chocolate.

Where our problems lay was in the the restaurant attached to the hotel. We decided to push the boat and eat in the restaurant after we were given good reviews from more than one member of staff. From memory, I believe it was called the metropolitan. We all decided to opt for steak after a day of being on a our feet. However, getting a member of staff to actually come and take our order was a task in it's self. Staff gathered around the till whilst we were waiting to order food and place a drinks order. Once this did take place, we ordered one bottle of rose, after filling our glasses (full to the brim) another immediately arrived without asking when asked to take it away we were "we will just leave it here, if you do not open it you don't have to pay for it". This wasn't the case we did have to pY for. Three steaks arrived all well done at 25.00 each plus extra for your sides and sauce. Two of the steaks were sent back complaining that these were requests medium rare. Within ten minutes the steaks returned.......the exact sakes steaks which were overcooked the first time. The cutting of the steak was still there and this had tried to be hidden with a bunch of tomatoes. This spoilt the experience for us a little - hence we refused to each in the hotel for the remainder of the visit. We asked for the steaks to be removed, along with the unopened bottle of wine from our bill after sending them back the second time - we didn't get everything off the bill due to a communication barrier and lack of higher management staff available.

Would I stay there again......possibly, the location is good but theres room for improvement in customer service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralou_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you had a disappointing meal with us back in May. I believe you spoke to my Food & Beverage Manager at the time and were happy with the second steaks that were cooked for you and the complimentray bottle of wine we offered. Since May, we have employed a new Restuarant Manager who is very focused on the level of customer service that we offer in our Food & Beverage outlets, I'm sure you will be impressed if you choose to come back and dine with us.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked 3 rooms with Castle view for a birthday weekend celebration. We chose this hotel both for the great location and its car park - the car park is not large but is a rare luxury in central Edinburgh. Once having found a precious space, we were happy not to move the car again until we left for home.

The view from our rooms was fabulous and worth even the amount of noise that floats up at night from the many pubs and bars opposite the hotel. The hotel does provide earplugs, but perhaps a bigger investment of triple glazing might be more effective.

We enjoyed the treats in the room - including jelly beans and Pringles - but they didn't prevent us from also enjoying the excellent breakfasts. We also used the swimming pool and sauna. All in all a comfortable hotel of a high standard which I would both recommend and use again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do specify a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the view from the breakfast restaurant as it overlooked the castle. The hotel was really central with lots of places to eat nearby. We asked for a rollout out bed for my daughter so that my children did not have to share a bed - this was organised quickly and ay no extra cost. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location fabulous. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, Jewelz. I was pleased to read that both you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. The view from our Heights Restaurant is definitely worth checking out. It has one of the best views of Edinburgh Castle that you can get!
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,134 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing