We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good & convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a weekend trip to Edinburgh. Coveniently close to some good restaurants & pubs , looking out towards The Castle. Reception staff was courteous, helpful and provided us with lots of useful info. Room was spacious (2 double beds + lots of pillows) and supplied with all mod cons. One major plus: free Wifi ! Letś hope this will become a trend; getting tired of having being charged ridiculous rates for such a basic service... Breakfast is decent, ranging for standard continental to full Scottish.

On the minus side: rooms could do with a new coat of paint and furniture has known better days. Hallway interior resembles the Catacombs; a bit dark. Hotel has a very modern interior (bar, reception, restaurant, swimming pool) otherwise.

Would definitly recommend this hotel for its convenient location and agreeable athmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms a streetside may suffer from streetnoises/traffic on weekend nights. Ask for a room not overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDee_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    1,227
    463
    165
    74
See reviews for
769
1,316
89
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
forfar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

My fiancee and i got married in the apex and the staff could not have been more helpful, friendly, polite they were just fantastic and made a very special day even more special.We had an additional room for our 10year old son adjoined to ours with a fantastic view of the castle. We will be here every four years for our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a special, shortbreak. Prior to arriving, we had emailed the hotel, explaining that our stay was for a special occasion. Although we had a pretty enthusiastic response from the hotel very quickly, when we checked in, staff didnt even mention it. We were disappointed with this, a detail that mattered to us.
We had booked a superior room, and although clean and modern, it was no better or larger than we would have expected from a standard room. There was no CD/DVD player as stated and the safe didnt work. Added to this, there was a large circular cut out on our bathroom ceiling which appeared as though repairs of some sort had been started but not finished. The hotel rooms are very hot, even with radiator in room off. Pool is good for a quick dip, but swimming not possible due to its small size- also windows onto street are bit odd.
Breakfast was good and staff here and at reception and bar were helpful and efficient.
The location of the hotel is good and the view of the castle makes it worth staying at alone. Generally a good base, but due to the above, we cant help having left feeling a little let down.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHoneymooners62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a Executive double with Castle view. Room was perfect only thing spoiled the room was when we went in there was paint tins and painting equipment on the floor this was swiftly removed however. Eat in the Heights restaurant on top floor, food was amazing and staff so polite and again an amazing view of the castle. Pool and Sauna where perfect after a days shopping...
Certainly stay again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The location of this hotel was ideal for us as central but, fairly quiet and we loved the quirky grassmarket area. Our room was as expected and the only negative was the bed being a bit too soft for me, but i guess that's personal taste. Athough we didn't have a castle view it didn't matter so much as when out and about you see it all the time, and you can take it in at breakfast (a must). Breakfast was scrumptious and a good variety on offer. Great that the hotel has a car park, pool and sauna too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Apex International Hotel in Grassmarket in February 2012. We booked an advance purchase/non-refundable rate that was fairly reasonable and included breakfast. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the common areas were nice. The room was a good size compared to other European hotels, and we had a fantastic view of the castle from our room. There are two restaurants where breakfast is offered, but we only went to the one on the top floor of the hotel, which has a great view of the castle. The food was good, but I wouldn't say it was great. The bathroom is a good size and the shower was good - good water temperature and pressure. There is a pool in the hotel, but it is a little strange because it has full windows on the street, which is a major thoroughfare where anyone walking by can look in. The hotel provided an oscillating fan in the room closet, which we used as a "white noise" machine to block out the street noise. It was quite effective and I appreciated that it was there. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel as a good place to say that is centrally located and has clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very spacious room, large bed, 42 inch telly - wonderful room. Breakfast is at the top of the hotel and the view of the castle has to be one of the best views ever and certainly cheers up the weary business traveller. We stayed here at my colleagues request as he wanted the smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast! There was a huge choice of freshly cooked food and a continental buffet. The Grass market location is very good, central and plenty of nearby restaurants and pubs. Its location is good for business and tourists alike. And you get a rubber duck to take home!

Room Tip: Even the bottom of the range rooms are excellent but you can pay extra to have a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, this contemporary four star hotel has 169 stylish rooms, many with panoramic views of the castle and city skyline. Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42 inch wide screen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, tea and coffee, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include restaurant, bar, meeting and event space for up to 250 delegates, and pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing