We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Nice Rooms, Minimal Spa Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #84 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Nice Rooms, Minimal Spa Experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Last minute dot com deal. Good basic room with upgraded bath, king bed and monster flat screen TV. Back view vice view of the castle in Edinburgh. Internet with the price of room. Breakfast separate but offered for additional 10 GBP. Excellent location 15mins from most attractions. The spa was disappointing. Don't book it for a spa getaway. Pool squeezed into a small room with only two lounge chairs, sauna was more like a warm room - didn't break a sweat in 15 minutes. Change rooms were in a state with general inattention so we changed back at the room. Towels were avail and fitness room was reasonable with 2 treadmills. Parking extra charge (8 GBP). Location the over-riding plus with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    1,290
    479
    169
    81
See reviews for
802
1,374
93
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had booked into this Hotel for 21-23 August but due to a delay in our flight from Seoul into the UK we missed our connecting flight to Edinburgh and did not arrive until the next morning. We did call the Hotel from London Airport and advise them of the delay, so were very surprised when we arrived the next morning to be given a good i.e. with no view except for a car park and the room normally reserved for handicap guests..........no objection but was not what we would have expected nor what we really wanted but given no options at all - would have been happy to wait for a room later in the day if given an option.......at least one with some type of view, given the $s the room cost us.
The staff were sort of helpful but did not appear to go out of their way at all, it was like you should know everything even though your a visitor. We ate breakfast in the restaurant as it was included and no complaints, the food was always well present and fresh, but there was always a cue to get in and for breakfast that is not good.
We did not eat evening meals at the Hotel, decided to explore the venues outside in the local area near the Hotel instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellercanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Apex for three nights and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is well located near the Castle and the Royal Mile. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was a good size, well furnished and clean. Breakfast in the top floor dining room overlooking the castle was good without being anything special. There was free access to two internet terminals but access to wi fi was an added cost. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed overnight whilst at a colleagues wedding on Sat 23rd Sep 2011.
The hotel was perfect in every way, reception staff were very helpful, asked all the right questions and even engaged us on our wedding venue that evening.
The room was very clean and tidy, everything you would expect from a hotel of this callibre in this fantastic location, we had breakfast in the dining room the next morning overlooking the castle, what more could you ask for ?
Food was really nice with good portions, waiting staff were very friendly.
We will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed for one night with two workmates and we all found the hotel to be excellent, rooms were well appointed and location 1st Class. Only complaint would be the extreme heat in the hotel, none of our rooms seemed to have air conditioning that worked and there were no fans in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great location, rooms nice if a bit fussy, breakfast good, service good but being located in a noisy area where you cannot leave the windows open air con is not available and this is a big problem especially in summer months.

Room Tip: Rooms at the bak of the hotel will be quieter. The grassmarket can be a noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fantastic, can't fault it. Very central not far to walk to the trainstation or to catch the Airlink bus service. Dependant on the room you can get a good view of the Castle. There were no problems with the noise from the bars despite it overlooking the bars.There are ample bars across the road. A couple of pizza shops which serve up a decent pizza, The only downside was that it is very warm but the room comes equipped with an electric fan which kept me cool over night. But highly recomended

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Edinburgh Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristangumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 31-35 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Grassmarket Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex Grassmarket Hotel is located in Edinburgh’s vibrant Grassmarket. Nearby, you’ll find the characteristic Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Kirkyard and The Royal Mile, making this hotel the perfect place to stay if you’re looking to explore the city. Your room will be stocked with both essentials and added extras like complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious Elemis toiletries and a 42” LCD TV. Choose a Deluxe or Family room and you’ll also get an Edinburgh Castle view to make your stay extra special. Kick-start your day with a refreshing swim in the hotel swimming pool or use the Technogym fitness studio, free of charge. Later you can try some unique fusion food to share created by the well-known Edinburgh Chef, Tony Singh in the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex International Edinburgh
Hotel Apex International
Apex Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing