We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best there is”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #3 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“The best there is”
Reviewed May 24, 2005

Geraldsplace, Edinburgh, Scotland


After driving around in Scotland for about a week, we didn't think we could be exited again . Scotland is so beautiful and we really enjoyed our drive. But Geraldplace proved us wrong. You will never find a host more welcoming, showing such hospitality and cook such a delicious breakfast.
The rooms were beautiful and the beds very, very comfortable. Add to this nice pictures on the walls , nicely matching everything. This B&B is absolutly the the best there is. The location couldn't be better . Very close to all attractions. WE wish we could have stayed longer , but hope to come back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
122
351
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2005

Within easy walking distance of the main attractions, this is a wonderfully comfortable place; far superior to staying in an hotel. Gerald's very kind attention to detail makes any visit highly enjoyable, with a breakfast you will not forget.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2005

This is by far the nicest B&B we've ever been in; Gerald Della Porta is a wonderful host who maintains very high standards. We especially liked: the artwork - originals - on the walls of the rooms and hallways, the breakfast, which is fabulous even for Europeans who prefer not to eat the traditional British cooked breakfast, the notebook for the use of the guests, and talking to Gerald. The location couldn't be better: near the city center and Waverley Station and the bus station, yet in quiet surroundings, with a lovely park across the street. We love Scotland, Edinburgh, and Geraldsplace!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2005

Gerald’s Place was ideally situated for our short break in Scotland’s capital. Gerald made us feel most welcome, giving us a few friendly suggestions on what the city had to offer.

The room was airy and comfortable with a modern feel. Breakfast was a cosy affair, with a range of delights including organic produce and traditional Scottish porridge.

Overall, Gerald’s place was comfortable, relaxed, unique. Gerald gives a warm welcome and location is superb, both quiet and close to town.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2005

Ideal location, warm and welcoming, very comfortable beds, interesting chat over excellent breakfast with other guest!

Stayed April 2004
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Gerald is a very friendly host who makes you feel right at home. His beds are the best in Scotland. The home is quiet and very well situated for seeing the city.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Gerald's Place - what a genuine warm welcome on our arrival, after a long
journey. It is a unique place to stay, as one feels immediately at home and
receiving that extra attention and service - and the service comes with a real smile. The B&B is in a superb and very quiet location easily accessible to all central Edinburgh's high spots, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - I'll definitely go back again.

Mrs C.P Somerset.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Property: Gerald's Place
Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing