We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most charming host in town”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #1 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was fortunate enough to sample Gerald's hospitality last week and was totally charmed by the most gracious host of this quirky Bed and Breakfast right in the centre of the New Town. Gerald was hospitable, warm, witty and generous with his time and his hospitality skills and I had the most marvellous time. I was fortunate enough to have dinner as well and have to say the guacamole with shrimps, the salmon with sweet potato and the delicious salad, followed by a pudding of home made rhubarb compote with creme fraiche followed by delicious goat's cheese could not have been bettered by a rosette stared chef.

I can't wait to be going back.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as Gerald's place is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinburghlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

MOST CHARMING HOST IN TOWN thank you for your most generous submission : comments from a Senior Contributor are most especially appreciated : and warmly so by me : your reviews of many restaurants in this wonderful City is a great gift to anyone searching for that perfect place for a tete a tete - an Edinburgh lover's 'super eateries guide' : thanks Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

not only do you get a splendid place to stay and a phantastic what ever you wish type of breakfast. if you want you also get phantastic stories from the very welcoming, warm and witty owner, gerald. we stayed 3 days and had an exceptional good time. it felt like a visiting a relative. he is also a living guide book of edinburgh with very good restaurant recos too. he helps you with what ever you need..most of his guests keep coming back. so will we!!! and you if you once stayed at his place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sib d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

"SPLENDID, SPLENDID, SPLENDID" thank you both for your triple S review - glad you enjoyed your stay : greatly looking forward to your next visit [anniversary?] ; and do not be shy to stay longer - try one of my "5 NIGHTS SPECIAL PACKAGES" - details in big demand !! all best Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just enjoyed a most-memorable stay at Gerald's, which we used as a base for a 5-day break in Edinburgh. Just a few minutes' walk from Princes Street, in a peaceful setting, it couldn't be better located for seeing everything that this great city has to offer. Gerald was the consummate host throughout and we felt very much at home. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed. Great breakfasts starting with a great selection of organic mueslis. The sausages and bacon were excellent, too. We can't thank Gerald enough !

Room Tip: Only 2 bedrooms and both are equally appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighHeidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

ABSOLUTELY FABUOUS ! thank you HighHeidjin : you are a Top Contributor of 51 reviews : your comments will be helpful to future guests, and are much appreciated : apart from the sausages [97% pork outdoor bred from Sainsbury, and pricked 40-50 times to aid cooking], you enjoyed some delicious thick cut and locally smoked smoked salmon, and the luxury of 2 extra large eggs - fresh from a local farm : glad you enjoyed your stay of 5 days - you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

As the other reviews stated, Gerald is an excellent host and the B & B is quirky, comfortable and clean. The uncooked element of the breakfast was great but the bacon was cremated and the sausage undercooked, making both inedible. Sorry Gerald!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

GERALD'S BREAKFASTS thank you Mari for your review : you were lovely guests, and you have my apology for your breakfast disappointment : if only you had mentioned it at the time, it would have been a pleasure either to cook again or to offer you some delicious smoked salmon, which you enjoyed : certainly, you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just spent three wonderful days in Edinburgh staying at Gerald's Place. Fabulous location, lovely room, great breakfast and the most generous and welcoming host. We are missing you already Gerald!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Redruby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY ! thank you Rubylou : you are a Senior contributor with 46 reviews - massive ! your comments "fabulous location, lovely room, great breakfast" says it all : I miss you too, and hope you will make it back sometime, all the way from Perth Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 20 year old daughter and I spent 4 days in Edinburgh recently. Gerald's Place was highly recommended to me by Active Travels, then I checked the Trip Advisor reviews, and booked it. Great central location for getting around, Gerald was a delight, welcoming us as though we were family. He paid great attention to our every need, made dining recommendations, booked me a massage, and had our taxi waiting (although in hindsight, we should have just walked to the bus station around the corner) for our early morning departure. Breakfast was made to order each morning, at the time we specified. If we go back, we'll be staying with Gerald.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

COZY ROOM WITH TEA, WHISKY, AND GREAT SERVICE thank you Arline : you and your daughter were a pleasure to have stay in my b&b home : glad to have helped find the right medical people to reduce the discomfort of your nagging shoulder pain : you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Unfortunately we only had the time for one night here but I have no doubts that we will make it back soon! Gerald was incredibly accommodating to our last minute plans and went above and beyond. The B&B is right near the center of town and within 5 minutes of over 100 restaurants.
The place itself is very cosy and Gerald has thought of everything in the rooms, from the organic milk for tea, the Walker biscuits, the laptop, the travel books, and the 24 year-old whisky. Breakfast was also delicious which was made to order. There is a wide selection of fruits, 3 types of home-made muesli, eggs, bacon and the list goes on.
The thought and care Gerald puts into this place makes it truly special. We left our short visit well rested with a box of chocolates and a warm hug.
Be sure to try and stay the minimum 3 days, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

"CENTRAL LOCATION, GREAT BEDS, AND A THOUGHTFUL HOST" thanks Sally - your comments are truly appreciated, mostly especially the fact of the "fantastic central location" - shoppers anonymous are particularly appreciative, as they stagger home from the top shops near by : it will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $119 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing