We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerald's breakfasts”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #1 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

As the other reviews stated, Gerald is an excellent host and the B & B is quirky, comfortable and clean. The uncooked element of the breakfast was great but the bacon was cremated and the sausage undercooked, making both inedible. Sorry Gerald!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

GERALD'S BREAKFASTS thank you Mari for your review : you were lovely guests, and you have my apology for your breakfast disappointment : if only you had mentioned it at the time, it would have been a pleasure either to cook again or to offer you some delicious smoked salmon, which you enjoyed : certainly, you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 822 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just spent three wonderful days in Edinburgh staying at Gerald's Place. Fabulous location, lovely room, great breakfast and the most generous and welcoming host. We are missing you already Gerald!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Redruby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY ! thank you Rubylou : you are a Senior contributor with 46 reviews - massive ! your comments "fabulous location, lovely room, great breakfast" says it all : I miss you too, and hope you will make it back sometime, all the way from Perth Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 20 year old daughter and I spent 4 days in Edinburgh recently. Gerald's Place was highly recommended to me by Active Travels, then I checked the Trip Advisor reviews, and booked it. Great central location for getting around, Gerald was a delight, welcoming us as though we were family. He paid great attention to our every need, made dining recommendations, booked me a massage, and had our taxi waiting (although in hindsight, we should have just walked to the bus station around the corner) for our early morning departure. Breakfast was made to order each morning, at the time we specified. If we go back, we'll be staying with Gerald.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

COZY ROOM WITH TEA, WHISKY, AND GREAT SERVICE thank you Arline : you and your daughter were a pleasure to have stay in my b&b home : glad to have helped find the right medical people to reduce the discomfort of your nagging shoulder pain : you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Unfortunately we only had the time for one night here but I have no doubts that we will make it back soon! Gerald was incredibly accommodating to our last minute plans and went above and beyond. The B&B is right near the center of town and within 5 minutes of over 100 restaurants.
The place itself is very cosy and Gerald has thought of everything in the rooms, from the organic milk for tea, the Walker biscuits, the laptop, the travel books, and the 24 year-old whisky. Breakfast was also delicious which was made to order. There is a wide selection of fruits, 3 types of home-made muesli, eggs, bacon and the list goes on.
The thought and care Gerald puts into this place makes it truly special. We left our short visit well rested with a box of chocolates and a warm hug.
Be sure to try and stay the minimum 3 days, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

"CENTRAL LOCATION, GREAT BEDS, AND A THOUGHTFUL HOST" thanks Sally - your comments are truly appreciated, mostly especially the fact of the "fantastic central location" - shoppers anonymous are particularly appreciative, as they stagger home from the top shops near by : it will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our trip to Edinburgh to meet up with student daughter was made absolutely delightful by Gerald's hospitality. Beautiful surroundings with fascinating art works throughout; exceptional level of comfort in bedroom, bathroom and catering; a rare concern from our host to make sure we avail ourselves of the very best Edinburgh has to offer; and a fantastic central location. We returned home looking forward already to our next visit to Edinburgh - and to Gerald's Place.

Room Tip: Gerald's Place is delightfully small scale, and each of the 2 rooms is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

"BETTER THAN A HOME FROM HOME" Dear Sally thank you for your generous review : it is certainly true that we have "a fantastic central location" : and equally true that my home is your home during your stay : it will be a pleasure to welcome you and your student daughter again, hopefully quite soon thanks Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our stay at Gerald's was the highlight of our trip to Scotland. Every detail made us feel pampered and welcomed. Quite often we would announce "we're home!" as we entered the front door. The quality was top notch but his concern that our stay not only be enjoyable but memorable as well, puts his B & B in a category of its own. Homemade breakfasts, guides for any aspect of Edinburgh and his personal knowledge of the city that provided answers to any questions we could imagine added to all the other amenities. (The WIFI and shower were great as well) Our stay at Gerald's Place is one of our best memories of Scotland and is a place I would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

"FABULOUSLY PAMPERED" Thank you Margaret for your comments " we're home!" and "one of our best memories of Scotland and a place I would love to come back to" : it is surely your home when you are here - where you can relax in wonderful comfort, in a safe, secure and peaceful place, and at the finest location for most travellers, close to ALL transport terminals in the centre of Edinburgh - come back 'home' whenever is soon Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the first welcome hug to the final goodbye hug this is the place to stay. A warm, welcome place, exceptional breakfast, clean wonderful rooms, and anything you could possibly want. Don't go anywhere else in Edinburg. None can compare to Gerald's Place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

"FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!" thanks Tracy - you are always welcome Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $117 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing