We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home...except if you are staying at Gerald's Place!!”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #2 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“There's no place like home...except if you are staying at Gerald's Place!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Edinburgh last week and stayed at Gerald's Place for 4 nights. We couldn't have had a better experience. Gerald's home is lovely, and our rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet with all conveniences. Every available wall space is decorated with his amazing collection of art, chief among them are several very good pastels of his grandchildren. The breakfasts were outstanding, prepared lovingly by Gerald himself. But the best part of Getald's Place is Getald himself. He is very knowledgeable, generous, funny, and kind. A real gentleman. Stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glindakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
"THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE HOME ... EXCEPT IF YOU ARE STAYING AT GERALD'S PLACE" thank you dear friend for your beautiful review : we do do our very very best [and more] to welcome you - home from home : especially so when you have travelled some thousands of miles to arrive in a 'strange and wild country', then finding Edinburgh a hugely cultural compact Capital City : discovering geraldsplace.com is at an incredibly convenient location : soon, very soon now, the TRAMS will whisk you from Edinburgh Airport to St AndrewsSq., to the door [almost] of geraldsplace - just 300 genuine seconds walk - downhill !! ole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
358
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to travel to Scotland again and friend of mine recommended Gerald's Place. It was like staying with a favorite uncle. Gerald was up early every morning and fixed us a wonderful breakfast of cold as well as hot food. All made to order. His rooms are far better than a hotel and have a cozy feel. The beds were amazing with fine quality linens.

Gerald not only has complementary coffee in each room but a flask of fine Scotch Whisky to welcome you to Scotland!. Gerald goes out of his way to help you with reservations, directions and even coordinating taxi service if desired. His B&B is walking distance from the Royal Mile and many stores on Princess Street.

I can guarantee you I will be staying with Gerald the next time I travel to Edinburgh, if he is not already fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
"EXCELLENT HOSPITALITY !" thank you for your fair and briiliant description of geraldsplace.com : we shall continue to do our very best, and it makes that role easier when guests are so positively appreciative : you are always welcome, and if practical, please always book well ahead : warmest wishes Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my wife recently went on a holiday to Edinburgh and stayed for three nights at Gerald's Place. It was an wonderful and pleasant experience. Location wise very convenient, we could walk across to places easily. Mr Gerald played a perfect host and we have found a new friend in him. He was affectionate and helpful to see Edinburgh and parts of Scotland. Looking forward for another visit and also to have a long chat with Gerald on the breakfast table.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinivasan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
STAY AT GERALD'S PLACE thank you Srinivasan for your thoughtful review : thank you too for your helpful comments and recommendations - well put, well received, and indeed actioned : it will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family on another occasion - please book well ahead to avoid disappointment : meanwhile my warmest wishes thanks Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Gerald’s Place last year. When we had the opportunity to visit Edinburgh again this summer we didn’t even look for a different place to stay. Gerald’s place is conveniently located just a couple of blocks from the Royal Mile, within walking distance. Gerald’s warm hospitality makes guests feel like family. We had a very early flight home and Gerald packed us bacon & sausage sandwiches to take with us since we didn’t have time for breakfast before we left. If we return to Edinburgh again we will definitely stay with Gerald!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammi112345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
WONDERFUL AGAIN thank you dear 'Sammi' : it will be good to welcome you again for your third visit : advance bookings for 2014 have already started, so as soon as you know your 'pencilled in dates' for the next vacation, please enquiry without delay : thanks for your kind and thoughtful comments warmest wishes Gerald www.geraldsplace.com [new slide show]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best thing about our stay at Gerald's Place was Gerald! He was warm, friendly, and helpful with tips for places to eat and recommendations for sightseeing. The B&B is conveniently located, so after a short walk we were in the center of town. Gerald fortified us with a fine breakfast every morning and added much appreciated touches to our accommodations - wine, scotch, candy and nibbles in our room as well as an assortment pf sundries to make our stay as comfortable as possible. This was our first and most memorable stop on a two week plus vacation.

Rita and Bob M

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
GERALD'S PLACE

thank you Rita you were lovely guests, and a pleasure to meet Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Gerald's Place is quite simply outstanding. Our Edinburgh experience started long before we arrived. Gerald provided us with cornucopia of materials to whet our appetites and to plan our visit to this spectacular city. The lists and contact information for restaurants and tours, and a lot more besides were very welcome. But even these are nothing compared to the insights gained from talking with Gerald during your stay. He is a raconteur, and among the best. Breakfast is quite simply the most important meal of the day. You meet other guests and enjoy stories with each other and with Gerald. And the full breakfast (or lighter fare) are prepared as and when you like it. Justyna served as our main host for our first few days and she was wonderful. Marie we only met once (our loss). Our bedroom and en-suite bath were exactly as advertised. Our room and Gerald's Place more generally were wonderful places to rest up (we also were able to take advantage of the free internet - though we did try to stay in vacation mode!).

Gerald's Place is located a few blocks from Princes Street (and 8-10 minutes walk from Waverly Station ... and the main Tourist Information Center). This means that you are centrally located and many of the treasures of Edinburgh are easily accessible. Edinburgh has an undulating terrain so be prepared but it is also a wonderful walking city. If you are like us you will do almost everything on foot. Gerald's Places provides easy access to many excellent local restaurants, pubs/bars, and more importantly musuems, galleries, and parks. For us it was about a 12-15-minute walk to/from the Royal mile (by 2-3 different routes); and what an impressive and spectacular sets of walks (at any time of day).

Visit Edinburgh; and stay at Gerald's Place. You won't regret either. Stephen & Valarie, USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
AN OUTSTANDING B&B [CENTRALLY LOCATED] IN EDINBURGH

thank you Stephen - your comprehensive review is much appreciated : the location here is very special for all transport links : the new trams from Edinburgh Airport will bring guests almost to the door! all best Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was my lucky day when a friend recommended Gerald's Place and we could book 9 nights with him.
I totally totally totally agree with all these 5 star reviews and gladly add my 5 stars to it!
Gerald's is a treasure of a place!
And what about the labtop in the room to send "all is great e-mails" to friends and family left at home? And did anyone mention the bus around the corner to spirit you up the hill and pamper your hurt knee; and the many great eateries within short walking distance? Edinburgh is a beautiful city to visit and Gerald's Place and its charming host make it even more memorable. Thank you, Gerald!
Birgit D., Boston, USA

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BIRGIT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
A GEM OF A B&B IN EDINBURGH

thank you Birgit - you stayed a wonderful 9 nights to really get to know Edinburgh and a 50 miles radius from Edinburgh - you were able to appreciated how marvellously central the b&b is to ALL events - you were able to enjoy all the comforts / all the little details / all the 'extra miles' of geraldsplace.com - and next time you visit, you will be warmly welcomed back to your 'home from home' thanks Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Property: Gerald's Place
Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing