We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected!”
Review of Gerald's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerald's Place
Ranked #1 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What is it that is so special about his place.
Firstly, the location could not be more convenient. So central that we walked everywhere.
Secondly, the accommodation was extremely comfortable & cosy. The breakfasts were delicious - especially the home-made bread.
Finally, the best part of all was Gerald himself. Such an amiable and interesting gentleman who lets you share his home and makes you feel so welcome.lllllll

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

EVEN BETTER THAN EXPECTED! you were a joy to welcome and have stay in my b&b home; thank you for the many happy chats and for the helpful suggestions - truly appreciated Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
There are newer reviews for Gerald's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 818 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We love Edinburgh as a place to visit and spend time away from the pressures of work and, as other reviewers have said, a stay at Gerald's place is not merely accomodation and food but is like staying in the Scottish capital with a friend who knows and loves the place and whose main aim is to make sure that his guests have great food to set them up for the day, a really welcoming place to return to and who is always interested in you as individuals. The location is very convenient for the New Town and the centre and Gerald's place is very clean and comfortable. We are very happy to recomment it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SheffieldTravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

A DELIGHTFUL PLACE TO STAY thank you both for your stay and thoughtful / helpful comments; we shared some common ground, and never ran aground in conversation and topics to explore; you are always welcome, and welcome to stay longer Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay with Gerald. The accommodation was very comfortable with our every need considered, even the bathroom cabinet was stocked with toiletries etc. The breakfasts were excellent. Our host was very interesting and helpful in a nonevasive sort of way. Gerald's place was situated in a very central position in comfortable walking distance of restaurants, bars, shops and so many places to visit and explore. We would very definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

A HOME FROM HOME thank you Amelia for your happy comments, and the compliment of your title 'home from home', is very much appreciated; it was a pleasure to welcome you all from The Shetland Islands, and learn lots of your culture. Now that you know where we are, at this incredible convenient location, [it will be even better when the trams drop off guests at St Andrews Square, from Edinburgh airport], you are always welcome to book ahead for that next Anniversary celebration - we shall do our best to make the next visit more SPECIAL for you HNY Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We generally stay in large, big name hotels; however, decided to stay with friends who were staying at Gerald's Place Bed and Breakfast. Let me just tell you that it was simply BRILLIANT!! Gerald was such a treat to meet and his 5 STAR breakfasts were to die for!!!! He was quite the host and our dinner was one of the highlights of our week. The location of this B&B is fabulous. A short walk to anywhere. Very comfortable beds, ample room, and hot showers. Oh, and did I mention the breakfasts?? Gerald is such a wealth of knowledge and entertainment. I feel blessed to have spent our week here. Only 5 Stars seems cheap! Gerald's Place deserves 10!!!!!!

Room Tip: Great location and wonderful host and facility.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

HOGMANAY at GERALD'S in EDINBURGH
thank you Kim - but how do I thank you adequately, for such an unbridled enthusiastic generous review; Hogmanay at geraldsplace.com has always been huge fun, and this year was extra special thanks truly to you & K & M & C; it was a good party for the 6/7 days of your stay; thank you for being the very best of best guests: enjoy 2013 in Happiness and Joy, and come stay another day; you are always welcome HNY Gerald
PS thanks for the DROPBOX video of Hogmanay Night in Edinburgh - it's brilliant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Two of my high-school friends and I took our first trip to Scotland in June of 2011, and we stayed at Gerald's Place the entire time. The Scottish people are very friendly, and we really fell in love with Edinburgh and Scotland. But the best part of it all was staying with Gerald during that time. We returned again in August 2012 because we wanted to attend festival events, and stayed with Gerald again, and as before, we absolutely loved being with him and getting to know him even better. You really do feel as if you have made a friend for life after meeting Gerald.

This is a perfect example of how gracious Gerald is to his guests. This time we had trouble with our flight from Newark, NJ to Edinburgh, so we arrived much later the next day in Edinburgh than we had originally planned. When we finally arrived at Gerald's B&B, he was there with a huge, warm, welcoming smile, coupled with big hugs for us, and he helped us with our luggage and fussed over us for a while to make sure we were OK. The jet lag didn't seem so bad after his welcome to us that morning.

The location for Gerald's Place is ideal because it is so close to the Old Town, only about ten minutes walk from his B&B, and is also situated very close to the Castle, a myriad of restaurants, great shopping venues, and close to the train and bus stations. As before, Gerald helped plan excursions away from Edinburgh, and we had some relaxing, fun-filled evenings with him at the B&B. Gerald is a great conversationalist, and it was hard to get up from the breakfast table sometimes because you just wanted to keep on talking with him.

So as I stated last year in my first review of Gerald's Place, I highly recommend to anyone traveling to Edinburgh to stay at his B&B, because you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HedyR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

BETTER THE SECOND TIME dear Hedy - your review is really really appreciated, most especially as I know, that you have been 'on the rack' with essays for your new professional qualification: you did have a lot of fun as four friends from 'way back'; it was good to see you all enjoy yourselves in this wonderful City, and it was a pleasure for me to help you make the most of your time. August in Edinburgh is unique with its' 13 diiferent cultural Festivals - such huge choice, of talent and scope. I seem to remember there were a couple of 'flea' markets we attended - another highlight!! and souvenirs purchased, and crammed into over-full cases, to huffs and puffs and gales of laughter - ole. When four friends come together and make their vacation / holiday here, you may be sure we'll always do our best, and a bit more besides. Thank you, and as the saying goes "we'll meet again, somewhere, sometime, soon" Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent a wonderful weekend here in November. Everything was perfect.
Gerald is a complete gentleman and a great host. His home is lovely and everything including the carpet is spotless.Edinburgh is amazing,such a beautiful city ,friendly people,lots of nice restaurants and all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaeveD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

A SPECIAL PLACE
thank you dear Maeve for your wonderful review - the 500th 5 STAR review ! that's 250 for each guest room - a world record for any hospitality venue [hotel/inn/guest house/b&b]; your lovely parents have stayed many times [though I believe this is the first family review], you are all always welcome; meanwhile a Happy New Year, and may all your good dreams come true Gerald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay at Gerald's in mid September was disappointing only in that it was too short. We would have enjoyed his hospitality, inviting home and comfortable room for many more nights if it had been possible. Especially appreciated was the location, as it was a comfortable walk (even at night) to main attractions, restaurants and public transportation. Gerald went out of his way to help us with travel arrangements and local sight seeing, and was interested in our daily adventures in order to provide even better service to others. We particularly enjoyed breakfast, as it gave time to meet other guests and to share life stories with Gerald, a most interesting and charming host.

Our daughter and son-in-law recommended Gerald's Place, stating that they "couldn't imagine why you would stay any place else." We agree.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandRHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abercrombyplace, Owner at Gerald's Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

"LIKE "COMING HOME" EVERY EVENING" thanks R & B for your generous and heartfelt review - it is really good of you to take the time: geraldsplace is a home from home, and almost all my guests experience, and comment on, the genuine warmth of welcome: it is a little puzzling that the review gives a 5 star 'thumbs-up' with a 4 star tick, which is puzzling to the owner and reviewers alike, and perhaps allows a little confusion; but with 499 5star reviews, whose counting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerald's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerald's Place

Address: 21B Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerald's Place is in Abercromby Place, one of the finest Georgian streets in Edinburgh's historic New Town, built over 200 years ago. The location is incredibly convenient to the express airport-bus or new trams, train & bus terminals, top shops, banks & historic sites [Castle, Palace, Museum/s, Galleries, ICC, Parliament, Theatres]. Gerald welcomes guests to experience B&B hospitality at its very best and the Edinburgh City Centre at its finest. 'Be the best - no compromise' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gerald`s Place Hotel Edinburgh
Gerald's Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing