We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #169 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Found this one through Late Rooms and at £ 75 for a twin room on a Saturday night including excellent breakfast it was hard to fault. Clean, functional, helpful staff and perfect location for town, airport bus and Murrayfield.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    105
    79
    29
    37
See reviews for
74
111
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Easy to find, close to Edinburgh city center, free on-site parking, although parking only holds around 8 cars and quite tight when full. Good, friendly check-in, good size room with comfortable bed and freeview tv. Nice bar area, ate out so cannot comment on food but looked ok from menu, good, hearty breakfast in the morning, excellent value for money for less than £40. Only downside if I'm being really picky is my room was at the front of the hotel so had noise from main road and from people stood outside smoking and chatting - maybe the hotel should introduce a designated smoking area round the back, nothing worse that seeing a small crowd puffing away outside a nice hotel. I'm quite a heavy sleeper so noise didn't really bother me. Free wi-fi in public area, not in room, again, not a huge problem. All-in-all a good, quality B&B for a good price in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Good price, clean , old rooms but nice people. Correct. Near to the city Center, good public transport . Good good . Quiet and beautiful place. Rooms older but clean and correct. Perfect for the family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copu1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last minute decision to stay over in Edinburgh, booked hotel 2 hours before we arrived and got a very good deal for 2 people. Pleasantly surprised at how big the room was, queen size bed and a single in the room with a shower ensuite. Shower ensuite had essential toiletries provided (soap, shampoos and hand wash and lotion). Bed was comfortable and room was clean, warm and cosy.Tea and coffee facilities were adequate for an overnight stay. Decor may have seemed a bit dated but was in keeping with the age of the house. Cooked breakfast included in the price and when we went into the dining room "George" said to help our self to the buffet as well. Staff friendly and did all they could to help. Taxi into city centre was around £5. Next time we are staying over we will be booking here again. Bonus - Free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room as lower rooms are next to the reception, bar, lounge area. Our upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlr16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Honestly coming during Hogmanay made the prices go up, but it was a very pleasant place to stay. Rooms are comfortable for 2, stretched for 3 people though. Delicious breakfast, just make sure to be there before 9:30. Great service with lots of helpful people but much too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: If you have two people and want a cosy B&B style hotel, pick it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean, nice staff, free breakfast, good location, warm atmosphere. Great place for the cheaper price. I've read previous reviews and I think people expected to be staying at a 5 star hotel not considering the cheap rate. I would absolutely stay again....and I can be picky about hotels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greengirl0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenj Gradec, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

While visiting Scotland on a round trip we also stopped in this cute hotel in Edinburg suburb. It did't look much outside but when me and my friend got a room - dear lord. It was a little heaven for us. We got the only room with a small balcony and beacuse we are smokers we were extremlly happy. Bed was a big and soft one, room was hugh with a bathroom the size of small room in other hotels. People were nice and eventhoe that the restaurant was closed they made us dinner anyway. Hotel is located not far from Edinburg centre and airport and the price is reasonable for Scotland. I recommend this hotel, but ask for upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#132 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Edinburgh Lodge
#111 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#223 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: 1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is a 'B' listed detached stone Victorian house of character and architectural interest. Built in the 1850's, it has been carefully refurbished to retain many of its original features, and lies in its own attractive grounds overlooking the main A8 tourist route into Edinburgh, within 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and within 10 minutes drive of Edinburgh Airport. Featuring free wi-wifi in rooms. Limited private parking on a first come first serve basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing