We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an embarressment!”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #198 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an embarressment!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Like something out of 'fawlty towers'; old fashioned, tired, dusty, run down and dodgy electrics. We booked the family room for 4 family members. At 200 pounds a night this is not a room I would like to have small kids stay at with the open junction electricity box. No hot water first thing, although when I complained it was sorted, just meant I had to wait till after breakfast to shower. Ran out of fresh coffee at breakfast and as it was approaching 9 am, they were not prepared to place a new pot on, instead I was offered an instant sachet and hot water. This had a 3 star Scottish tourist rating advertised on the wall, when was this awarded? Has anyone looked lately? Vastly overpriced. There was Germans, English and Spanish customers in the hotel, I cringe at what their thoughts must have been especially if this was there first time in Scotland. Only advantage was the free parking outside the hotel, so we could jump on the bus outside to reach the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    106
    83
    30
    41
See reviews for
82
114
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We got a very last minute booking here as there was a problem with the orginal hotel we booked. As such we had to change rooms ( no big deal) the first room we were put in was a very large family room. It could happily sleep six and the wifi in this area of the hotel was fantastic. We were delighted with this room to say the least given the short notice.
The next morning we had to shift rooms, normally this wouldnt be a big deal but we had a wedding to get to that day and needed a place to change. We needed to be out of the room by 11 but thankfully the incredibly helpful girl on reception had another room ready for us by 12. For this I was extremely grateful and cannot stress enough how helpful she was. The second room was small but clean and comfortable. However it was very close to both the main reception and the cleaning closet- sleeping late was not an option as this seems to be the noisest part of the hotel. Also all wifi seems to disappear here. There are signs through the hotel that Wifi is available in public areas but for some reason on the main part of the hotel we could never get a strong singal and no signal at all in the breakfast room! Speaking of breakfast it ends at 9am which is a bit early- also a word of note to any veggies out there. Opt for the cooked breakfast then ask for no meat. The continental breakfast was dire.
Overall this hotel was fine as a B&B ( hotel should be taken out of the name) I wouldnt rush back nor would I turn it down. The major saving grace was how helpful (some) of the staff were.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the Anex or at least away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

On arrival we had to park 1 mile away from Hotel as car park full - even though the description stated there was ample parking! The room was cold on arrival, the radiator wasnt even turned on! The noise of doors banging continued constantly & noise from public bar loud & disruptive until past 12.30am which prevented a good night sleep. Lacking coffee, milk, biscuits etc & kettle electric pass safety check dated over 5 years ago! The ensuite room was no more than a built-in cupboard in the room lacking space & no towel rails. The room decor unappealing as outdated & dull. Breakfast was of poor quality & quantity, we noticed when they topped up bread & orange juice it was the value range from tesco! very little choice of food on the self service (only few cereals, bread for toast & tinned grapefruit) & small portion of cooked breakfast (very cheap quality) which was just warm, we went for a brunch on checking out as still hungry. We complained on checkout but the receptionist was not interested so I wrote a letter to the general manager to which I never received any response. Should definately NOT be rated 3 star! We paid over £160 for a room, one night, two people for B&B, not what I expect for this money!! Glad it was only for the one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was attending a conference in Edinburgh and was booked into the Cumberland Hotel. I was allocated Room 2 (which as other reviewers explain - is literally right next to reception). My concerns were eased by the fact that the entry to the actual room was through a small vestibule with an inner door; however you can still hear every check-in and a constantly ringing phone. This means the room window is directly beside the staff path at the back of the hotel. With only a 1/2 drop net curtain screening you from their to-ing and fro-ing.

The heating in the room was only just on and didn't really serve any purpose.

The toilet/shower-room was tiny and a larger framed individual would simply not fit. With a very noisy extractor fan and some real black damp/mildew on the ceiling above the shower.

However, my biggest gripe would have been the headboard and bedding on the bed. The red [what was once] velour headboard now had that worn and shiny effect along the top telling you it was long overdue being replaced. The bedding was a mix and match of various set of bedding but I guess did the job.

Breakfast had to be ordered the night before and the actual event itself was average. I would agree with other reviewers that it was small portions and nothing compared to other hotels I have stayed in.

The one good thing about staying in Room 2 meant you got a pretty good wireless signal directly from the reception.

In conclusion, I would say that everything about this hotel was less than average and unfortunately not a great endorsement for some of the other excellent hotels, guesthouses and B&B's that can be found in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If booking in advance make sure to ask to be put in a room other than Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in May for a city break. We particularly chose this hotel for location for both the zoo and city and the fact that it had free, off road parking and breakfast was included in the price. We enjoyed our stay very much, we could not find fault with our room. Some hotel room heating is far too hot for us, but this one was just right and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and towels changed every day, our only disappointment and it was a big disappointment, was the shower although always plenty of hot no power in it at all. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, although the staff always wanted to know the evening before if you required a cooked breakfast the next day, and we felt we did not always want to make that decision until we awoke. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to friends but point out the power showers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandA2002_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of the marathon so obviously paid top prices, £218 B&B for 2 adults/2 nights. On entering the hotel we were greeted by the smell of old chip fat, not a promising start! Our room was right next to the reception desk - literally!! It was tiny, barely room to move round the bed. The headboard looked like it had been rescued from a skip, old fashoined buttoned velour and very, very worn. The bedding was very dated and worn, with an obvious burst seam on my pillow case. The main light was above the window and the 1 and only bedside light and clock weren't plugged in. We went behind the headboard to plug them in and found thick dust on the raised skirting. The "en-suite" was an after thought - the shower cubicle (tiny) was partially glazed with a shower curtain on the corners which didn't fit into the tray so when you had a shower the water ran onto the floor. The window opened onto the back garden, but also right next to the door where the staff came in and out to collect items for the bar/kitchen, which they did many times - hardly private. The breakfast was poor and miserly portions. When I asked for to swap my sausage and hash brown (meat eaters version) for mushrooms (which are only available on vegetarian option) 4 tiny mushrooms appeared on my plate. Definately not a fair swap. We didn't complain as I knew the hotel was full (info on website) and to try to find somewhere else that weekend would have been very difficult and time consuming.
In my opinion I have stayed in nicer B&B's in Blackpool for £50 a night!! The one plus was the staff who were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Staff were great and good location try out the hay market pub just down the road

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#75 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,062 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#96 of 149 in Edinburgh
663 reviews
West End
The Edinburgh Residence
The Edinburgh Residence
#73 of 149 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
646 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#125 of 392 in Edinburgh
87 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: 1 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is a 'B' listed detached stone Victorian house of character and architectural interest. Built in the 1850's, it has been carefully refurbished to retain many of its original features, and lies in its own attractive grounds overlooking the main A8 tourist route into Edinburgh, within 10 minutes walk from Princes Street and within 10 minutes drive of Edinburgh Airport. Featuring free wi-wifi in rooms. Limited private parking on a first come first serve basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing